February Overview

Another month in which I gave up on two books. I don’t do this lightly, but if a book bores me, and I read another 30 pages, and it still bores me, I give up! I read 150 pages in both books, and they just didn’t grab me. What’s a reader to do?

In happier news, I read some good books this month. And I organised the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop, which was happily hopped by all.

Books that stood out:

I really enjoyed Lost and Found by Tom Winter, a story that feels a bit like The Pilgrimage of Harold Fry as well as A Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley Cash, a small-community, southern-USA read. I was also impressed by the Dutch book Hotel Linda about an old man who start to confuse past and present.

.

This is what I read

Click on the blue links to go to the review

Lost & Found by Tom WinterA Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley CashThe Truth About Love and Lightning by Susan McBrideThe House Girl by Tara ConklinNorse Greenland by Jared DiamondThe Untold Story by Monica Ali
Still by Roelof Bakker (Ed.)Stay Close to Me by Helen WarnerA Perfect Proposal by Katie FfordeThe Man in the Empty Suit by Sean Ferrell

***

Lost & Found by Tom Winter.  5 stars.

A Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley Cash. 5 stars

The Truth About Love & Lightning by Susan McBride. 4.5 stars

The House Girl by Tara Conklin. 4.5 stars

Norse Greenland by Jared Diamond. 4.5 stars

Untold Story by Monica Ali. 4 stars

Still by Roelof Bakker. 4 stars

Stay Close to Me by Helen Warner. 4 stars

A Perfect Proposal by Katie Fforde. 4 stars

Man in the Empty Suit by Sean Ferrell (DNF)

 

Dutch blog:

Hotel Linda [Dutch] by Arjan VisserIk was Amerika [I Was America] by Gustaaf PeekKruisverhoor [Cross-Examination] by Peter DelpeutGone: Plague by Michael GrantDivorce for Beginners by Sophie King

Hotel Linda by Arjan Visser. 4.5 stars

Ik was Amerika by Gustaaf Peek. 4 stars

Kruisverhoor by Peter Delpeut. 4 stars

Gone: Plague by Michael Grant. 4 stars

De scheidingsclub [The Divorce Club] by Sophie King (DNF)

.

Reviews of books I read before January

Vanity Fare by Megan CaldwellThe Mad Scientist's Daughter by Cassandra Rose Clarke

***

Vanity Fare by Megan Caldwell. Chick-lit, chick-lit, 4 stars

The Mad Scientist’s Daughter by Cassandra Rose Clarke. Science fiction, did not finish

Dutch Blog:

Peaches for Monsieur le Curé (Chocolat 3) by Joanne Harris

De zoetheid van perziken / Peaches for Monsieur le Curé by Joanne Harris. Contemporary fiction, 4 stars

.

What was YOUR favorite book in February?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

6 Responses to February Overview

  1. You have had some great reads. My recap for February will probably not go up until tomorrow.

  2. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I abandoned 2 this month as well Judith, with both I pushed through to the half way point before giving up.

  3. Charlie says:

    I liked the cover of Hotel Linda when you posted it the first time, and the premise sounds interesting enough so I’ll have to look for it on GR. Giving up after you’ve already given a book another 30 pages is more than fair! I first thought my favourite in February was a Sherry Thomas, but now I’m starting to see it as a toss up with The Chalice.

  4. Marie says:

    I’m on the verge of abandoning The Song Of Achilles at the moment but so many other have adored it that I feel I should press on…it’s a difficult decision to make, it’s been a while since I’ve abandoned a book!

  5. mpartyka says:

    I’m sorry I haven’t been able to participate in the blog hop. It’s such a great event. Since getting sick last year I have had to not commit to anything. I’m glad it was a successful event!

    As always, great job with reading. Warmer weather is coming which moves me outside (audiobook season).

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

