Quick Book Review: Schroder by Amity Gaige

Schroder by Amity GaigeThis book is a long letter from a man, Eric Kennedy, formerly known as Eric Schroder, to his wife Laura. But this is not one long boring letter. A lot of the book is the story of what happened when Eric took his small daughter on an unscheduled trip. Sometimes he refers to “you”, Laura, but in general this is merely a story as told by Eric.

Eric Kennedy has reinvented himself when he was 14. Having moved to the USA from Germany at the age of 9, he worked hard to get rid of his accent, and felt he needed an “old” name (with a hint of belonging to that family) to count in the American society. So, he dropped his German name, Schroder, and adopted the name Kennedy.

No one, not even his wife, know his real identity, or that he was born in Germany. Eric tells the story of how he met Laura, and the story he told her about his past. After he and Laura separate, he is only allowed to see his daughter Meadow every now and then. On one occasion, he decides to take her on a road trip and they keep going. Soon, the police are looking for them.

Beautifully written, but not a difficult read, actually quite a fast read for this kind of book. A very personal document about a father’s love for his daughter and how he is naive to think his wife would be fair in their child custody process. It’s also about Eric’s quest to become accepted as an American, neglecting his old father on the way.

Rating: 4.5

Number of pages: 272

First published: 2013

I got this book: bought it at the local book store

Genre: contemporary fiction

Have you read this book?

Did you enjoy it?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

6 Responses to Quick Book Review: Schroder by Amity Gaige

  1. Jennifer says:

    This sounds lovely Judith. I hadn’t heard of it before and I’m glad you’ve reviewed it!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jennifer, it’s newly out here in the Netherlands, I think, although I read it in English. We read it for my book group. I had heard of it, but I’m not sure I would have read it (i.e., known enough about it to pick it up), if it wasn’t for my book group.

  2. Charlie says:

    I wouldn’t mind reading this. I am surprised to hear it’s an easy read, considering the theme, but this makes it all sound quite unique.

  3. I’ve been eyeing this book for a few months now, I’d really like to read it. I love these kinds of stories, perhaps because they’re so emotionally involved and such a harrowing topic.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

