It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and are planning to read next.

*****

The week

My husband had a small operation which meant he was home for most of the week (he’s fine! Back to work today). I spent my day in hospital not holding his hand, but mainly working on the manuscript that I was editing. Amazing what you can get done between 7.30am and 10.30am at a waiting room table! The manuscript is now finished and sent back and I should have a quieter week this week.

Although, since I got a tablet – it has a to-do list app, and that’s really the thing – I have had SO MUCH to do!! I keep adding items to the easy-to-use app, and I love crossing them off again. Somehow, I have much more to do than in the days before the tablet. Amazing!

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 2 and a DNF

The River of No Return by Bee RidgwayEen goed excuus [A Thousand Pardons] by Jonathan DeePieces of Light by James Fernyhough

Click on the blue links to see my review

The River of No Return by Bee Ridgway. Time travel story in which time plays an important role. Most of the story takes place in 1815. Great ideas, but the ending was a little sudden. 4 stars

Een goed excuus [A Thousand Pardons] by Jonathan Dee. A couple divorces and the woman, who hasn’t worked for years, unexpectedly finds herself successful at a job, while the husband gets into real trouble. 4 stars

Pieces of Light by Charles Fernyhough. Non-fiction about new research into how memory works. Interesting, but too many personal details for me. Did not finish.

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

The Pearl Savage by Tamara Rose BlodgettIjsland (Iceland) by Ronald GiphartThe Wishlist by Jane CostelloMy Soul to Take by Yrsa Sigurdardottir

 

Reviews

Starters by Lissa Price

Click on the blue links to see my review

Starters by Lissa Price. YA Science fiction. After a virus attack, only young and very old people are left. The elders want to use the young bodies for themselves via a mechanism that let them live in the body. Of course, this has to be stopped. 4 stars.

Blogoversary!!!

===> It’s my blogoversary! Leeswammes’ Blog is 3 years old. Come and celebrate and win a book! Last day today.

Also check out my NEW BOOKS.

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

32 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Mystica says:

    Hope your husband feels better soon. Enjoy all your reads and hope you finish all your allotted tasks for this week.

  2. Joanna says:

    Hi Judith, well done on all the manuscript editing. That sounds like a great venture. Would you recommend the tablet? I also love to-do lists and my little netbook has just about had it. I’m looking for something new.

    I like the sound of A thousand pardons.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jo, I love the tablet, in as far as it’s handy to use for quick things. It’s NOT at all handy for typing. I.e., typing more than a few sentences at a time I would not do on it. Too awkward. It’s good to have in addition to a laptop/PC but instead of one? Not me, anyway, because I do use my laptop/table on my lap in front of the tv a lot. If you’d be happy to sit down at a table and have a separate keyboard attached to it, it’s better. But keep in mind, tablet is an android, works with apps, not windows.

      The manuscript editing was great fun! If you ever know of anyone who needs a third person to have a look at their text/manuscript, I’m their woman!

  3. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I am surprised at just how much I enjoyed The River of No Return, I was a little wary to begin with!

    I make great use of organiser apps on my iphone (and now my brand new iPad as well), I can pretend I am actually achieving something when i mark them as complete!

    Have a great reading week!
    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  4. Deb Nance says:

    Happy blogoversary!

    I haven’t learned how to use my tablet for notes (I’m a touch typist so I prefer to type here on my Mac) and maybe I shouldn’t!

    Here’s my It’s Monday. I hope you will stop by!

  5. Book Blather says:

    Looks like a good mix! Have fun.

  6. Congrats on the blogoversary! Three years….wow!

    I’m having one, too, on my first blog, Story Corner (five years). Come on by and read about it at MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  7. I love making lists and a little organization goes a long way! Great books, as usual.
    Have a great reading week (and I am happy to hear your husband is fine again)

    • Leeswammes says:

      I love making lists, too, Bettina. Today’s turns out to be quite the right size. This morning it was very long but some were just small tasks. Tick, tick, tick!🙂

  8. The cover for The River of No Return is beautiful!

  9. Glad the husband is better again. You really have some very interesting reads there am still waiting for you to read The Pearl Savage because I love the looks of it.

    Have a great week!!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ciska, I’m half-way The Pearl Savage. It’s a Kindle book that I read on my mobile or my tablet, but not very often. I’m really trying to finish it this week.

  10. Too Fond says:

    I read a blurb about The River of No Return and thought it sounded interesting–I’ll definitely be on the lookout for that one.

  11. I got A Thousand Pardons from Netgalley last year and while I’m still keen on reading it, the fact that it’s sitting on my kindle, unformatted, puts me off. I’m making May my month of reading Netgalley titles but I still would prefer to wait for the paperback of this!

    I’ve been curious about Starters, I like the premise.

    Have a great week, Judith!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shannon, my problem with Netgalley is that the galleys get archived / run out, so you can’t read them after a certain date. Not all of them, but often enough.

      • That’s true, but it doesn’t happen with Kindles – once they’re on my kindle they stay there and I can take my time getting to them (maybe not such a good thing!). On the downside, some titles on Netgalley aren’t available for Kindle at all, which is a bummer.

      • Leeswammes says:

        I didn’t know that, Shannon. On Netgalley there is an archive date and that definitely is the date by which I can no longer read the book (I don’t mean download, I mean read!), so they are always just temporary books that I don’t own. You’re lucky!

  12. Charlie says:

    Good to hear your husband is okay🙂 It’s great to add to the to do list when you know you’ll be able to cross them off again soon. It makes you feel more productive, and actually be more productive as well.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Certainly true, Charlie. By writing down the small items too (the ones that fleet through your brain and then out again), I get a lot more done. It’s just so much work!🙂

  13. Shan says:

    I stopped making to do lists, it made things much easier on me! The Wish List sounds like a fun one, I look forward to hearing your thoughts. Happy blogoversary!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shan, without to-do lists, my mind keeps going round, thinking about all the things I should not forget. So, for me, it works better this way.

  14. I’m glad your husband is okay! I came across The River of No Return somewhere else recently and it caught my attention. I love to-do lists as well. I’ve gotten in the habit of making them daily at work. I even put little bitty things on there just for the pleasure of marking them off. Enjoy your week!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jen, I do that! It’s such fun to see a ticked-off list at the end of the day. Sometimes I put something on the list that I could easily do there and then, but if it’s not on the list, it doesn’t count!

  15. mpartyka says:

    I love the book covers you have this week, but usually the cover doesn’t make a book🙂. Hope you enjoy a few of them (sorry about the DNF).

    Glad to hear your husband is okay and recovering. I totally understand the long to do list! Seems that technology creates a long list. I find I like a notebook, have struggled moving to my ipad for more than email, reading, and listening to pandora. I wonder if this is because I work a LOT, sitting in front of a laptop all day. I run away from technology these days. HA

    Congratulations with the manuscript. wonderful news

    Have a wonderful week!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, I am a great believer that a book cover tells me a lot about a book. Good cover: most likely a good read.

      I used to have a notebook for my to-do’s too, but the tablet is so much fun! I do use computers a lot every day, but I still like my little tablet for the to-do lists – I haven’t had it for long, maybe it will wear off.

  16. Charlotte says:

    Just finished reading Knots and Crosses and started Haunted Grounds.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

