Book Review: Love Water Memory by Jennie Shortridge

Love Water Memory by Jennifer ShortridgeLove Water Memory: What it is about

What the publishers say: “A bittersweet masterpiece filled with longing and hope, Jennie Shortridge’s emotional novel explores the raw, tender complexities of relationships and personal identity.

Who is Lucie Walker? Even Lucie herself can’t answer that question after she comes to, confused and up to her knees in the chilly San Francisco Bay. Back home in Seattle, she adjusts to life with amnesia, growing unsettled by the clues she finds to the selfish, carefully guarded person she used to be. Will she ever fall in love with her handsome, kindhearted fiancé, Grady? Can he devote himself to the vulnerable, easygoing Lucie 2.0, who is so unlike her controlling former self? When Lucie learns that Grady has been hiding some very painful secrets that could change the course of their relationship, she musters the courage to search for the shocking, long-repressed childhood memories that will finally set her free.”

Love Water Memory: What I thought

When there is memory loss involved in a story, you tend to think: thriller! Because you can tell a person with memory loss anything, and they have to believe you on your word. “You” being the baddie in the book.

Not in this case. This is a book about getting to know each other again, after a woman has suffered memory loss and is home with her fiancé after a short spell in hospital. Not only Lucie has to get to know her fiancé again, he, Grady, has to get used to this new Lucie, too. She’s is friendlier, talks to her neighbors, isn’t as driven and workaholic as she used to be.

The way they are constantly attracted to each other and then push away again because they are not sure what the other’s feelings are, is very well described. Grayd and Luce don’t talk to each other enough, that is the main problem, and that’s very frustrating for the reader. But since they don’t know each other as they used to, they don’t dare to be completely honest, as they don’t know what the reaction will be.

New-Lucie seemed a lot nicer than the old Lucie, as she is portrayed by the people that knew her before. Grady, however, was a rather spineless person and I didn’t like him all that much. He kept things from Lucie not only to make her life easier, but also his own!

The secrets-from-the-past come to the surface bit by bit and they help Lucie get back her memory. That was an interesting part of the story, too.

I very much enjoyed reading this book!


Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Number of pages: 336

First published: 2013

I got this: from the publishers, Simon & Schuster USA (Uncorrected e-proof)

Genre: contemporary fiction

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

15 Responses to Book Review: Love Water Memory by Jennie Shortridge

  1. I also immediately thought: thriller, when I started reading your review, Judith. But this seems an interesting story in a very different way. I might give it a try.

  2. Uniflame says:

    I am actually glad it isn’t a thriller. I did read before I go to sleep and one thriller of that kind is enough for me. I think I would compare it too much. Then again, Thrillers are not really my genre, so😉

  3. Charlie says:

    I was thinking thriller, too. Though in a way glad that’s not the case, even if I can’t really say that because I’ve not read it. The lack of communication really appeals to me because I’ve seen lots of relationships fall apart due to that, and whether or not they get it together again it’d be interesting to see how it’s handled in fiction. I like the idea that this new Lucie might be more successful than the old one in working things out, it’s always heartbreaking to hear stories like this.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Charlie, yes, this is a lot about communication between couples – but also about not saying something because you want to be kind, but that is misunderstood as withholding information, etc. A very interesting topic.

  4. Jennifer says:

    Losing your memory like that would be so weird wouldn’t it? I think I’d like this one🙂

  5. Melinda says:

    This one’s story line reminds me of the movie “The Vow”. Have you seen that? Sounds like a nice book!🙂

  6. Pingback: Love Water Memory - From 7Eight

  7. Hmm. This sounds a lot like that TV show Samantha Who, starring Christina Applegate. Amnesia is a really interesting subject, although apparently books and TV usually get it wrong? I don’t have any medical knowledge to know when it’s being done right!

  8. Pingback: Love Water Memory - Corinne Rodrigues

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

