Weekly Reading Roundup

*****

The week

This week I had a fun job one evening: I was a member of the jury of a local read-aloud competition. Nine children aged 10-12 from different schools in the area read a  piece from their favorite book, with their friends and family in the audience. Together with a youth worker and a former news reader, I had to judge which two were the best – they will go to the next round (regional competition).

I finished editing the book that I was working on (second edit). It was a fun job and luckily the author appreciated my comments and is considering how to move forward. So if you have written a book that you’d like someone independent to look over, email me!

This week is my book group (real-life!). I read the book several weeks ago so I could lent it to another group member. What was the book about, again?😉

In other news, I got a tablet this weekend, a Samsung Galaxy Note. It is LOVELY!!! It’s just not so good for typing (and I like to type with a laptop/tablet on my lap while watching tv, so no external keyboard for me, please) but for all other purposes, it’s brilliant.

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 3

The House Girl by Tara ConklinGone: Plague by Michael GrantDe toeschouwer [The Observer]

Click on the blue links to see my review

The House Girl by Tara Conklin. A woman researches the history of slaves and finds a house maid that was also a painter. 4.5 stars

Gone: Plague by Michael Grant [review in Dutch]. Fourth book in the Gone series. Continuing much like the third book. 4 stars

De toeschouwer [The Observer] by Charlotte Link. Thriller about a man who observes people in his street. When one of them is the victim of a crime, he is immediately suspect. 5 stars

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

The First Book of Calamity Leek by Paula LichtarowiczThe Double by José SaramagoDe vergelding [The Retaliation] by Jan BrokkenDark tide by Elizabeth HaynesGone: Fear by Michael Grant

Other Reviews

A Perfect Proposal by Katie Fforde

A Perfect Proposal by Katie Fforde. A fun chick-lit about a young British woman who meets a old, rich American lady. 4 stars

And finally

Curious to see how much I read in February? Check it HERE.

Or would you like to know what new books I received recently. See it HERE.

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

16 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Looking forward to hearing what you think of The First Book of Calamity Leek – happy reading Judith.

  2. Charlie says:

    Those tablets look very nice, though yes to it being difficult to type (I have that problem on others). Hope you remember what the book club book was about! It’s so easy to forget soon after when you’re reading avidly. Looking forward to your review of Calamity Leek, love the cover! I’ve just finished a book, thinking of picking up an ARC next.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Charlie, I often don’t remember books that I read longer than a week ago. This one must be at least 3 weeks ago. But… I have a review on my blog that I can read before the meeting. I’m sure it will come back to me.

  3. A read-aloud competition sounds like fun. What a great little opportunity for students and their families to share books they enjoy. Have a great reading week!

  4. Aww the Read aloud sounds like it was awesome fun, I would love to do something like that! And would love a local book group too. Hmm, maybe I can work towards that as a light bulb goes off..
    The Calamity book intrigues me, I hope you enjoy your books!

    Here is my weekly bookish post
    .

    • Leeswammes says:

      Marie, I find it very hard to keep the local book group going (there’s only 5 of us now, at some point we had 12) but while it lasts, it’s good fun.

  5. Calamity Leek is near the top of my TBR pile too. I look forward to comparing notes.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I really, really wonder what you’ll think of it, Jackie. I have good hopes…. I enjoyed it a lot (almost finished). It’s definitely weird.

  6. Leslie says:

    I love my tablet but I have a horrible time typing on it. it has speech to text so that helps a little and sometimes I use a stylus… or just grab my laptop with the keyboard and use that instead!

  7. Lucybird says:

    I started The Double once but just could not get into it. I hope you fare better

    • Leeswammes says:

      Lucy, I’m enjoying The Double but it’s a bit of a slow read because the main character get distracted by his thoughts a lot. So really not much is happening in the book. But I find it quite funny.

  8. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    A tablet is on my wish list🙂 My laptop is on it’s last legs and I think I will replace it with a tablet when I finally have to.

    Wishing you a great reading week

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shelleyrae, for me the tablet can’t replace the laptop, because of the typing issues. But if you buy a keyboard to go with it, it’s probably OK. Still, the tablet (at least, mine) acts as a Android phone so you get all websites in mobile form – you can change the setting per website. Still, it’s not 100% the same – I can’t do everything on WordPress that I can on my laptop or a PC for instance (some copy&paste issues, and some of the navigation doesn’t work either).

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

