Weekly Reading Roundup

*****

The week

A late “Monday” post this week, as I arrived from my holiday in Tenerife early this morning. I read a decent amount, but wasted a bit of time reading half of The Twelve by Justin Cronin, before abandoning it. Actually, I did sort-of liked the beginning, but after 350 pages I was getting rather bored.

I read a lot at the pool side, under a parasol on a lounger. The good life! I also did the Spanish lessons offered by the hotel (very low-key, but fun) and aquafit in the pool. Other things I did – going shopping (bottled water in particular), going on walks, spending a few hours at the hotel spa, and I did two organised tours. One around the island of Tenerife, and one to the centre of the island, to visit a volcano. Both were really good tours.

Now, I know people love to see pictures, especially with a blogger in them, so, OK, here’s the sea side near my hotel, the volcano, and myself near a large cactus plant.

 Foto_Ten2Foto_Ten3Foto_Ten1

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 3 and a DNF

Big Brother by Lionel ShriverPerfect People by Peter JamesThe Twin by Gerbrand BakkerThe Twelve by Justin Cronin

These books were 4.5 stars, 4.5 stars, 5 stars and DNF, respectively.

Books I’m reading & planning to read

Perfect by Rachel JoyceThe Tea Rose by Jennifer DonnellyThe Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer

Reviews

My Soul to Take by Yrsa SigudardottirThe Woman Who Went to Bed for a Year by Sue TownsendDigitale verleiding [Digital Seduction] by Maurits KapteinIV by Arjen Lubach

My Soul To Take by Yrsa Sigurdardóttir. Thriller from Iceland. 5 stars

The Woman Who Went to Bed for a Year by Sue Townsend. A fun read with serious undertones. 5 stars

Digitale verleiding [Digital Seduction] by Maurits Kaptein. Non-fiction about how online consumers are lured into buying things. 5 stars

IV by Arjen Lubach. A mystery in the Netherlands. 5 stars

*****

And further…

It’s almost time for the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop again!!! Are you participating? Sign up here if you want to give away a book via your blog and join up with other blog. Almost 40 people have signed up so far.

Check out my May overview HERE.

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

30 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Oww that looks and sounds good. Swimming pool lounger…
    Have a great recovery week😉

  2. Sounds like a great time Judith!

  3. Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader says:

    Those photos are gorgeous, thanks for sharing them🙂 Sounds like you had a marvelous time, except for that DNF😉

    Have a great week Judith, happy reading!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jennifer, yes, I had a great time. The DNF was OK up to a point. I think I had been bored fot about 100 pages when I gave up. So not a complete loss.

  4. That looks like a lovely trip!

  5. De theeroos is great Summer reading!
    And as my grandmother always says ‘Er is geen beter leven dan een goed leven’, (there is no better life than a good life) and this is very true when I read about your lovely holiday. I hope you came back well rested etc.

    Have a good week,
    kind regards,

  6. You seem to have had a lovely time!🙂

  7. Love the photos! Glad you had a nice trip!

  8. Isi says:

    Ohh what a shame you have found The twelve boring!! I have been looking forward to reading it since I finished The passage, and at last it will be released in Spain in autumn… And I really want to love it!!

    Well, let’s talk about your holidays! I didn’t know you can take language lessons at hotels, hehee, you seem to do a lot of things. I also was in the Teide when I went to Tenerife, and the volcanic beaches with the grey sand were beautiful.

    I’m so jealous, I have to say😉

    • Leeswammes says:

      Isi, I’d saved The Twelve especially for my holidays so it was a real disappointment.

      The language lessons were organised via the animacion team – just a Dutch woman who does the aquafit, the table tennis, and the other entertainment. She has been in Spain for several years and does a 30-45 minute Spanish class every day for hotel guests. There were between 2-5 people attending when I was there. Just the simple things like ordering in a restaurant, how to say your name and ask where someone is from, etc.

      I want to take proper Spanish lessons some time, because we always seem to end up in Spain for our holidays!🙂

  9. Leslie says:

    Ahhh, sit by the pool and relax… sounds wonderful to me. Glad to see you had a good time and read three good books.

  10. Laurie C says:

    Sounds like a wonderful holiday! I was disappointed in The Twelve compared to The Passage, too, but stuck it out till the end and thought the beginning and end were better than the middle. I really missed some of the characters from the first book, who were either completely gone from the story or seemed to be playing a more minor role. I felt as though much of the second book was set-up for the third!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Laurie, I had no patience to sit through till the end of The Twelve, but I’m glad it was worth your while. I actually gave the book away at the hotel where I was so I can’t even continue!🙂

  11. Charlie says:

    Good to see your photos and hear about the holiday. Putting The Twelve down sounds a good idea, considering how long it is you gave it a lot of time and you don’t want to be bored when on holiday.

  12. Uniflame says:

    I read perfect people too. Kinda creepy but good!

  13. Suzanne says:

    I am late to comment but Welcome Home and I am glad to hear you had a nice relaxing holiday. The weather looked perfect!

  14. Gezz Judith, you are in for some very different reads. Honestly, they all look good.

  15. lomaurice says:

    Your vacation sounds amazing. We visited Tenerife several years ago. I brought home a vial of the black sand. I showed it to the grandkids today. Told them it’s because of the volcano. I had heard the Cronin was disappointing. Glad you had other books on your trip.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

