Weekly Reading Roundup

*****

The week

The second unfortunate week in a row. Last week, we didn’t go on holiday, this week, first my mother breaks her hip, then my husband has a car crash (he’s fine, our (only) car is not), as a result of which I had to 1) visit my mother, and 2) do this by train. On Sunday, I first went past her house (by train) to pick up some things and then on to the convalescence home (by train), which took forever. But hey, I’m still smiling!

This week, the kids go back to school after 10 days off. I don’t have anything planned in particular but I suspect that the car and/or my mother will keep me busy!

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 2

My Soul to Take by Yrsa SigurdardottirStern by Thomas Heerma van Voss

My Soul to Take by Yrsa Sigurdardottir. A brilliant mystery taking place in Iceland. 5 stars

Stern by Thomas Heerma van Voss [Dutch]. A school teacher is made redundant and thinks back on his relationships with friends, family and his pupils. 4.5 stars

Books I’m reading

Important Artifacts (etc.) by Leanne ShaptonNOS4A2 by Joe HillDigitale verleiding [Digital Seduction] by Maurits KapteinWild Abandon by Joe Dunthorne

I only finished 2 books last week, but I’m reading all 4 books mentioned here! One I read now and then, one is my “current” read, one is a non-fiction book of which I read a chapter a day, and the final book is thin enough to fit in my handbag.🙂 

Reviews

The Wishlist by Jane CostelloThe Travel Auction by Mark GreenEen stil vertrek by Annette Zeelenberg

Click on the blue links to see my review

The Wish List by Jane Costello. A woman who is about to turn 30 rediscovers a wishlist she made at 15. She tries to tick off the items on the list. Chick-lit. 4,5 stars

The Travel Auction by Mark Green. When a man and his girlfriend split up, he advertises for someone with her name to take her place in a trip to South America (as he already got the tickets). Chick-lit/Lad-lit. 4,5 stars.

Een stil vertrek [A Quiet Departure] by Annette Zeelenberg. A Dutch woman suddenly leaves her home in the Netherlands and moves to a job in the USA. But she can’t shake off her past. 4 stars

*****

And further…

Check out my April overview. Yes, I read a lot!

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

22 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I hope your mother’s (and your car’s) recovery is swift Judith. I look forward to your review of My Soul To Take

    Have a fab reading week!

  2. Joanna says:

    Goodness Judith, what a week. A speedy recovery to your mum and hope the car gets fixed soon.

    That Iceland mystery sounds great. I’ll be checking that one out. Enjoy the current week’s reads.

  3. vicki (skiourophile / bibliolathas) says:

    Oh dear. But things must improve. (I really enjoyed the fake auction catalogue book I see above – the name is too long for me to remember, A very quirky way to tell a story.)

  4. Hope this week will treat you better🙂 Enjoy your reading!

  5. Laurie C says:

    Oh, boy! Good that you’re still smiling! I’m reading a bunch of books at once right now, too, and need to concentrate on finishing one or two of them soon! Just started Life after Life by Kate Atkinson and have no idea what’s going on yet. Also reading two memoirs — The Choke Artist and The World’s Strongest Librarian — which I am enjoying. Hope you get your wheels back soon and that your mom gets her mobility back too!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Life After Life is one I wanted to read too, Laurie. Hope you catch on to the story soon. The World’s Strongest Librarian sounds fun too.

  6. Marie says:

    Oh, Judith – what a week, why do these things always seem to happen at the same time? I hope you can get your car sorted out soon to make it easier for you to be there for your mother. Take care and enjoy your reading. Yrsa Sigurdardottir is at the top of my wishlist.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Marie. Yes, the bad things seem to add up a little this week. I’m sure it gets better… eventually!🙂

      I can certainly recommend the Icelandic mystery. It’s very good!

  7. My Soul To Take sounds good! You have had a week!!!! Keep smiling!

  8. bibliosue says:

    Best wishes to your mom for a speedy recovery – and I hope this week is much better for you🙂

  9. Jennifer says:

    Oh my word, what a week! I hope things look up for you and yours QUICKLY! I hope your mom has a fast recovery and isn’t in a lot of pain.

    I’ll cross my fingers that this is a much better week for you🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      My mom isn’t in any pain, luckily – she says she hasn’t felt any pain even when she fell! She hopes to spend as little time as possible in the convalescence home.

  10. Charlie says:

    Gosh, you’re having a time of it. Glad to hear your husband is okay, that must have been quite scary. Hope your mum recovers soon. Considering everything you’ve had a very good reading week!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Charlie, I wasn’t aware of the accident until my husband walked in, said some general things and then mumbled something about being in a car crash. I was sure I didn’t hear correctly. As he was happily walking about I was never worried about his health.🙂

  11. Oh my goodness, you are having bad luck. Hips hurt, best wishes to your mother… Perhaps you’ll be able to read on the train?

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

