Bout of Books 7.0 Read-a-thon

Bout of Books

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 13th and runs through Sunday, May 19th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 7.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

This is my first time joining the Bout of Books read-a-thon. It’s a week-long read-a-thon, running from Monday May 13th 12.01 in the morning, to Sunday May 19th at night.

***

Time devoted to reading

I’ll be reading every day, lunchtimes, coffee times and in the evening.

My goals

I calculated how many books I read per week on average over the last 10 week: 3.6 books. That’s almost four. So, in a read-a-thon setting, I should be able to read a bit more. I’ll go for 5 books.

Books to read

This is my tentative list:

De laatkomer by Dimitri VerhulstA Trick I Learned from Dead Men by Kitty AldridgePoollicht by Jolanda LinschotenThe Thief by Fuminori NakamuraThe Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro

De laatkomer [The Late Arrival] by Dimitri Verhulst

A Trick I learned from Dead Men by Kitty Aldridge

Poollicht [Pole Light] by Jolanda Linschoten

The Thief by Fuminori Nakamura

The Perfume Collector Kathleen Tessaro

***

Updates

Monday

De laatkomer by Dimitri Verhulst

Number of pages read today: (page 5, the beginning of the book, to page 102=) 97 pages

Total number of pages I’ve read: 97 pages

Number of books I’ve read today: Ha ha! This is a very short one (140 pages) and I didn’t manage to even finish this one. Zero. 

Total number of books I’ve read: Zero

Books: De laatkomer [The Late Arrival] by Dimitri Verhulst

Comments:  I had great fun in the Twitter Chat, if it hadn’t been for that, I’d easily finished my book. But it was more fun than reading!

Tuesday

De laatkomer by Dimitri VerhulstIV by Arjen Lubach

Number of pages read today: 103-140 in De laatkomer =  37 pages plus 220 pages in IV by Arjen Lubach – page 7, the beginning of the book up to page 227)= 257 pages

Total number of pages I’ve read: 354 pages

Number of books I’ve read today: Finished one book today.

Total number of books I’ve read: 1

Books: De laatkomer [The Late Arrival] by Dimitri Verhulst [DONE], IV by Arjen Lubach

Comments: I did my volunteer work in the school library today and came across the Dutch book IV, that I have been wanting to read. I could not help myself and took it home. Started as soon as I finished my other book. In the evening I was distracted by the tv, the movie The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, which was good fun. At least I read A LOT more than Monday!

Wednesday

IV by Arjen Lubach Poollicht by Jolanda LinschotenThe Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro

Number of pages read today: pages 228 to 320 in IV by Arjen Lubach = 92 pages plus 52 pages in Poollicht [Dutch] by Jolanda Linschoten (pages 9-72) plus 74 pages in The Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro (pages 1-74) = 218 pages

Total number of pages I’ve read: 572

Number of books I’ve read today: Finished one book today.

Total number of books I’ve read: 2

Books: De laatkomer [The Late Arrival] by Dimitri Verhulst [DONE], IV by Arjen Lubach [DONE], Poollicht by Jolanda Linschoten; The Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro

Thursday

Poollicht by Jolanda LinschotenThe Perfume Collector by Kathleen TessaroA Trick I Learned from Dead Men by Kitty Aldridge

Number of pages read today: 71 pages in Poollicht [Dutch] by Jolanda Linschoten (pages 73-144) plus 413 pages in The Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro (pages 75-488) plus 21 pages in A Trick I Learned from Dead Men by Kitty Aldridge (from page 14, the beginning of the book to page 35) = 508 pages

Total number of pages I’ve read: 1080 pages

Number of books I’ve read today: Finished two books today.

Total number of books I’ve read: 4

Books: De laatkomer [The Late Arrival] by Dimitri Verhulst [DONE], IV by Arjen Lubach [DONE], Poollicht by Jolanda Linschoten [DONE]; The Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro [DONE], A Trick I Learned from Dead Men by Kitty Aldridge

Friday

A Trick I Learned from Dead Men by Kitty Aldridge

Number of pages read today: 175 pages in A Trick I Learned from Dead Men by Kitty Aldridge (pages 35-210)

Total number of pages I’ve read: 1255

Number of books I’ve read today: Finished one book today

Total number of books I’ve read: 5

Books: De laatkomer [The Late Arrival] by Dimitri Verhulst [DONE], IV by Arjen Lubach [DONE], Poollicht by Jolanda Linschoten [DONE]; The Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro [DONE], A Trick I Learned from Dead Men by Kitty Aldridge [DONE]

Saturday

The Thief by Fuminori Nakamura

Number of pages read today: 56 pages in The Thief by Fuminori Nakamura (from page 1 to 56) – almost nothing!! = 56 pages

Total number of pages I’ve read: 1311

Number of books I’ve read today: Hah! About a quarter of a not-so-big book!

Total number of books I’ve read: 5

Books: De laatkomer [The Late Arrival] by Dimitri Verhulst [DONE], IV by Arjen Lubach [DONE], Poollicht by Jolanda Linschoten [DONE]; The Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro [DONE], A Trick I Learned from Dead Men by Kitty Aldridge [DONE], The Thief by Fuminori Nakamura

Comments: I read hardly anything but had a great day. I went shopping in Amsterdam with a friend, followed by an evening with author Joe Dunthorne and 25 strangers, talking about his book Wild Abandon. 

Sunday – final day!

The Thief by Fuminori NakamuraDown the Darkest Road by Tami Hoag

Number of pages read today: 155 pages in The Thief by Fuminori Nakamura (from page 57 – 212, the end) plus 95 pages in Down the Darkest Road by Tami Hoag (from page 5-200) = 250 pages

Total number of pages I’ve read:  1561

Number of books I’ve read today: Finished one book today

Total number of books I’ve read: 6 [and a half]

Books: De laatkomer [The Late Arrival] by Dimitri Verhulst [DONE], IV by Arjen Lubach [DONE], Poollicht by Jolanda Linschoten [DONE]; The Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro [DONE], A Trick I Learned from Dead Men by Kitty Aldridge [DONE], The Thief by Fuminori Nakamura [DONE], Down the Darkest Road by Tami Hoag

***

Book spine poetry:

Spine Poetry

After a Starter For Ten,

The Uninvited Guests

Don’t Sing at the Table.

But Left Neglected,

They Replay Popular Music

With the Queen of the Big Time

I’ll be updating this list during the week and let’s see if I get to my five books!

Are you joining in?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

32 Responses to Bout of Books 7.0 Read-a-thon

  1. Isi says:

    wow
    I didn’t know this readathon, but I can’t join because exams at uni start in two weeks, so I’m not going to read very much.
    But I like the idea of a whole week of non-stop reading🙂

  2. love the cover of your first book! and i have the perfume collector on my TBR too🙂 have fun!

  3. Angie says:

    Good luck on the readathon.. I am excited to get started soon!!! 5 books is a good goal… I’ve seen people putting that they are going to read 12 and that is crazy!!

    Angie
    My bout of books goals

  4. Good luck with the read-a-thon. Once again it’s one I can’t participate in, this time because I’ll be on holidays (yes, I’m coming to Holland for a week) and expect to read a lot less than I usually do rather than more. Me and read-a-thons appear to exist in separate universes🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      You seem to be unlucky with read-a-thons, Marleen. But visiting the Netherlands will be great. Have a wonderful time. If you’re anywhere near Utrecht, and you (and I) have time, we could meet for a coffee.

  5. Laurie C says:

    These next three weeks are too busy for me to join in, but I’ve been seeing several posts about it lately, so it sounds like there’ll be a good crowd!

  6. Charlie says:

    Oo, fun! I would but this next week is likely to be particularly busy. I love the idea, though. Good luck!

  7. Roxanne says:

    Sounds good🙂 I would love to join one of those one day, but right now I need to worry about my studies!

  8. JoV says:

    This is really awesome Judith! I will be cheering you on!😉

  9. Good luck with getting everything done! This is my first time with Bout of Books!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Rebecca. It’s my first time too. So far, I haven’t read much yet, but I do enjoy the *idea* of the read-a-thon – and had fun with twitter chat.

  10. Angie says:

    I love your book spine poetry!! So fun!!!
    Angie
    My Book Spine Poetry Challenge Picture

  11. Your book spine poetry is awesome! And I’m so excited to find other bloggers in the Netherlands🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Kat. It was so nice to “discover” you at the twitter chat. I think I’ve found a whole new group of Dutch book bloggers – it’s amazing, there are so many!

  12. *waves* Hope you’ve had another good day reading today Judith! I know what you mean about the Twitter chats – once you’re in they’re really far too fun and frenetic to come away until it’s over (by which point you’re ready for a lie down with a stiff drink anyway!). Happy reading!

  13. Your doing great! Good luck today

  14. Sophia says:

    Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, aw I loved that film too. It’s loosely based on a book, though my stepfather read it and said he much preferred the film, so perhaps it’s not so great. Anyway, just wanted to stop by and say hi!

  15. 1080 pages, you’re totally kicking butt in this readathon! Hope that Friday is another good day for you🙂

  16. Your progress is amazing! So many books! I love the book spine poetry🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

