New Arrivals!

At the moment, I seem to be reading faster than that I’m getting new books. That’s good news, because the to-be-read pile has almost reached a 100 – I hope to be able to stay below that number, it sounds way too many as it is. Anyway, the new books….

Books I got for review

The Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro

The Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro

For review from Harper. I’m not sure why I asked for a review copy of this book. It’s one of those books where someone finds a letter/book/object and then digs in the past to reveal a secret. Been there, done it. BUT: I read this and it was fantastic!!! I devoured this book. Really good!

From the publishers: “Newlywed Grace Monroe doesn’t fit anyone’s expectations of a successful 1950s London socialite, least of all her own. When she receives an unexpected inheritance from a complete stranger, Madame Eva d’Orsey, Grace is drawn to uncover the identity of her mysterious benefactor.

Weaving through the decades, from 1920s New York to Monte Carlo, Paris, and London, the story Grace uncovers is that of an extraordinary women who inspired one of Paris’s greatest perfumers. Immortalized in three evocative perfumes, Eva d’Orsey’s history will transform Grace’s life forever, forcing her to choose between the woman she is expected to be and the person she really is.”

***

The Apple Orchard by Susan Wiggs

The Apple Orchard by Susan Wiggs (ebook)

Leslie of Under my Apple Tree reviewed this book and it sounded like something I might like too. So, I asked for it via Netgalley (ebook). It seems like a great summer read. Now, where is summer?

From the publishers: “Tess Delaney makes a living restoring stolen treasures to their rightful owners. People like Annelise Winther, who refuses to sell her long-gone mother’s beloved necklace—despite Tess’s advice. To Annelise, the jewel’s value is in its memories.

But Tess’s own history is filled with gaps: a father she never met, a mother who spent more time traveling than with her daughter. So Tess is shocked when she discovers the grandfather she never knew is in a coma. And that she has been named in his will to inherit half of Bella Vista, a hundred-acre apple orchard in the magical Sonoma town called Archangel.

The rest is willed to Isabel Johansen. A half sister she’s never heard of.

Against the rich landscape of Bella Vista, Tess begins to discover a world filled with the simple pleasures of food and family, of the warm earth beneath her bare feet. A world where family comes first and the roots of history run deep. A place where falling in love is not only possible, but inevitable.

And in a season filled with new experiences, Tess begins to see the truth in something Annelise once told her: if you don’t believe memories are worth more than money, then perhaps you’ve not made the right kind of memories.”

***

Books from the library

The Woman Who Went to Bed for a Year by Sue Townsend

The Woman Who Went to Bed for a Year by Sue Townsend

From the writer of the Adrian Mole books, a book about a mother of 17 year old twins, who has been wanting a break from it all since they were born. Now is her chance. This sounded great fun – and it was (I already read the book).

From the back of the book: “The day her twins leave home, Eva climbs into bed and stays there. For seventeen years she’s wanted to yell at the world, ‘Stop! I want to get off’. Finally, this is her chance.

Her husband Brian, an astronomer having an unsatisfactory affair, is upset. Who will cook his dinner? Eva, he complains, is attention-seeking. But word of Eva’s defiance spreads.

Legions of fans, believing she is protesting, gather in the street, while her new friend Alexander, the white-van man brings tea, toast and an unexpected sympathy. And from this odd but comforting place, Eva begins to see both herself and the world very, very differently.”

***

Books I bought

The Twelve by Justin Cronin

The Twelve by Justin Cronin

I read (and loved) The Passage, so I am very keen to read the next instalment of this trilogy. They had this book for the price of a magazine in my favorite UK supermarket.

From the publisher: “The epic story of THE PASSAGE continues. Death-row prisoners with nightmare pasts and no future. Until they were selected for a secret experiment. To create something more than human. Now they are the future and humanity’s worst nightmare has begun.

***

Have you read any of these books? Which of these would appeal to you?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

27 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. Jennifer says:

    I haven’t read any of these but The Apple Orchard has been garnering some good buzz lately. I’m curious about it🙂 Hope you love all of your new books!

  2. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I definitely want to read The Woman Who Went to Bed for a Year… I fully sympathise since my oldest turns 17 on Tuesday!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ha ha, Shelleyrae, please take your computer with you to bed! We don’t want to miss out on your blogposts. Yes, I do think you’ll enjoy this book.

  3. Leslie says:

    Hope you enjoy Apple Orchard. I’d probably like The Passage, but it’s one of those chunky books I keep skipping over and waiting for when I have more time… which never happens!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, The Passage isn’t even a very fast read, I found – but it’s really a book that you should read. I know you’ll love it!

  4. bibliosue says:

    I don’t have kids, but I’m sure I could relate to The Woman Who Went to Bed for a Year — I definitely feel like doing that some days …..

  5. Isi says:

    The Woman Who Went to Bed for a Year is being a great success in Spain, but I still don’t have a copy. Hope you like it.
    And I also wonder: where is the summer? here we also have winter temperatures, it’s unbelievable!! Anyway, I have a lot to study for my exams, so I really don’t care about it (but I will care in june, hehe).

    And how can you be reading faster than getting new books? I think you are the only case in the whole world!!😀

    • Leeswammes says:

      I had never heard of The Woman Who Went to Bed…, Isi. So, maybe not so popular here in the Netherlands.

      I keep track of how much I still have on the to-be-read pile, Isi, and lately it’s gone down slightly, even with the new books coming in. So that’s good.

      Good luck with the exams!

  6. I placed the perfume collector on my wishlist, maybe because it sounds interesting and also, I loved Suskind’s Perfume🙂

  7. harvee says:

    Isn’t fun to see what new books are out there? I featured The Perfume Collector yesterday, one of the historical novels on my shelf. Happy reading!

  8. JoV says:

    I grew up with Adrian Mole and wonder about Sue Townsend other books. I have Passage with me, would be keen to hear what you think about twelve!

  9. patgarcia says:

    Hi,
    Thanks for the recommendations.
    Ciao,
    Patricia

  10. Laurie C says:

    Oh, I’m glad someone mentioned Adrian Mole. I KNEW I knew Sue Townsend’s name from somewhere! I will definitely have to read The Woman Who, etc. The only one of your list I’ve already read is The Twelve. My verdict=not as gripping as The Passage, but a good set-up for Book 3!

    • Leeswammes says:

      That’s what I’ve heard before, Laurie, The Twelve not quite as strong as The Passage. Still, I’ll love to be immersed in that same world again.

  11. JannyAn says:

    I think The Perfume Collector would be my choice. Reminds me of Rules of Civility bij Amor Towles. Did you read it? If so, is there a similarity?

  12. Charlie says:

    I like The Perfume Collector’s cover, and I think with what you’ve said about it being good with the average narrative, it’s more appealing. Hope you enjoy the rest of them, too!

  13. mpartyka says:

    Oh, I have seen The Perfume Collector around, I should look at it! I love to learn while reading and know nothing about perfume, I hope it’s a good story and an occasion to learn.

    I’m confined for a few days, so hoping to get caught up on several things. I wish I had this much time… always!

    Have a lovely day Judith.

  14. Nish says:

    I know I should read Justin Cronin…heard so many great things about The Passage.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

