Quick Book Review: A Perfect Proposal by Katie Fforde

A Perfect Proposal by Katie FfordeAnother fun book by one of my favorite chick-lit writers.

Sophie Apperly is the Cinderella of her family and they’re happy to send her off to care for their grumpy great uncle Eric for a while, hoping they’ll all share in his inheritance. She actually gets on really well with the old man and when she tells him she’s off to New York for a temporary job, he asks her to look up another family member who could help them all to a lot of money.

In New York, she meets Matilda, an old and very rich lady, that she happens to run into at an art gallery. She has a dashing grandson, Luke, who is very suspicious of Sophie, assuming she is friendly with his grandmother for her money.

Luke promises to search her family member in the USA while Sophie is on a quest for Matilda back in England. Turns out Matilda has some plans that neither Sophie nor Luke expected…

This is a fun and predictable story. I had some idea which way this story would go but not how it would get there. And it was a great, quick read that took the reader from England to New York, to Connecticut and back to England, to the lovely Cornwall countryside.

A fun, light read. I flew through the 400 pages!


Rating: 4 stars (out of 5)

Number of pages:400

First published: 2010

I got this: from the publishers, St Martin’s Press, via Netgalley (ebook)

Genre: chick-lit, contemporary fiction

Extra: My review of Recipe for Love by Katie Fforde, for Dutch readers.


About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

8 Responses to Quick Book Review: A Perfect Proposal by Katie Fforde

  1. Mystica says:

    This was a really fun read. I enjoyed it too.

  2. lomaurice says:

    We all need some light stuff from time to time. But we need good light stuff. Thanks for this one:)

  3. I haven’t read Katie Fforde, but I saw she is coming to Australia soon! Hopefully I can get to see her – I always enjoy hearing authors speak.

  4. A light good read is always fun. This definitely seems like one.

  5. Leslie says:

    I don’t read a lot of chick lit but this one does sound like fun.

  6. Pingback: A French Affair (Katie Fforde) | lifeloveandreading

  7. Pingback: Love Letters: A Book Review | The Rom Com Diaries

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

