Weekly Reading Roudup

*****

The week

This week was Book Week in the Netherlands. That meant a lot of bookish events all over the country. I went to a talk by a Dutch author whose book I read recently. It was in my local book store, so that was very handy. I also bought some books. In Book Week, you just have to, don’t you?

Some curious facts about Book Week: Every year a (different) well-known author writes a short book (around 100 pages) especially for Book Week. Customers buying a book that week get this Book Week Present (book) for free. And on the last Sunday of Book Week, when you bring along your Book Week Present Book on the train, you can travel for free the whole day. I didn’t do this, but it’s very popular (obviously).

This past weekend was Bloggiesta weekend! I spent a lot of time working on my blog and other book related issues. Great fun and I got much more done than I expected.

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 5 and a DNF

There Was an Old Woman by Hallie EphronZoet als zure kersen [Sweet as Sour Cherries] by Claudia SchreiberPredictably Irrational by Dan ArielyLove Water Memory by Jennifer ShortridgeDe leeuw en zijn hemd by Nelleke NoordervlietFlamenco Baby by Cherry Radford

Click on the blue links to see my review

There was an Old Woman by Hallie Ephron. Thriller about an old woman who is let to believe she has to go into a care home. 4,5 stars

Zoet als zure kersen [Sweet as Morello Cherries] by Claudia Schreiber [Dutch]. An over-protected girl and a girl left to her own devices meet by accident. Their meeting has great consequences. 4.5 stars

Predictably Irrational by Dan Ariely. Non-fiction psychology about how people tend to be consistently irrational. With examples from his own research and real-life examples. 4 stars

Love Water Memory by Jennie Shortridge. A woman loses her memory and her fiancé picks her up from the hospital. Not a thriller but a good story on how they try to get their relationship started again. 4.5 stars

De leeuw en zijn hemd [The Lion and its undershirt] by Nelleke Noordervliet [Dutch]. Non-fiction historical essay about Dutch history and being Dutch. 4 stars

Flamenco Baby by Cherry Radford. An English woman takes flamenco lessons in Spain and falls in love. DNF

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

Harlequin's Costume by Leonid YuzefovichLow Point by Maria RijkPieces of Light by James Fernyhough

.

Other Reviews

De wake by Ronald GiphartThe End of the Point by Elizabeth Graver

De wake [The Wake] by Ronald Giphart [Dutch]. Three long short stories with three impossible narrators: a dead man, a boy in a coma and the heart of a young woman. 4.5 stars

The End of the Point by Elizabeth Graver. Historical fiction. Started really good, but after changing view points (and time setting) twice I lost interest. Did not finish.

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

18 Responses to Weekly Reading Roudup

  1. Wow, 5 books in a week – I’m so envious (I was on holidays and only read two!) Congratulations of your Bloggiesta achievements too🙂

  2. There Was an Old Woman was a fun read. This is a great list.

  3. Charlie says:

    The free train tickets and the free book itself sound a great way to get people reading or thinking more about books, even if some of them might buy the books for the free tickets. We had (have?) book tokens sometimes for children, but it’s limited in age and the price can’t buy longer books so they often got left. Pity that Flamenco Baby wasn’t too good. I seemed to remember you saying you’d liked the previous book a lot (and checking that, I was right) so it’s a shame it wasn’t as good. The Schreiber looks intriguing.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I like to think that people buy books just to get the free ticket, Charlie. I have no idea! I buy the books for the books myself.🙂

      Yes, a pity I had another DNF. I try to try harder but… you know.

  4. bibliosue says:

    Book week sounds like a lot of fun! I should have planned my visit around it, don’t you think🙂 (Of course, I would probably also need to learn Dutch, but it is a good excuse!)

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ha ha, Suzanne. I think you’re OK with English. I got a free book with an English book I bought – and a day later another free book with a Dutch book. I’ll be having a giveaway on my Dutch blog with one of the free books (some people collect them, they’re very popular).

  5. Shan says:

    I like the idea of an author writing a short book and everyone getting a copy with purchase that week!
    This week I’m hoping to read Gerbrand Bakker’s The Detour as my next book for your challenge!

  6. Leslie says:

    We have World Book Night but no nationwide book week. I think we need one! The train ticket idea would probably work in cities like Chicago or New York, not sure about the rest of the country it’s so spread out.

    Bloggiesta looks like it was another great success for you!

  7. Aman says:

    I am reading Jeffrey Archer’s Best Kept Secret.
    Have you tried reading Clifton Chronicles by Archer?

  8. wow you had a great reading week!

  9. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Sounds like Book Week is a fabulous event! Looks like you had a great reading week as well, I will have to add there was an old woman to my wishlist!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

