March Overview

Another month in which I gave up on two books. I don’t do this lightly, but if a book bores me at page 80 or 100, and I read another 30 pages, and it still bores me, I give up! It’s sad, but I’d rather be reading a book I’m enjoying.

I also read some really nice books this month. And somehow a higher than average number of thrillers. I must have been in thriller mood when I asked for them. Also, I read some YA books, which I don’t read very often. Because of the Easter weekend read-a-thon, I got to a rather high number of books for this month!

Books that stood out:

The First Book of Calamity Leek by Paula Lichtarowicz. I loved this book. I had no idea what to expect and even as I was reading it I didn’t know what kind of story this was going to be. But it was very well-written and very surprising.

The Dinner by Herman Koch, which I read in Dutch. It was a re-read for me. I’ve seen so many reviews on the blogs since the book is out in English that I wanted to read it again myself. Well, I loved it. I think it’s a great book. Only the ending is a bit… much.🙂

.

This is what I read

The First Book of Calamity Leek by Paula LichtarowiczThere Was an Old Woman by Hallie EphronLove Water Memory by Jennifer ShortridgeThe Double by José SaramagoPredictably Irrational by Dan ArielyDark tide by Elizabeth HaynesMWF Seeking BFF by Rachel BertscheHarlequin's Costume by Leonid YuzefovichGone: Fear by Michael GrantThe Lens and the Looker by Lori S. KaufmanStarters by Lissa PriceThe End of the Point by Elizabeth GraverFlamenco Baby by Cherry Radford

Click on the blue links to go to the review

The First Book of Calamity Leek by Paula Lichtarowicz. Brilliant but strange story about a girl who lives in a kind of farm with her 12 “sisters”. Outside the wall are injuns and demonmales. It takes a long time before you know what’s going on. And is this historical or modern fiction, fantasy or post-apocalyptic SF? 5 stars.

There was an Old Woman by Hallie Ephron. Thriller about an old woman who is let to believe she has to go into a care home. 4,5 stars

Love Water Memory by Jennie Shortridge. A woman loses her memory and her fiancé picks her up from the hospital. Not a thriller but a good story on how they try to get their relationship started again. 4.5 stars

The Double by Jose Saramago. A fun story about a man who discovers that there is someone in his home town who looks (and talks) identical to himself. 4 stars

Predictably Irrational by Dan Ariely. Non-fiction psychology about how people tend to be consistently irrational. With examples from his own research and real-life examples. 4 stars

Dark Tide by Elizabeth Haynes. Thriller about a woman whose past as a pole dancer in a shady club comes back to haunt her. 4 stars

MWF Seeking BFF by Rachel Bertsche. Non-fiction (memoir) about a woman who moves to a new town and tries to make new friends by “dating” someone new every week for a year. 4 stars

Harlequin’s Costume by Leonid Yuzefovich. Harlequin’s Costume by Leonid Yozefovich. A Russian detective in the 1870s has to find the murderer of a Austrian diplomat. 4 stars.

Gone: Fear  by Michael Grant. Fifth book in the Gone series. Finally some action! 4 stars

The Lens and the Looker by Lory Kaufman. YA Science fiction, time travel. 4 stars.

Starters by Lissa Price. YA Science fiction. After an attack, only young and very old people are left. The elders want to use the young bodies for themselves via a mechanism that let them live in the body. Of course, this has to be stopped. 4 stars.

The End of the Point by Elizabeth Graver. Historical fiction. Started really good, but after changing view points (and time setting) twice I lost interest. Did not finish.

Flamenco Baby by Cherry Radford. An English woman takes flamenco lessons in Spain and falls in love. DNF

***

Dutch blog:

The Dinner by Herman KochDe toeschouwer [The Observer]De wake by Ronald GiphartZoet als zure kersen [Sweet as Sour Cherries] by Claudia SchreiberEen stil vertrek by Annette Zeelenberg
Maar buiten is het feest by Arthur JapinDe vergelding by Jan BrokkenDe leeuw en zijn hemd by Nelleke NoordervlietDe wezenlozen by Wytske Versteeg

Het Diner [The Dinner] by Herman Koch. A re-read because of the interest in other countries for this book. Loved it even more than last time. 5 stars

De toeschouwer [The Observer] by Charlotte Link [Dutch, originally German]. Thriller about a man who observes people in his street. When one of them is the victim of a crime, he is immediately suspect. 5 stars

De wake [The Wake] by Ronald Giphart [Dutch]. Three long short stories with three impossible narrators: a dead man, a boy in a coma and the heart of a young woman. 4.5 stars.

Zoet als zure kersen [Sweet as Morello Cherries] by Claudia Schreiber [Dutch, originally German]. An over-protected girl and a girl left to her own devices meet by accident. Their meeting has great consequences. 4.5 stars

Een stil vertrek [A Quiet Departure] by Annette Zeelenberg [Dutch]. A Dutch woman suddenly leaves her home in the Netherlands and moves to a job in the USA. But she can’t shake off her past. 4 stars

Maar buiten is het feest [But Outside It’s Party-Time] by Arthur Japin. [Dutch] A woman recalls how she was abused by her stepfather and now tries to stop the same fate from happening to her niece. 4 stars

De vergelding [The Retalliation] by Jan Brokken. [Dutch] Non-fiction about a small Dutch town in WWII where seven men where killed by the Germans after one soldier is lethally wounded through what may have been sabotage. 4 stars

De leeuw en zijn hemd [The Lion and its undershirt] by Nelleke Noordervliet [Dutch]. Non-fiction historical essay about Dutch history and being Dutch. 3.5 stars.

De wezenlozen [The Vacant Ones] by Wytske Versteeg [Dutch]. Contemporary fiction about a family in which one of the twin girls hasn’t talked since she was six years old. 3.4 stars

.

Reviews of books I read before March

Various Pets Alive and Dead by Marina LewyckaA Perfect Proposal by Katie FfordeGone: Plague by Michael Grant

***

Various Pets Alive and Dead by Marina Lewycka. With strongly left-wing parents, a man is scared to tell his parents of his banker’s job with fat bonuses. 4.5 stars

A Perfect Proposal by Katie Fforde. 4 stars

Dutch Blog:

Gone: Plague by Michael Grant [review in Dutch]. Fourth book in the Gone series. Continuing much like the third book. 4 stars

And furthermore…

I took part in Bloggiesta, the 3-day event working on our blogs. I got a lot of items done on my to-do list. The weekend after, this Easter weekend, I’m taking part in a read-a-thon.

.

What was YOUR favorite book in March?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

27 Responses to March Overview

  1. Wow you had a terrific month. I liked the Hallie Ephron book, and look forward to The Dinner; Koch as there has been a lot of PR on this one and am anxious to try it for myself. Have a great week.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I hope you’ll enjoy The Dinner as much as I did, Diane. I loved the observations the narrator makes about his dinner, the setting, and the company. Later on, I didn’t like him quite that much…

  2. farmlanebooks says:

    Calamity Leek was my stand out book too. I’ll have topush The Dinner up my TBR now that I see you lloved it too

  3. Melinda says:

    Doubles sounds interesting?? Whats the address of your Dutch blog?

  4. Charlie says:

    Readathon or not, that’s a great deal of reading, Judith! I thought the books for this blog were enough, then with the added lot for your Dutch blog… Awesome month! My favourite this month was Bitter Greens.

  5. mpartyka says:

    Lovely post! I am enjoying Love Water Memory, hoping it finishes strong. I did a record about of reading in March, so much that I can’t post all my reviews in one post so I will have to categorize (fiction, cookbooks, etc..). I guess that’s good right? It means I have found time to relax.

    Hate it when I’m not interested in a book but feel compelled to finish. Good luck!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, glad you’re back in the reading swing! It’s nice when you can relax with a book instead of running around all the time. Hope you can continue in the same vein next month.

  6. A lot of people are saying how much they enjoyed Calamity Leek, must check it out. My bookclub read The Dinner some time ago and it caused a lot of heated conversation!

  7. Wow, Judith you certainly have had an impressive reading month. I am looking forward to reading The First Book of Calamity Leek, just a few books on my review pile to read first… I had a slow reviewing month, lots to catch up on.

  8. therelentlessreader says:

    Another great month of reading, congrats!

  9. Wow! You had a great month…that book MWF Seeking BFF looks intriguing…also, Starters. I really loved There Was an Old Woman.

  10. Leslie says:

    I have Dark Tide in audio. It’s already loaded on the mp3 player and coming up soon. I’m going to see if I can find a copy of There was an Old Woman in audio too. I really want to read that and I’ve already filled up the month with books to read. My mind is far more ambitious than my actual reading speed!

  11. Leslie says:

    No, there isn’t, not yet anyway. And there was no audio version of the author’s last two books either. I had to read the last one using an actual paper book!

  12. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I gave up on one this month as well Judith and was tempted to with another. I don’t like giving up either

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

