Weekly Reading Roundup

 *****

The week

I’ve been taking part in the Bout of Books read-a-thon and I read a lot! Except on Saturday… I went out with my friend, shopping in Amsterdam – first to Marks & Spencer’s (an English department store with one  store in the Netherlands), where I bought some of my favorite English foodies (egg custards, scones and carrot & coriander soup). Then we had dinner (fish & chips) in an Irish Pub and thereafter we went to Waterstone’s (an English bookstore with one store in the Netherlands) – it opened especially for the people attending the book group that we were going to. For the first hour there were just a very few of us, browsing the shelves (I bought one book – I was good) and then more people arrived. The book group meeting was part of a big organisation of 30 authors each meeting 25 readers at different locations in Amsterdam. We had a great meeting with Joe Dunthorne, writer of Wild Abandon and the recently-made-into-a-movie Submarine

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 6

De laatkomer by Dimitri VerhulstA Trick I Learned from Dead Men by Kitty AldridgePoollicht by Jolanda LinschotenThe Thief by Fuminori NakamuraThe Perfume Collector by Kathleen TessaroIV by Arjen Lubach

De laatkomer [The Late Arrival] by Dimitri Verhulst [Dutch]. To escape his domineering wife, a man pretends to have Alzheimer’s and moves into a care home. 4.5 stars

A Trick I Learned From Dead Men by Kitty Aldridge. A young man works as an assistant-undertaker and finds his life around him falling to pieces. 5 stars

Poollicht [Polar Light] by Jolanda Linschooten [Dutch]. Non-fiction travelogue about trips to artic areas. 4 stars

The Thief by Fuminori Nakamura. A pickpocket gets involved with a mafia-type individual, against his wishes. 5 stars

The Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro. A beautiful historical fiction story about a woman who inherits a lot of money from a woman she doesn’t know. She investigates. 5 stars

IV by Arjen Lubach [Dutch]. A young woman investigates something her father was working on when he was killed. 5 stars

Books I’m reading & planning to read

Down the Darkest Road by Tami HoagThe Apple Orchard by Susan WiggsHet laatste land [The Last Land] by Threes AnnaHet grijze gebeid [The Gray Area] by Goran Tribuson

Reviews

Wild Abandon by Joe DunthorneSchroder by Amity GaigeVrij spel by Carlijn Vis

Wild Abandon by Joe Dunthorne. Contemporary fiction about a family living at a commune. 3.5 stars

Schroder by Amity Gaige. A divorced man wants to see more of his little daughter and takes her on an unscheduled holiday, after which he is wanted for kidnapping. 5 stars

Vrij spel [Free Game] by Carlijn Vis. Historical novel about a woman who fled the Netherlands in WWII and her adventures in order to get to England. 4 stars

 

*****

And further…

Some new books that I recently got.

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

20 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Mystica says:

    The Apple Orchard cover looks so pretty!

  2. You have done a lot of reading during Bout of Books. Hope you have a great week with your books!

  3. The perfume collector sounds really nice, you haven’t reviewed it yet, have you?
    And yeah! Marks& Spencers is back in Amsterdam!

    Have a great week,
    kind regards,

  4. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Sounds like you enjoyed a fun event and a successful shopping trip!

    Have a great week (and I hope your mother is doing well)

  5. Leslie says:

    Sounds like you had a fun day! And all those books look great. I’m in audiobook mode right now while I’m trying to get the garden planted.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, lucky you! We’ve had a lot of rain, i.e., weeds, but not much time/interest/dry weather to work in the garden. Maybe I should find myself a great audiobook – I’ll probably use any excuse to work in the garden, then!

  6. Jennifer says:

    The Perfume Collector is getting a lot of good reviews, I’m going to have to check it out🙂 Have a great week!

  7. bibliosue says:

    Your Amsterdam adventure sounds like fun …. hopefully something similar will come up in late November/early December? 😉 Have a great week!

  8. I was a bit cheaty with Bout of Books and read lots of short ebooks. But you had a really good week!

  9. Charlie says:

    That’s a book a day then? And I didn’t know there was an M&S or Waterstones outside the UK, that’s pretty cool. I guess they’re more successful than thought (I’m always worried Waterstones will go the way of Borders). The book group event sounds great fun!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Charlie, it was close to a book a day, but most of them were short!

      Yes, there used to be an M&S in the Netherlands (and further abroad) but they were discontinued because of inclement sales. But… now they’re back! Lots of great foods and a different formula for clothes – they have some samples in store, but you have to order online (via a shop assistant, or by yourself).

  10. Ooh you have an M&S over there? Way cool. Love M&S.

    Do you know if De laatkomer is available in English? Sounds really good. Looks like you’ve had a week of great books. Love when that happens.

  11. Shan says:

    I was hoping to find the Lubach or the Verhulst novel at my library but they weren’t there. Have you read Verhulst’s “Madame Verona Comes Down the Hill?” (I think that’s the exact title), it’s at the library but I’m not sure if it’s something I would enjoy.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shan, no, those are quite new books and not translated (let’s hope: Not translated YET). I don’t know the book you mentioned, I’ve only read one other book by Verhulst. Try it!

  12. Alison Hood says:

    Hi, I would love to know the secret of how you read so many books each week? As I feel there are so many books but solo little time, what’s your secret?

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

