Weekly Reading Roundup

 

The week

No troubles this week! We got a replacement car while our car is being repaired. It’s a very small car, though, but it will do for the moment.

My husband persuaded me to book a sunny holiday: in a few weeks’ time I’ll be going to the Canary Islands (Spain, but to the left of North-Africa) for a week of reading in the sun. I think it’s rather indulgent – and scary! I’ve never been on holiday on my own.

I’ll be taking part in the Bout of Books read-a-thon. Rather than reading the whole time, I set myself a goal: to read one book more than normal. That way, I will read more than normally, but not all the time.🙂

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 6

I finished off a lot of books that I started the week(s) before.

NOS4A2 by Joe HillImportant Artifacts (etc.) by Leanne ShaptonThe Guilty One by Lisa BallantyneWild Abandon by Joe DunthorneThe Woman Who Went to Bed for a Year by Sue TownsendDigitale verleiding [Digital Seduction] by Maurits Kaptein

Click on the blue links to go to the review

NOS4A2 door Joe Hill. Horror about a man who abducts children to take them to his imaginary Christmasland. 5 stars

Important Artifacts and Personal Property from the Collection of Lenore Doolan and Harold Morris, Including Books, Street Fashion, and Jewelry by Leanne Shapton. The story of a divorce told in the form of an auction catalog. 4 stars

The Guilty One by Lisa Ballantyne [Review in Dutch]. An eight year old boy is found dead in a playground. His eleven year old friend is accused of the murder. Mystery, 5 stars.

Wild Abandon by Joe Dunthorne. Contemporary fiction about a family living at a commune. 3.5 stars

The Woman Who Went to Bed for a Year by Sue Townsend. Fun read about a woman who goes to bed when her twins leave for university. 4.5 stars

Digitale verleiding [Digital Seduction] by Maurits Kaptein. Non-fiction about ways in which websites may seduce us into buying their stuff in future. 4.5 stars

Books I’m reading

I’m taking part in the Bout of Books read-a-thon, and I hope to read these 5 books this week:

De laatkomer by Dimitri VerhulstA Trick I Learned from Dead Men by Kitty AldridgePoollicht by Jolanda LinschotenThe Thief by Fuminori NakamuraThe Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro

Reviews

The Dinner by Herman KochAmity & Sorrow by Peggy RileyStern by Thomas Heerma van Voss

The Dinner by Herman Koch. A re-read because of the interest in other countries for this book. Loved it even more than last time. 5 stars

Amity & Sorrow by Peggy Riley. A mother and her two daughters escape from a cult and end up at the farm of a man who does not want them there. 5 stars

Stern by Thomas Heerma van Voss [Dutch]. A school teacher is made redundant and thinks back on his relationships with friends, family and his pupils. 4.5 stars

*****

And further…

I posted an updated list of Dystopian novels for adults. Thanks for all who suggested books! On the basis of this list, Uncorked Thoughts is doing a dystopian challenge. Check it out!

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

16 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Joanna says:

    A holiday in the sun sounds lovely. I’ve been on one holiday by myself and I loved it, it’s my favourite holiday so far but it is hard to relax. I found myself constantly on the move. I think it’s more difficult to just sit still and be when you’re on your own but then you’ll have the company of all your books. Enjoy! Some interesting books as well.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Joanne, good to read that your holiday on your own was your favorite! I wasn’t sure whether to go for an active holiday or a quiet one. With this holiday I can take one or two organised day tours which I may do.

  2. Mystica says:

    Good luck with the holiday.

  3. Enjoy your time away Judith — bring a few good books and relax:)

  4. Charlie says:

    The holiday is a brilliant idea, good location to choose, too. What you’ve said to Joanna, that’s a good plan, day trips but with time to relax and do your own thing completely.

  5. Ow enjoy your holiday. I went on several holidays on my own and I do not really mind. I like the me time where I can do what I want🙂 I hope you will like it too in the sun with some nice books probably😉

    You read some interesting books and a few I want to read too. Good to read you liked them. Have a great week!!

  6. Ooh you have a couple of books there I want to read. The lucky part? My library has both.😀
    And a holiday on your own? Scary! But you’ll be able to relax which will be lovely.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Hannah, great that your library has the books – I love it when you look up a book and hey, they’ve got it, just like that! Happy reading!

  7. The Little Reader Library says:

    That is brave, I hope you enjoy it. I did holiday on my own when I was younger, but only in the UK, though I did spend a whole year abroad on my own teaching English, but then I made friends there. On to the books! You’ve read some fab ones, I’m glad you enjoyed The Guilty One, I thought that was a great read too. I have the Sue Townsend on my to be read pile. I thought Amity and Sorrow was great too. I’ll be interested in what you think of The Thief. Have a good week!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Lindsay, I guess when I’m on holiday I *will* enjoy it, but for now, it sounds a little scary.

      Good to hear that you loved The Guilty One and Amity and Sorrow, too. You should really try the Townsend book. It’s just a bit of fun.

  8. Good luck Judith with your Bout of Books. That’s very reasonable of you to just add one more book to your normal load🙂 Looks like you’ve had some good books in the last couple of weeks, lots of 5 star reviews. I am trying to read/listen to audiobooks more than normal but certainly not all the time. Hope you enjoy your reading this week and hope to hear from you soon.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Tanya, thanks for your comment. Yes, I’ve been lucky with my choice of books recently. I want to try some audiobooks soon, too. It seems a good way to “read” a book without having to sit still!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

