April Overview

In April, I read 14 books and abandoned another one. Most of the books got 4-5 stars, so this was a good month. I took part in the 24 hour readathon, which was good fun (I read 2 and-a-bit books). I didn’t go on my holiday, which was bad.

This month was also my 3-year blogoversary! I celebrated with a giveaway. Oh, that reminds me… I asked people for books to add to my list of dystopian books for adults. I will update this list very soon and republish it.

Books that stood out:

I had three 5-stars books and two 4.5 stars. That is really good. I loved My Soul to Take, a mystery taking place in Iceland. Schroder, about a father abducting his daughter was good as well, and Amity & Sorrow, was – in a way – about a mother abducting her daughters. A very special read, too.

This is what I read

My Soul to Take by Yrsa SigurdardottirSchroder by Amity GaigeAmity & Sorrow by Peggy RileyThe Wishlist by Jane CostelloThe Travel Auction by Mark GreenThe River of No Return by Bee RidgwayThe Pearl Savage by Tamara Rose BlodgettPieces of Light by James Fernyhough

Click on the blue links to go to the review (as you can see, I still need to post a few reviews!).

My Soul to Take by Yrsa Sigurdardottir. Murder in Iceland. Brilliantly told. 5 stars

Schroder by Amity Gaige. A divorced man wants to see more of his little daughter and takes her on an unscheduled holiday, after which he is wanted for kidnapping. 5 stars

Amity & Sorrow by Peggy Riley. A mother and her two daughters escape from a cult and end up at the farm of a man who does not want them there. 5 stars

The Wish List by Jane Costello. A woman who is about to turn 30 rediscovers a wishlist she made at 15. She tries to tick off the items on the list. Chick-lit. 4,5 stars

The Travel Auction by Mark Green. When a man and his girlfriend split up, he advertises for someone with her name to take her place in a trip to South America (as he already got the tickets). Chick-lit/Lad-lit. 4,5 stars.

The River of No Return by Bee Ridgway. Time travel story in which time plays an important role. Most of the story takes place in 1815. Great ideas, but the ending was a little sudden. 4 stars

The Pearl Savage by Tamara Rose Blodgett. Post-apocalyptic novel about a princess living in a dome who is targeted by savages living outside. 3.5 stars

Pieces of Light by Charles Fernyhough. Non-fiction about new research into how memory works. Interesting, but too many personal details for me. Did not finish.

***

Dutch blog:

Dieptepunt [Low Point] by Maria RijkDe lijst van al mijn wensen [My Wishlist] by Gregoire DelacourtIjsland (Iceland) by Ronald GiphartBroer [Brother] by Maurits de BruijnNacht in Noorwegen [Norwegian by Night] by Derek B. MillerEen goed excuus [A Thousand Pardons] by Jonathan DeeVrij spel by Carlijn Vis

Dieptepunt [Low Point] by Maria Rijk. Thriller about a woman who is attacked by another woman and then tries to find out why. 4.5 stars

De lijst van al mijn wensen [My Wishlist] by Grégoire Delacourt. A French middle-aged woman wins a lot of money in the lottery. But she doesn’t really know what she wants to do with it. 4.5 stars

IJsland [Iceland] by Ronald Giphart. A comedian is making a trip to Iceland with his theatre group, leaving his wife and son at home. He thinks about them a lot. 4.5 stars

Broer [Brother] by Maurits de Bruijn. Fictional account of real-life story. The brother of a young man has been missing for 10 years. The man travels to different countries to find him, but really himself. 4 stars

Nacht in Noorwegen [Norwegian by Night] by Derek B. Miller. An 82-year old American man has moved in with his granddaughter in Norway and becomes the witness of a crime. He escapes with a little boy. 4 stars

Een goed excuus [A Thousand Pardons]by Jonathan Dee. A couple divorces and the woman, who hasn’t worked for years, unexpectedly finds herself successful at a job, while the husband gets into real trouble. 4 stars

Vrij spel [Free Game] by Carlijn Vis. Historical novel about a woman who fled the Netherlands in WWII and her adventures in order to get to England. 4 stars

Reviews of books I read before April

Flamenco Baby by Cherry RadfordLove Water Memory by Jennifer ShortridgeThere Was an Old Woman by Hallie EphronHarlequin's Costume by Leonid YuzefovichThe Lens and the Looker by Lori S. Kaufman
Starters by Lissa PriceThe Dinner by Herman KochDe wezenlozen by Wytske Versteeg

***

Flamenco Baby by Cherry Radford (DNF). An English woman takes flamenco lessons in Spain and falls in love. DNF

Love Water Memory by Jennie Shortridge. A woman loses her memory and her fiancé picks her up from the hospital. Not a thriller but a good story on how they try to get their relationship started again. 4.5 stars

There Was an Old Woman by Hallie Ephron. Thriller about an old woman who is let to believe she has to go into a care home. 4,5 stars

Harlequin’s Costume by Leonid Yuzefovich. Harlequin’s Costume by Leonid Yozefovich. A Russian detective in the 1870s has to find the murderer of a Austrian diplomat. 4 stars.

The Lens and the Looker by Lory S. Kaufman. YA Science fiction, time travel. 4 stars.

Starters by Lissa Price. YA Science fiction. After a virus attack, only young and very old people are left. The elders want to use the young bodies for themselves via a mechanism that let them live in the body. Of course, this has to be stopped. 4 stars.

 

Dutch Blog:

Het diner [The Dinner] by Herman Koch. I’ll post an English review of this book on my blog in the next few weeks. 5 stars

De wezenlozen [The Vacant Ones] by Wytske Versteeg [Dutch]. Contemporary fiction about a family in which one of the twin girls hasn’t talked since she was six years old. 3.5 stars

.

What was YOUR favorite book in April?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

7 Responses to April Overview

  1. Jennifer says:

    Another great month for you, congrats! I had an amazing April, but picking a favorite is too hard😉 Here’s to May! I hope it’s a good one

  2. bibliosue says:

    What a productive month! Again, I think I need to learn Dutch — some of the Dutch books you’ve read sound good but I doubt they will be translated😦
    Have a great May.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Susanne, yes, not many Dutch books are ever translated, although more than I used to think… It’s a pity, but then, a good opportunity to learn Dutch.🙂

  3. JoV says:

    Another great month blogosphere Superwoman! I have amity and sorrow too. I’ll get to it as soon as I can.

  4. Charlie says:

    Another great month, Judith! So many highly rated books is really good for an entire month. My favourite was The Uninvited Guests.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

