It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and are planning to read next.

*****

The week

This weekend we welcomed a Danish exchange student in our house. His class and that of my son’s are visiting each other (my son visited Samuel and his school in the autumn). This week, there are no lessons, just a lot of fun activities for the two classes, getting to know each other’s culture better and to practice their English.

We took Samuel on a trip to Amsterdam yesterday. For the first time in a long time, the weather was great and we walked a lot through the city, visited a museum and had a pizza. Fun was had by all.

I also discovered the power of Twitter. My other son had a economy project to hand in today, in which he had to make up some (relevant) questions and interview a business person. He didn’t know who to ask, so (?) he had not done the project. I stepped in (when I finally found out about this) and asked on Twitter if anyone would be willing to answer some questions. After a few re-tweets, two kind people offered their help and answered his questions by email. Moral: always ask your mother if you have a problem, and/or ask Twitter!

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 3

Dieptepunt [Low Point] by Maria RijkBroer [Brother] by Maurits de BruijnDe lijst van al mijn wensen [My Wishlist] by Gregoire Delacourt

I read three books for my Dutch blog this week. The first two are originally Dutch, the last one is translated from the French.

Dieptepunt [Low Point] by Maria Rijk. Thriller about a woman who is attacked by another woman and then tries to find out why. 4.5 stars

Broer [Brother] by Maurits de Bruijn. Fictional account. The brother of a young man has been missing for 10 years. The man travels to different countries to find him, but really himself. 4 stars

De lijst van al mijn wensen [My Wish List] by Grégoire Delacourt. A middle-aged woman wins the lottery but worries how this will change her life and the people around her. 4.5 stars

 .

Books I’m reading and planning to read

Pieces of Light by James FernyhoughNacht in Noorwegen [Norwegian by Night] by Derek B. MillerThe Pearl Savage by Tamara Rose BlodgettSchroder by Amity Gaige

Pieces of Light by Charles Fernyhough

Norwegian by Night [Dutch: Nacht in Noorwegen] by Derek B. Miller

The Pearl Savage by Tamara Rose Blogett

Schroder by Amity Gaige

Reviews

Flamenco Baby by Cherry RadfordLove Water Memory by Jennifer ShortridgeThere Was an Old Woman by Hallie EphronDe wezenlozen by Wytske Versteeg

Click on the blue links to see my review

Flamenco Baby by Cherry Radford (DNF). An English woman takes flamenco lessons in Spain and falls in love. DNF

Love Water Memory by Jennie Shortridge. A woman loses her memory and her fiancé picks her up from the hospital. Not a thriller but a good story on how they try to get their relationship started again. 4.5 stars

There Was an Old Woman by Hallie Ephron. Thriller about an old woman who is let to believe she has to go into a care home. 4,5 stars

De wezenlozen [The Vacant Ones] by Wytske Versteeg [Dutch]. Contemporary fiction about a family in which one of the twin girls hasn’t talked since she was six years old. 3.5 stars

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

18 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I am about to finish Moranthology, a funny book Birgit offered to me🙂

  2. Mystica says:

    Mother knows best!

  3. readerbuzz says:

    Good for you! I really need to learn how to use Twitter.

    Here’s my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I love Twitter for advertising my blog posts, Debnance. Plus I learn about a lot of bookish things via the people and publishers that I follow. I love Twitter!

  4. Amen to the “ask your mother”🙂 Glad it all worked out, and with the help of Twitter too!

  5. I’m happy you liked There Was an Old Woman –me too. Love, Water Memory sounds good as well.

    Have a great week.

  6. Great books, Judith, and have fun with the exchange student!

    kind regards,

  7. I’ve been noticing Love Water Memory…hope you enjoy it. Have a great adventure with the exchange student. Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  8. Leslie says:

    An exchange student in the house sounds like fun… and maybe a break from a those books?

  9. The Pearl Savage looks great. Hope you like it. Have a great week!

  10. Lucybird says:

    I hope you get on better with The Pearl Savage than I did, Judith.

    There was an Old Woman sounds intriguing, I will have to look back at your review.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

