New Arrivals!

Not many new books, but those that I did get, look really good! I bought and swapped books, and got one for review.

 

Book for review

Fondly by Colin Winnette

Fondly by Colin Winnette (ebook)

For review from Atticus books. I have reviewed a few of their other books and they tend to be odd, but special and good fun to read. This book contains two novellas. It sounds pretty weird but I think I’ll love it.

From the publishers: “In two artfully crafted novellas, Colin Winnette offers a sly and sinister portrayal of lineage and loss, and the roles we all play in writing our own family history. Written in a seamless, entrancin style, Gainesville follows the twisted branches of a restless family tree in a small Texas town. As tragedy strikes each generation in increasingly skewed fashion, what remains is the relentless passage of time toward an eerily familiar pattern of violence.

In One Story, The Two Sisters is woven from an array of beautifully haunting short stories. It details the lives of two sisters, both cast as wildly imaginative entities, each more bizarre than the next. Winnette joyfully plays with life forms as he presents the sisters as (1) an olive at the bottom of a dirty martini; (2) Shel Silverstein; (3) transoceanic swimmers, and so on. The result is an entertaining, skillful meditation on art, love, family, the creative impulse, and what can and cannot be communicated in a single story, or a single life.”

***

Books I bought

The Dog Stars by Peter Heller

The Dog Stars by Peter Heller

I saw this book mentioned last year in the BEA Buzz Book (an ebook with extracts from to-be-published books) and it looked wonderful. Post-apocalyptic, I love that! I had a voucher for Amazon that I used to import this beautiful hardback from the USA. 

From the author’s website: “Hig survived the flu that killed everyone he knows. His wife is gone, his friends are dead, he lives in the hangar of a small abandoned airport with his dog, his only neighbor a gun-toting misanthrope. In his 1956 Cessna, Hig flies the perimeter of the airfield or sneaks off to the mountains to fish and pretend that things are the way they used to be.

But when a random transmission somehow beams through his radio, the voice ignites a hope deep inside him that a better life–something like his old life–exists beyond the airport. Risking everything, he flies past his point of no return–not enough fuel to get him home–following the trail of the static-broken voice on the radio. But what he encounters and what he must face–in the people he meets, and in himself–is both better and worse than anything he could have hoped for.”

***

Schroder by Amity Gaige

Schroder by Amity Gaige

We’ll be reading this in my real-life book group next month. I don’t know much about it, but have heard good and less good things about the book. I’m keeping an open mind. This one I bought at my local bookstore, who have quite a good selection of current English books.

From the publishers: “From a correctional facility where he awaits news of his trial, Erik Schroder writes to his estranged wife about the seven day road trip he took with their daughter, Meadow. But the police and the press are calling it a kidnap and are asking why this man has lived under a different name since childhood. Schroder’s record of events is his only hope of freedom – and of seeing his daughter again.

This is a story about the power of parental love – and the agony of separation. Alternatively lovesick and ecstatic, Amity Gaige’s dazzling novel offers a profound meditation on the many identities we take on in our lives – those we are born with and those we construct for ourselves.”

***

A book I swapped

This Year it Will be Different by Maeve Binchy

This Year it Will be Different by Maeve Binchy

I used to read a lot of Binchy, but after a lesser book, I haven’t read her the last few years. This is a collection of Christmas stories which will be fun to read nearer the end of the year. I got it via Bookmooch.

From the publishers: “From the New York Times bestselling author of Circle of Friends and The Glass Lake comes This Year It Will Be Different, a stunning new work that brings us the magic and spirit of Christmas in fifteen stories filled with Maeve Binchy’s trademark wit, charm, and sheer storytelling genius. Instead of nostalgia, Binchy evokes contemporary life; instead of Christmas homilies, she offers truth; and instead of sugarplums, she brings us the nourishment of holidays that precipitate change, growth, and new beginnings.”

 ***

Did you get any exciting new books recently?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

18 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. Uniflame says:

    I think I would like the dog stars and I have added it to my wishlist on Goodreads🙂 Thanks!

  2. harvee says:

    N ice selection of books! Schroder looks very good!

  3. I’ve got Schroder to read and I hope to get chance to start it soon. I look forward to seeing what you think of that one too.

  4. therelentlessreader says:

    The Winnette sounds a little bonkers, but I like bonkers😉 I hope you enjoy your new books!

  5. Isi says:

    I can’t believe I’ve read one of these books: This year it will be different. Well, I think it would be better if you read it on Christmas time, but the stories are good anyway😉
    Hope you like it!

  6. Charlie says:

    I saw The Dog Stars around at the time, it sounds amazing. As to your book group choice, there will surely be much to discuss there.

  7. kheenand says:

    I’ve read one Binchy and hated it – only reason I finished it was because I had to write a review for my husbands newspaper.

  8. Dog Stars was one of my favourite books of last year. I was doubtful when I started it but it just sucked me right in.

  9. Leslie says:

    Yaaaaaaay, you finally got a copy of Dog Stars! I really hope you like it as much as I did.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

