It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and are planning to read next.

*****

The week

It’s the week of the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop!!! More than 40 blogs are giving away books, and YOU can win them! Have a look here. Happy hopping!

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 2 and a DNF

Het grijze gebied [The Gray Area] by Goran TribusonDe prins van Filettino [The Prince of Filletino] by Geert KimpenThe River by Tricia Wastvedt

Het grijze gebied [The Grey Area] by Goran Tribuson. A mystery novel taking place in Croatia. 4 stars

De prins van Filettino [The Prince of Filettino] by Geert Kimpen. Novel based on the real story of a mayor in Italy declaring his village to be independent from Italy and Europe. 4 stars

The River by Tricia Wastvedt. Historical fiction, beautifully written, but told in fragments. DNF

Books I’m reading & planning to read

The Aftermath by Rhidian BrookDelete by Julltje van den NieuwenhofSomeone Else's Wedding by Tamar CohenLife After Life by Kate Atkinson

Reviews

The Dog Stars by Peter HellerPerfect People by Peter JamesThe Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer


The Dog Stars by Peter Heller. Post-apocalyptic novel about a man living in a brutal world. 5 stars

Perfect People by Peter James. A couple want a designer baby but don’t quite get what they asked for. 4.5 stars

The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer. A young man in a psychiatric institution writes down how he got there and what his life is like now. 4.5 stars (review in Dutch)

*****

Now, before you go… check out the Giveaway Blog Hop. You might win a book or two!

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

24 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    I’ve done a bit of hopping, thanks Judith!

  2. Mystica says:

    As usual you have a nice mailbox. I;ve gone to several blogs on the blog hop.

  3. Someone Elses Wedding looks interesting!

  4. Charlie says:

    The Kimpen sounds interesting, not simply just away from the country but the continent as well, and I’m intrigued by Someone Else’s Wedding!

  5. I read your review of The prince of Filettino, and I quite liked it. The Kate Atkinson sounds intriguing, I am curious to see how you like it.
    Blog hop is going great, isn’t it?

    Have a great week & kind regards,

  6. I still want to read Life After Life (the Kate Atkinson one); love the cover on yours.

    And I’m curious about The Aftermath.

    Thanks for visiting my blog…and you’re right about the cover of the JCO book…but I’m actually enjoying it. It is the only book I’ve read by this author that revealed her vulnerabilities, fears, etc. Which makes sense, being a memoir.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Laurel-Rain, I think the US cover of Life After Life is extremely boring. Here in the Netherlands the publisher asked people in facebook to choose the cover for the translation – the US cover, the UK cover, or one other one (maybe Canadian?) which I liked even more.

  7. Enjoy your week Judith! I still like the looks on De prins van Filettino🙂

  8. harvee says:

    All new books to me. The River has a captivating cover.

  9. Diana Leigh says:

    I have Life After Life on my eReader. I’ve seen great reviews for it! Hope you enjoy. Here’s my POST. Happy Reading!

  10. Lucybird says:

    oooh oooh oooh you’re reading Life After Life. It’s been my favourite book of the year so far

  11. I just love looking at all the book covers. Seems like everyone is sharing such gorgeous book covers today!

  12. jo says:

    The cover of The River looks interesting.

  13. Athira says:

    I’m looking forward to hearing what you think of Life After Life. I had to return that one to the library without finishing it but I hope to read it sometime soon.

  14. Lindsey says:

    Life After Life is amazing. I hope you enjoy it, along with the rest of your books this week!

  15. The River looks good. Love the cover.

    ENJOY your week.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My It’s Monday, What Are You Reading

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

