Bloggiesta: Starting Line #bloggiesta

BloggiestaBloggiesta is organised by Suey from It’s All About Books and 1st Daughter of There’s A Book. Bloggiesta is an online event for (book) bloggers in which we are encouraged to spend the next three days working on our blog in any way we see necessary. We Plan, Edit, Develop, Review and Organise – no wonder our mascot is called PEDRO! Olé!

Hurray! It’s Bloggiesta time! I’m all ready for it. For 3 days we’re going to give our blogs a technical and artistic check-up, take it apart and put it back together again.  This is a popular event amongst book bloggers so you may come across a few other bloggiesta-blogs this weekend.

Bloggiesta Start

I’ve got two blogs and will do some work on each: Leeswammes (LW) – which is my English-language Book blog and De Boekblogger (BB) – which is my Dutch-language book blog. Actually, I use Bloggiesta to work on anything related to books, reading, and reviewing, so some of the things I’ll be doing this weekend are not directly related to the blogs.

Here’s what’s in the planning…. 

Small, quick items:

  • DONE – Back-up blog (LW, BB). In WordPress, go to Dashboard, Tools, Export, choose All (first option). Backup failed for me – it seems my total number of data is too big now. I chose All Posts, and then only since January 3013 (I had backed up the blog regularly anyway).
  • DONE – Add links in reviews (since February 4th), to reviews by same author (LW, BB)
  • DONE – Email author of DNF book
  • DONE – Reply to review requests (email)
  • DONE – Ask for review books
  • DONE – Shelfari – Update reviews (already written and on blog).
  • DONE – Adapt menu above blog (LW)
  • DONE – Send links of blog posts (reviews) to publishers
  • DONE – Update reviews list Dutch challenge (BB)

Items taking more time:

  • DONE – Do at least 2 mini-challenges. Not actually completed but I had the Google Reader item on my list anyway.
  • DONE – Update Reviews page (since February 4th) (LW, BB)
  • DONE – Shelfari – update “now reading” books – write small reviews where needed and move to “read”.
  • DONE – Sort out alternative for Google reader (see emails, blog posts, and mini-challenge) -> I finally got it!!! First, Bloglovin’ didn’t seem handy as I didn’t see how you could subscribe to comment feeds (Atom) – you probably can but I only figured out how when I was playing with Feedly (in Chrome). In Chrome, first you need an RSS feed extension that will appear on the right in the address bar (duh, I should have figured that out ages ago). With it, you can subscribe to blogs and comments (on individual posts). Download Feedly. When you have that RSS button in the address bar (e.g., when your visiting a blog that you can subscribe to), right-click on the button, choose Options, Add, enter Feedly as description and as URL enter this: http://www.feedly.com/home#subscription/feed/%s%5Baction.subscribe Save and then you can subscribe to a site with Feedly in Chrome. Phew!

Write posts:

  • DONE – New Arrivals (LW)
  • DONE – Ditjes & Datjes (BB)
  • DONE – New Books (BB)
  • DONE – Review Schreiber
  • DONE –Review Grant
  • DONE – Review Ariely
  • DONE – Finish Noordervliet
  • Review Noordervliet
  • First chapters post
  • Blogoversary post
  • March overview (BB)
  • DONE – March overview (LW)

Part of the fun of Bloggiesta is connecting with other bloggers so I expect to spend some amount of time tweeting (#bloggiesta) and reading other people’s posts and commenting.

Good luck to everybody who is taking part. If you’re on Twitter, use the hashtag #bloggiesta to keep in touch with other participants. I am @leeswammes.

Could your blog use some extra work?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

40 Responses to Bloggiesta: Starting Line #bloggiesta

  1. Uniflame says:

    That is a long list! I am going to write my start up post now🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Uniflame, this list is much longer than what I expected to write. I’m sure I won’t do all of it, but at least I know what to aim for. Good luck with your list!

  2. Isi says:

    Oh God, Judith, can you really make all those things???

    • Leeswammes says:

      No!🙂 Isi, it’s a list that I will work from, but I don’t think I can do that much. Only if I work full-time on it.

      • Isi says:

        Ohhh, OK, I thought your days have more than 24 hours or something. Well, I really thought it when I see the amount of books you read per week😛
        But I don’t hold grudge against you, we can still be friends😉

      • Leeswammes says:

        Well, its true that my days are rather longer than 24 hours!

  3. Laurie C says:

    Great list and very ambitious. I can’t even imagine trying to maintain two blogs and do as much reviewing as you! (And they’re always carefully thought-out and never seem rushed.) Good luck with your list!

  4. Charlie says:

    Emailing the author of the DNF, eek! Has to be done though:/ If you can get the backup to work for the whole blog do, because if you ever need to recreate everything it’ll make it a lot easier. Good luck with your list!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Charlie, I think the file was too big, it didn’t want to back up everything in one go. I had to specify a more recent starting date and then it was happy to back it up.

  5. therelentlessreader says:

    My blog could always use a little tweaking😉 Good luck with your list!!

  6. Pingback: Bloggiesta “To-Do” List

  7. Leslie says:

    I’m not officially participating this time but I’ll probably check out some of the mini-challenges and other tips and ideas. And… bloggiesta is always my reminder to back up my blog, so at least it gets done twice a year!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, backing up the blog is always top on my bloggiesta list. Hope you feel inspired to do a little bit of work on the blog – or write a review or two.

  8. Uniflame says:

    It does go well indeed! Good for you🙂 You might be able to finish that list over the weekend🙂

  9. bibliosue says:

    Um, I know The Netherlands is ahead of us time-wise, but you are already in the year 3013? 😉
    Maybe I’ll spend some time thinking about my blog this weekend. I have been so busy with other things I have more or less abandoned it.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ha ha, I better change that, Suzanne. Although I love futuristic novels, I prefer living in my own time. Hope to see you getting back to your blog more!

  10. Wow! Impressive list…someday I think I should back up one blog for every Bloggiesta (since I have eleven).

    Enjoy the party! Here’s MY BLOGGIESTA POST

    • Leeswammes says:

      Laurel-Rain, backing up the blog is really very easy on WordPress – but even if you’re not it shouldn’t really take that long. Do them all! Now!

  11. What an amazing list, will definitely keep you busy this weekend. All the best and hope you get all your goals done😀

    My Bloggiesta Goals

    Have a great Bloggigesta weekend!

  12. Wow you are making nice progress🙂

  13. Thank you so much for explaining the backup!!! A few people said they wanted to backup their blogs, and I do, too, but you’re the first to explain how! I am going to do that today, too!!!

    Here is my Bloggiesta To Do List!

  14. joyweesemoll says:

    It looks like you’re having a good Bloggiesta, so far!

  15. k2reader says:

    Wow…looks like you’ve gotten quite a bit done already!!! Hope you continue to be productive!

    Here’s my Bloggiesta to-do list.

  16. You have such a great list…and you’ve accomplished a lot! Thanks for visiting my blog again..

  17. Hi Judith, thanks for inspiring me to join in with the bloggiesta! I’ve made a small list, which hopefully I can manage – but even if I don’t do it all at least a couple of housekeeping tasks have been ticked off.

    Good Luck completing your list!

  18. Wow, I feel so far behind! You’ve already accomplished so much! I hope you check out my Bloggiesta To Do List or join my mini-challenge about getting involved!

  19. I didnt even hear about Bloggiesta coming up… I must get around more often🙂 Have fun!

  20. wow, i’m impressed all you’ve accomplished on 2 blogs! I can hardly keep up with one. Happy blogging tomorrow! Hope its another productive day for you Judith.

  21. Briana says:

    You can use WordPress to back up your blog? I had no idea! Thanks for sharing because I definitely want to do that!

  22. Thanks for the quick instructions on backing up a wordpress blog – I just went ahead and did that🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

