It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and are planning to read next.

*****

The week

Hurray, Easter! A long weekend in which to read, for the Easter Read-a-Thon. I set myself the goal to read on average one book per day, and 3 books later with one day to go, I think I’m gonna make it! It’s not like I don’t read enough, but who can resist a good-old readathon?

In other news… erm. Did nothing happen this week? Well, maybe you’d find it interesting to know more about my week, but in my eyes, it was pretty standard. Nothing jumps out that warrants a mention. This coming weekend we’re getting a guest from Denmark on a school exchange.  My son’s class visited Denmark last autumn and now the Danish class is making a return visit.

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 6

The Lens and the Looker by Lori S. KaufmanHarlequin's Costume by Leonid YuzefovichStarters by Lissa PriceDe wezenlozen by Wytske Versteeg

The Dinner by Herman KochEen stil vertrek by Annette Zeelenberg

The Lens and the Looker by Lory Kaufmann. YA Science fiction, time travel. 4 stars.

Harlequin’s Costume by Leonid Yuzefovich. Harlequin’s Costume by Leonid Yozefovich. A Russian detective in the 1870s has to find the murderer of a Austrian diplomat. 4 stars.

Starters by Lissa Price. YA Science fiction. After an attack, only young and very old people are left. The elders want to use the young bodies for themselves via a mechanism that let them live in the body. Of course, this has to be stopped. 4 stars.

De wezenlozen [The Vacant Ones] by Wytske Versteeg [Dutch]. Contemporary fiction about a family in which one of the twin girls hasn’t talked since she was six years old. 3.5 stars

Het diner  [The Dinner] by Herman Koch. A re-read because of the interest in other countries for this book. Loved it even more than last time. 5 stars

Een stil vertrek [A Quiet Departure] by Annette Zeelenberg [Dutch]. A Dutch woman suddenly leaves her home in the Netherlands and moves to a job in the USA. But she can’t shake off her past. 4 stars

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

Dieptepunt [Low Point] by Maria RijkPieces of Light by James FernyhoughBroer [Brother] by Maurits de BruijnDe lijst van al mijn wensen [My Wishlist] by Gregoire Delacourt
Sorry, if you’re not Dutch, you may recognise just one (or none) of these books. I promise, more interesting books for English readers next week!

Other Reviews

Zoet als zure kersen [Sweet as Sour Cherries] by Claudia SchreiberDe leeuw en zijn hemd by Nelleke NoordervlietGone: Fear by Michael Grant

Click on the blue links to see my review

Zoet als zure kersen [Sweet as Morello Cherries] by Claudia Schreiber [Dutch]. An over-protected girl and a girl left to her own devices meet by accident. Their meeting has great consequences. 4.5 stars

De leeuw en zijn hemd [The Lion and its undershirt] by Nelleke Noordervliet [Dutch]. Non-fiction historical essay about Dutch history and being Dutch. 4 stars

Gone: Fear  by Michael Grant. Fifth book in the Gone series. Finally some action! 4 stars

 

And also…

Check out my March overview. I read a crazy number of books.

And I got some new books.

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

26 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. parrish says:

    As per usual a great selection of reading matter, I’ve just finished The Sound of Things Falling written by Juan Gabriel Vásquez and about to start Trieste by Daša Drndić, although these to IFFP books have been sharing mind space with the new abd selected poems of Charles Simic (1966 -2002).

  2. Got some interesting books again!! Have a great week!

  3. Belle says:

    It looks like you had a smashing reading week. Yay for you!

  4. Charlie says:

    Well done! There wasn’t really so much time for things to happen last week, what with Easter🙂

  5. readerbuzz says:

    I spent most of my time writing up reviews. I hope I never get that far behind again.

    Here’s my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Debnance, I hate being behind with reviews. Actually, I am, at the moment! About 4, I think, which is really very many for me. Usually it’s 1 or 2.

  6. Patinspire says:

    Nice selection of books:) Have a great week!

  7. You have a nice selection ahead….and behind you, too. Starters sounds kind of creepy/good. Enjoy!

    Here’sMY MONDAY MEMES POST

  8. Majanka says:

    Heard great things about Starters. Enjoy your books!

    Take a look at what I’m reading this week.

  9. Looks like you had a wonderful week with loads of books (how do you do that, did you find the magic word to make each day last 28 hours instead of 24?🙂 )

    Anyway, have a great reading week,
    kind regards,

  10. Vasilly says:

    You read six books last week?! You’re amazing! Happy reading and enjoy the rest of your read-a-thon!

  11. Charlotte says:

    My first visit to your blog.
    I started a new book called Fat Profits. I have enjoyed it so far.

  12. My co-worker’s son is heading to China soon for an exchange kind of thing. I think it sounds so cool! My friend’s parents hosted exchange students for a full school year for ages and ages. We met a lot of interesting people that way.

    Enjoy your week!

    • Leeswammes says:

      China is something different, Jen! Wow, that sounds like a major experience. Of course, The Netherlands and Denmark are quite similar, but just different enough to make it interesting for the students. Plus they get a chance to practice their English (second language).

  13. Mardel says:

    At first I was amazed that you were reading books in a language that I didn’t recognize (Swedish? Netherland? – not sure what the language is, or even German?) Then I remembered you are IN the Netherlands and so I’m still amazed because you’re reading English. I am always in awe of those who can not only speak, but read in more than one language. I can say a few choice swear words in Spanish, threaten to spank a child in Spanish (I learned from my mom, haha) and carry on a very basic conversation in Spanish – and even though I can sound out many spanish words, I don’t always know what the meaning is. So my respect to all those who read and speak more than one language. RESPECT.

    I’m also impressed at the amount of books you’ve read. Wonderful. And good luck with the exchange student, hope you get a wonderful student!

    http://mardel-rabidreader.blogspot.com/2013/04/its-mondayand-have-i-ever-told-you-how.html

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mardel, the Netherlands is a small country – we learn 3-4 languages at school and always English – so we can communicate with the rest of the world. I myself spent 15 years in England, so am not to be admired for speaking or reading English!

      We have been to Spain a few times in the summer holidays – I’d love to be able to swear in the language. That would be fun.🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

