Weekly Reading Roundup

*****

The week

The past week didn’t go as well as I had hoped. We were due to fly to Iceland for a week’s holiday, but at the airport we didn’t get past the gate because my husband’s passport wasn’t valid for long enough (it was valid, but had to be valid for another 3 months after traveling – unfortunately, it will run out in June…). So, back home we went, quite a trip, because we were going to fly from London rather than Amsterdam. So we traveled back – after our luggage was taken off the plane – via the Channel Tunnel, France, and Belgium, to the Netherlands. Home after 27 hours of traveling and waiting.😦

Very sad, but the good news: I was able to participate in 24 hour readathon this weekend! See here how I did. It was good fun. I didn’t read as much as I normally do but had a good time with some good books.

This week: nothing planned, as we were supposed to be away, but there is the King’s ascension of the throne tomorrow and that is a day of festivities here. If it doesn’t rain as much as today, that should be a lovely day.

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 6

The Pearl Savage by Tamara Rose BlodgettIjsland (Iceland) by Ronald GiphartThe Wishlist by Jane CostelloAmity & Sorrow by Peggy RileyVrij spel by Carlijn VisThe Travel Auction by Mark Green

Click on the blue links to see my review

The Pearl Savage by Tamara Rose Blodgett. Post-apocalyptic novel about a princess living in a dome who is targeted by savages living outside. 3.5 stars

IJsland [Iceland] by Ronald Giphart. A comedian is making a trip to Iceland with his theatre group, leaving his wife and son at home. He thinks about them a lot. 4.5 stars

The Wish List by Jane Costello. A woman who is about to turn 30 rediscovers a wishlist she made at 15. She tries to tick off the items on the list. Chick-lit. 4,5 stars

Amity & Sorrow by Peggy Riley. A mother and her two daughters escape from a cult and end up at the farm of a man who does not want them there. 5 stars

Vrij spel [Free Game] by Carlijn Vis. Historical novel about a woman who fled the Netherlands in WWII and her adventures in order to get to England. 4 stars

The Travel Auction by Mark Green. When a man and his girlfriend split up, he advertises for someone with her name to take her place in a trip to South America (as he already got the tickets). Chick-lit/Lad-lit. 4,5 stars.

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

My Soul to Take by Yrsa SigurdardottirImportant Artifacts (etc.) by Leanne ShaptonStern by Thomas Heerma van VossNOS4A2 by Joe Hill

 

Reviews

The River of No Return by Bee RidgwayDe lijst van al mijn wensen [My Wishlist] by Gregoire DelacourtThe Dinner by Herman Koch

Click on the blue links to see my review

The River of No Return by Bee Ridgway. Time travel story in which time plays an important role. Most of the story takes place in 1815. Great ideas, but the ending was a little sudden. 4 stars

De lijst van al mijn wensen [My Wishlist] by Grégoire Delacourt. A French middle-aged woman wins a lot of money in the lottery. But she doesn’t really know what she wants to do with it. 4.5 stars

Het diner [The Dinner] by Herman Koch. I’ll post an English review of this book on my blog in the next few weeks. 5 stars

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

36 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Birgit says:

    So sorry to hear about your trip that wasn’t meant to happen. I’ve been to Iceland many years ago and it is such a beautiful country … well, not meaning to put salt into open wounds with that remark. I can image that this put quite a damper on your mood. Yet, putting your nose into a couple books seems to have lifted your spirit after all.🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Don’t worry, Birgit. I’ve been to Iceland before but this time we wanted to take the kids. HIred a car and everything. Books do help.🙂

  2. What a pity your holiday wasn’t meant to be. Fortunately there are always books.🙂

  3. vicki (skiourophile / bibliolathas) says:

    What a disaster – I hope you get another holiday soon to make up for that. (I think I’d not be able to read any of the books on the list about travel!)

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Vicki. I am reading a thriller that I meant to take along on holiday to Iceland, that is taking place in Iceland, on a peninsula that we were planning to visit. Still, somehow it’s better than nothing at all.

  4. Sorry to hear your travel plans did not work out Judith.

    This is the first time I have seen the title The Travel Auction – sounds like fun.

  5. Nish says:

    Aww man, sucks about that Iceland trip. Thank God for books!

  6. bibliosue says:

    Oh, I’m sorry that your travel plans didn’t work out. I thought that travel within Europe was rather simple — is it because England isn’t in the Euro Zone?
    I can’t wait to read your English review of The Dinner. I read it a few weeks ago and it is definitely one perfect for discussion.
    Enjoy your week!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, I think it’s Iceland that was the problem, although apparently the Netherlands is also very strict.

      Yes, The Dinner is ideal for discussion. I loved it.

  7. Leslie says:

    Oh how annoying about the trip! I vaguely remember reading something about that when applying for a travel visa. That’s the kind of info that gets filed in the back of your brain. Too bad the airlines don’t remind people of that when they book tickets.

    I want to read the new Joe Hill book. I like a little horror once in a while (and not the travel kind!). Hope this week goes a bit better.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’m looking forward to the Joe Hill book, too. My current book (an thriller in Iceland) is going a bit slow – it’s not the book, but lack of time to read. Hopefully, I’ll be starting N0S4A2 soon.

  8. Shan says:

    What an unfortunate end to your trip! I’m glad you liked The Wish List, I’m going to put that on my to read list now.

  9. To bad your holiday did not go as planned and good luck with renewing the passport.

    3.5 stars for the Pearl Savage is pretty low for you, hope you will post a review on the book because I am totally in love with the cover!

    De W van have a great week!!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ciska, I enjoyed The Pearl Savage for a while, but then it got a bit boring and predictable. I haven’t written a review yet. Do pester me, because if I wait too long I will forget too much about the book to write a proper review of it.

  10. Jennifer says:

    I’m sorry about your travel plans being derailed😦 That must have been a disappointment. (To say the least!) I’m glad that there was a silver lining~ Read-a-Thon!

    Have a great week🙂

  11. Oh no, that’s so disappointing. Hope you manage to rearrange something, I’d love to go to Iceland.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ellie, I’ve been to Iceland before and it’s so nice. Now we are thinking of going another time and drive the whole ring road (on a longer holiday) – which is different from what we were planning this time.

  12. Oh what rotten luck! And travelling to a destination is always the worst (certainly the most exhausting) part of any big trip. So sorry your holiday didn’t turn out as planned, Judith.

    Glad to see you giving Amity & Sorrow such a high rating, it’s on my to-read pile for May and I’m looking forward to it.

  13. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Such a shame you missed out Judith – I hope you can reschedule.

    You got a lot read though, Amity and Sorrow is on my wishlist and I have The Travel Auction to read also

    Have a great reading week!

  14. Is the Wish List is a good book? I saw it yesterday in bookstore but I did not buy it because I’m not sure if its a good book.

  15. Laurie C says:

    It seems like a strange rule for a country to have. Wonder what the rationale is. I listened to The Dinner on audio and it was excellent!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Glad you enjoyed The Dinner too, Laurie. I think the rule has to do with the fact that you’re allowed to stay in the country for 3 months without a visa. But not if your passport isn’t valid that long.

  16. Melinda says:

    Looking forward to the Amity and Sorrow review!

  17. Charlie says:

    Pity you didn’t get to go. The rule of 3 months makes sense, but then if you’ve return tickets for before 3 months is over… Did you get to stay in London at all at least? Considering everything, your reading has been good. I think I’d have been burnt out!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Charlie, no, we didn’t go to London (we were very tired from driving all night to Luton airport) but we did go to Lakeside shopping centre for a short visit.

  18. Athira says:

    The premise of The Travel Auction sounds so ridiculous that I have to read it. Glad to hear that you enjoyed it.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

