It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and are planning to read next.

*****

The week

I was busy last week! I bought some clothes and a bag for my holiday at the Canary Islands (I’m leaving coming Sunday) – it was quite a search for the things I wanted, and I think I’ve got one or two other items left on my shopping list. The summer hasn’t started here in the Netherlands so this is the first time I’ve been interested in buying summer clothes this year.

I invigilated at some of the exams at my sons’ secondary school (exams for 17 and 18 year olds that will be leaving school). It’s rather brain dead work to sit and check whether nobody cheats. They never do, of course, it would be severely punished. The only people cheating are the teachers by not keeping to the (strict) rules. So annoying.

Then this weekend I went to Business Bootcamp. I would like to finally make a start as a freelance editor and hoped this would give me the push to really get going. I think it did, only now I’m unsure about the exact form the business should take: just editing? Offer also to help people find a publisher? Etc.

Anyway, I learned a lot, was taken WAY out of my comfort zone, learned how the organisers got 1200 people (yes, there were that many of us) to sign up for a weekend course without any advertising/marketing, and how to get 1200 people quiet within a very short time. I high-fived half the day, said “Yeah” a hundred times, danced on my chair and gave people next to me a neck and shoulder massage. Eek! If I’d known all this in advance, I may not have come. But still, it was worth my weekend while, I think.

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 2

Down the Darkest Road by Tami HoagHet laatste land [The Last Land] by Threes Anna

Down the Darkest Road [Review in Dutch] by Tami Hoag. Thriller, 5 stars. A man who is suspected of kidnapping a girl years ago, has now moved to the same town as the girl’s mother and sister.

Het laatste land [The Last Land] by Threes Anna. A post-apocalyptic novel about an island that becomes isolated from the rest of the world and how the inhabitants try to survive. 5 stars

Books I’m reading & planning to read

The Apple Orchard by Susan WiggsA Tale for the Time Being by Ruth OzekiHet grijze gebeid [The Gray Area] by Goran Tribuson

Reviews

A Trick I Learned from Dead Men by Kitty AldridgeThe Thief by Fuminori NakamuraThe Perfume Collector by Kathleen TessaroIjsland (Iceland) by Ronald Giphart

A Trick I Learned From Dead Men by Kitty Aldridge. A young man works as an assistant-undertaker and finds his life around him falling to pieces. 5 stars

The Thief by Fuminori Nakamura. A pickpocket gets involved with a mafia-type individual, against his wishes. 5 stars

The Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro. A beautiful historical fiction story about a woman who inherits a lot of money from a woman she doesn’t know. She investigates. 5 stars

IJsland [Iceland] by Ronald Giphart [Review in Dutch]. A comedian and his colleagues goes on a trip to Iceland. 4.5 stars

 

*****

And further…

It’s almost time for the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop again!!! Are you participating? Sign up here if you want to give away a book via your blog and join up with other blog.

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

43 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Uniflame says:

    I like how these posts have become more personal🙂 I think I might want to read the last land as well🙂

  2. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I hope you have a fabulous time in the Canary Islands Judith! I’m shivering here in single digit temperatures and its not even winter yet!
    Good lick with establishing your business too – I know you will do great!

    Have a fab reading week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

    • Leeswammes says:

      Sorry to hear the weather is not so good now, Shelleyrae! On the other hand, when you were too hot, we were too cold, so now the tables are turned!

  3. Heldinne says:

    i’ve just started part III in the Chocolat Trilogy by Joanne Harris: Peaches for Mr le Curé.

  4. Sounds like an interesting week you had. Good luck with working out the business bootcamp ideas!

    Have a great week!!

  5. BookerTalk says:

    that sounds a very unusual course – 1200 people is a huge group to try and get everyone engaged and feeling they got value out of it.

    • Leeswammes says:

      It certainly is, BookerTalk, but it worked quite well. It is (obviously) very well organised and people are asked questions every few minutes (e.g., Do you want to know how to do X? Or, That’s clear, right?) and so everyone shouts “Yes!”. A clever way to keep people engaged.

  6. Melinda says:

    You had a good reading week! Looking forward to your thoughts on The Apple Orchard

  7. Mystica says:

    The Apple Orchard is still not available in the Melbourne libraries though other books by this author are. Going to pick another one of her books.

  8. Ruth says:

    Hope you have a good reading week. I’ve not heard of Down the Darkest Road and it looks like it could be a good read, thanks for that.

  9. readerbuzz says:

    Good luck with your new career plans!

    Here’s my It’s Monday!

  10. Having recently read a Susan Wiggs book, I’m drawn to The Apple Orchard. Hope you enjoy your week…and here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  11. Shan says:

    I think that conference would put me out of my comfort zone too! Hope you have a wonderful vacation. The book by Threes Anna sounds good, unfortunately it’s not at my library so I’ll have to go check the bookstore.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shan, the book by Threes Anna isn’t translated as far as I know. You really have to learn (more) Dutch – swear words only won’t be enough!

  12. Kathy Martin says:

    Summer hasn’t arrived here yet either. I’m still wearing the winter clothes. Have a great trip! I am curious about The Perfume Collector and will have to look for that one. Come see my Monday Report. Happy reading!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I don’t know your bookish taste, Kathy, but I think a lot of different readers will enjoy The Perfume Collector. Have a look out for it!

  13. I will be looking into The perfume collector, it sounds great. Have great fun on your holiday and of course: good luck for both your sons doing their exams (I know all about it!🙂 )

    Have a great reading week,
    kind regards,

  14. How exciting Boot Camp and a vacation!! I hope you have a great time!

  15. Vasilly says:

    I hope you enjoy A Tale for the Time Being. It’s one of my favorite reads of the year. A Trick I Learned from Dead Men sounds like a book that I need to read. Good luck to your boys on their exams. Have a good week.

  16. Have a wonderful vacation. I’ve got The Apple Orchard to read this summer.

  17. Majanka says:

    Some great books here! A Trick I learned From Dead Men sounds intriguing. Enjoy your reads!

    My reads for this week.

  18. Charlie says:

    Sounds quite the ice-breaker conference! Interesting they managed to 1200 people, I’m guessing word-of-mouth? Just spend some time thinking about your skills and what you have to offer people, that’ll help you decide what services to provide🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Charlie, yes, the 1200 people all came because they heard from other people. The idea is: offer good value, then customers will be ambassadors and promote the business without them having to do any marketing.

  19. Laurie C says:

    Hope everyone’s passport is in order for the trip and that you all have a wonderful time! It sounds marvelous. With four 5-star reviews there, it looks like you’ve had a run of great reading!

  20. Athira says:

    That conference definitely sounds interesting! I will be curious to know what you decide about the freelancing direction to take.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Athira, I’ve been thinking about it a lot (the business), and I think I will offer some extras but not too many different things. It’s better to be an expert in one or two things than a Jack of all trades.

  21. Isi says:

    Hope you have a lovely holiday. I told you I were in Tenerife once and I liked very much!
    About your business in editing, hope you get a great sucess too, that’s so scary to start a new business, but who can be better than you in the books world?😀

    • Leeswammes says:

      Isi, obviously you are right: how can do this editing job better than me?🙂 I’ve decided to go for it, and now I just have to, don’t I?

  22. Rose Milligan says:

    Your book choices look good. I’m currently reading The Host by Stephenie Meyer and Anna Karenina by Tolstoy.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

