May Overview

In May, I read 16 books and I abandoned not even one. I read quite a few books for my Dutch blog, so that means fewer reviews on Leeswammes’ Blog. I’ve had two weeks in which I read very little, so the end result isn’t even all that bad.

Books that stood out:

The Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro. The story about a woman who inherits from a woman she didn’t know. She tries to find out why she is the heir.

The Guilty One by Lisa Ballatine. Contemporary fiction, Mystery. 5 stars. Could a 12-year old boy really have killed his 8-year old friend?

This is what I read

Click on the blue links to go to the review (as you can see, I still need to post a few reviews!).

N0S4A2 by Joe Hill. Fantasy. 5 stars

Important Artifacts […] by Leanne Shapton. Story in photos. 4 stars.

Wild Abandon by Joe Dunthorne. Contemporary fiction. 3.5 stars

The Woman Who Went to Bed for a Year by Sue Townsend. Contemporary fiction. 4.5 stars.

The Perfume Collector by Kathleen Tessaro. Historical fiction. 5 stars

A Trick I Learned from Dead Men by Kitty Aldridge. Contemporary fiction. 5 stars

The Thief by Fuminori Nakamura. Contemporary fiction. 5 stars

The Apple Orchard by Susan Wiggs. Contemporary fiction. 4 stars

 

***

Dutch blog:

Stern by Thomas Heerma van Voss. Contemporary fiction. 4.5 stars

De schuldige [The Guilty One] by Lisa Ballantyne. Mystery. 5 stars

Digitale verleiding [Digital Seduction] by Maurits Kaptein. Non-fiction. 4.5 stars

De laatkomer [The Late Arrival] by Dimitri Verhulst. Contemporary fiction. 4.5 stars

IV by Arjen Lubach. Mystery. 5 stars

Poollicht [Artic Light] by Jolanda Linschooten. Non-fiction. Travel. 4 stars

De donkerste weg [Down the Darkest Road] by Tami Hoag, Thriller. 5 stars

Het laatste land [The Last Land] by Threes Anna. Post-apocalyptic. 5 stars.

***

I’m keeping it short this time. As you can see, quite a few 5 stars! I’m getting good at judging books by their covers!🙂

What was YOUR favorite book in April?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

13 Responses to May Overview

  1. Book Blather says:

    My favourite book in April was probably one I actually finished June 1st – The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey, YA sci-fi.🙂

  2. I read A Trick I Learned from Dead Men and The Thief, but although I enjoyed both, neither wowed me. You read an impressive number of books this month – I hope you have an equally successful June,

  3. Jennifer says:

    Nice month! I think my favorite fiction book in May was A Constellation of Vital Phenomena. Powerful read.

    I hope you have a fantastic June🙂

  4. Charlie says:

    You need to write a post about your technique in choosing good books🙂 I remember you saying you had developed a knack for it, and now with this choosing them by their covers, it’s pretty awesome. My favourite was a YA, Dare You To.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Charlie, I just look at the cover: it has to appeal. If not, points deducted before I even start reading the description (and sometimes I don’t even do that). Then if the description is same-old same-old OR very unfeasible it’s more points deducted. If it looks OK or wonderful, add up with points from cover et voila! Oh, and many points needed before I accept if it’s self-published. Sorry, it works that way for me!🙂

  5. What a wonderful month you had Judith. I want to read –N0S4A2 by Joe Hil, but it is rather thick so I have to wait as I am reading Under the Dome (1,000+) pages plus a few others:)

    Hope you week is going well.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Diane, the Joe Hill book is rather big and not a fast read (not slow, but I’m not saying you’ll finish it in a few days). Take your time, but I bet you’ll enjoy it.

  6. I just can’t wait to read The Perfume Collector. It’s a beautiful book, too, so it’s calling out to me from my shelves.🙂

  7. Perfume Collector sounds beautiful. My favorite reads for May were Girl with A Pearl Earring, The Geography of Bliss and The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott. All were 4* for very different reasons but learned/appreciated something out of each one.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

