It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and are planning to read next.

*****

The week

Last week was a GOOD week! Not in the least because it was my birthday on Friday. Well, actually, Friday stood out as by far the best day of that week: I celebrated my 39th birthday (for the erm… so maniest time: add a few years), I went to the Open House day of a Dutch publisher and had such fun hearing authors talk, and chatting with other book lovers. Then in the evening I had my book group meeting (we discussed Schroder by Amity Gaige). What better way to celebrate a book lover’s birthday?

Other than that, the temperature finally went up and I had a nice cycle ride on Sunday, without a coat (and still hot). I’m working pretty hard on the corrections of a manuscript (a novel) which means the housework and every thing else is on the back burner until that is finished.

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 2

Nacht in Noorwegen [Norwegian by Night] by Derek B. MillerSchroder by Amity Gaige

Nacht in Noorwegen [Norwegian by Night] by Derek B. Miller. An 82-year old American man has moved in with his granddaughter in Norway and becomes the witness of a crime. He escapes with a little boy. 4 stars

Schroder by Amity Gaige. A divorced man wants to see more of his little daughter and takes her on an unscheduled holiday, after which he is wanted for kidnapping. 5 stars

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

Pieces of Light by James FernyhoughEen goed excuus [A Thousand Pardons] by Jonathan DeeThe Pearl Savage by Tamara Rose BlodgettThe River of No Return by Bee Ridgway

 

Reviews

The Lens and the Looker by Lori S. KaufmanHarlequin's Costume by Leonid YuzefovichBroer [Brother] by Maurits de Bruijn

Click on the blue links to see my review

The Lens and the Looker by Lory S. Kaufman. YA Science fiction, time travel. 4 stars.

Harlequin’s Costume by Leonid Yuzefovich. A Russian detective in the 1870s has to find the murderer of a Austrian diplomat. 4 stars.

Broer [Brother] by Maurits de Bruijn. Fictional account of real-life story. The brother of a young man has been missing for 10 years. The man travels to different countries to find him, but really himself. 4 stars

Blogoversary!!!

===> It’s my blogoversary! Leeswammes’ Blog is 3 years old. Come and celebrate and win a book!

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

27 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Karen says:

    Happy Birthday! Sounds like you had a fab day! It’s finally heating up here too, might actually have a spring now.

    Love the sound of Harlequin’s Costume. Hope you enjoy!

  2. Deb Nance says:

    Happy birthday and happy blogoversary!

    Here’s my It’s Monday.

  3. Mystica says:

    Just the reverse here. We having rain at long last. I thought the heat would never end!

  4. Happy birthday…and blogoversary! Congrats!

    I like the look of Schroder. I’ll be watching for your review. Enjoy your week.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  5. Melinda says:

    Happy Birthday !🙂

  6. Jennifer says:

    LOL, happy 39th birthday😉 I celebrated my 39th in February. (my REAL 39th, lol) Enjoy your reads this week my friend!

  7. joyweesemoll says:

    Happy Birthday! Good for you for making it such a wonderful day!

  8. Happy birthday, Judith, I hope you had an amazing day. And it seems you had a wonderful bookish week!

    kind regards,

  9. Shan says:

    Gelukkige Verjaardag Judith!!! Hahaha, I can pronounce the second word, but not the first!

  10. Still very much intrigued by the Pearl Savage…. Good luck with the manuscript!

  11. curlygeek04 says:

    I can’t comment on anything you’ve read, but happy birthday and happy Spring!

  12. Charlie says:

    Happy birthday and happy blogiversary, too. Sounds like you had a wonderfully bookish birthday🙂 Glad the weather’s better, it looks like it might be similar here soon. Considering the manuscript, well done on the reading (I always think editing must take some of the reading for pleasure away).

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Charlie. It’s the 3rd or 4th time I’m seeing this manuscript and some of it is getting a bit boring while other parts are still very touching.

  13. mpartyka says:

    Not that it’s about me but I’m so thrilled with myself that my phone told me it was your bday🙂. My family isn’t in there, I wonder how I did this.🙂

    I hope you had a wonderful 39th bday. Sounds like you had a great week. I’m super excited for the new Lionel Shriver novel, Big Brother.

    Have a great week

    • Leeswammes says:

      Funny, Mari. I wonder why the phone knows about my birthday. Maybe via Facebook? Do note it wasn’t *really* my 39th. I’m way in the 40s by now…

  14. Lucy Crowe says:

    Hi there! I dropped by awhile back and have since been reading your posts in my email. Just wanted to comment and say Happy Blogoversary! 😀

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

