June Overview

In June, I read 17 books of which 7 were for my Dutch blog. I didn’t like everything I read. In fact, there were four books that I didn’t finish. That is rather a lot. Three of them I was looking forward to reading, so it wasn’t that I chose the books wrongly.

Books that stood out:

While I loved some of the books I read, the books that stood out most, were the ones that I did not finish. The Twelve especially was a book I expected to really enjoy, after reading The Passage by the same writer. Life After Life I expected to enjoy because of the topic, but unfortunately, I didn’t. Two real disappointments!

This is what I read

The Tea Rose by Jennifer DonnellyThe Dog Stars by Peter HellerBig Brother by Lionel ShriverPerfect People by Peter JamesPerfect by Rachel Joyce

The Aftermath by Rhidian BrookFrequent Traveller by Pandora PoikilosThe River by Tricia WastvedtLife After Life by Kate AtkinsonThe Twelve by Justin Cronin

Click on the blue links to go to the review (as you can see, I still need to post a few reviews!).

The Tea Rose by Jennifer Donnelly. 5 stars

The Dog Stars by Peter Heller. 5 stars

Big Brother by Lionel Shriver. 4.5 stars

Perfect People by Peter James. 4.5 stars

Perfect by Rachel Joyce. 4.5 stars

The Aftermath by Rhidian Brook. 4.5 stars

Frequent Traveller by Pandora Poikilos. DNF

The River by Tricia Wastvedt. DNF

Life After Life by Kate Atkinson. DNF

The Twelve by Justin Cronin. DNF

***

Dutch blog:

The Twin by Gerbrand BakkerA Tale for the Time Being by Ruth OzekiThe Shock of the Fall by Nathan FilerDe prins van Filettino [The Prince of Filletino] by Geert KimpenHet grijze gebied [The Gray Area] by Goran TribusonNooit alleen [Never Alone] by Loes den HollanderDelete by Julltje van den Nieuwenhof

Boven is het stil [The Twin] by Gerbrand Bakker. 5 stars

Een tijdelijke vertelling [A Tale for the Time Being] by Ruth Ozeki. 4.5 stars

De schok van de val [The Shock of the Fall] by Nathan Filer. 4.5 stars

De prins van Filettino [The Prince of Filettino] by Geert Kimpen. 4 stars

Het grijze gebied [The Gray Area] by Goran Tribuson. 4 stars

Nooit alleen [Never Alone] by Loes den Hollander. 4 stars

Delete by Juultje van den Nieuwenhof. 3.5 stars

***

What was YOUR favorite book in June?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

22 Responses to June Overview

  1. Leah says:

    Ooh I’m curious why you didn’t finish The Twelve. Is this book a follow up to The Passage? I enjoyed that book and I’ve been interested in reading the follow up to it.🙂

  2. Melinda says:

    May I ask what about Life after Life you didn’t enjoy? I am considering reading it

  3. TheGirlWhoKeepsReading says:

    Hi there! I’m looking forward to read your opinion about “The Tea Rose” and “A Tale for the Time Being”. These books have been on my wishlist for a long time now.
    Btw, great blog!

  4. Suzanne says:

    Oh I am sorry you didn’t enjoy Life After Life.That was probably my favorite book in June.

  5. You are a reading-machine:) So many of these are on my list.

  6. Nish says:

    Wooh…that’s a lot of books. Some very interesting ones also, must put them on my TBR list.

  7. Laura Caldwell says:

    Life After Life was my favorite June book.🙂

  8. lomaurice says:

    I also was terribly disappointed in LIFE AFTER LIFE. I thought it was actually a mess. People either love or hate it. My favorite book for June was THE SILENT WIFE by Harrison. Loved it. Surprise book.

  9. Charlie says:

    It’s weird when you find you don’t love a book you really expected to. Though it surely adds to your success in choosing in future. My favourite was The Iron Queen, which was unexpected.

  10. Wendy says:

    I still am a little jealous of how many books you manage to read in just a month: I can’t find the time to do so..

  11. Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader says:

    I also had quite a few less than stellar reads in June. It turned out to be a decent month though. Here’s to July! Onward and upward!

  12. Marie says:

    Oooh, I am very very curious to find out what you didn’t like about The Twelve and Life After Life! Two big titles that I am looking forward to reading. Will you be writing posts about them? Otherwise looks like a great reading month, some really tempting books on your list. Especially Big Brother.

  13. Shan says:

    Like you I really enjoyed The Aftermath and did not finish Life After Life. I’m reading The Twin right now, though I’m having a difficult time getting into it.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shan, I LOVED The Twin!!! Not at first, indeed it is a little hard to get into, but later on I really loved it. Hope it gets better for you.

  14. Isi says:

    OMG I can’t believe you didn’t finish The twelve. It will be launched in September in Spain and I really need to love it, the same as The passage. I don’t want to be disappointed, but now I’m afraid I will!!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Isi, before I started The Twelve, some other people mentioned it wasn’t as good as they expected. I could not imagine it, but yes, it’s not like The Passage.

  15. Sad you didn’t like Life After Life, but I think it’s great that you had the courage not to finish it. I’m really bad at finishing books I don’t like!

  16. Athira says:

    I couldn’t finish The Passage itself but that was mostly because of lack of time to read it. Still, it makes me feel a little better that you didn’t like The Twelve too much – I haven’t heard much good things about it.

  17. I read “The Passage”, but … it didn’t really do much for me; I think my expectations were larger. 🙂 Life After Life … it’s on a lot of “best books” lists … I haven’t really seen any reviews on the blogs I visit, though … wonder if THEY could finish it? 🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Julie, I’ve seen *Life after Life* on a few blogs and some people love it while others hate it. Yes, it’s one of those books. I guess if you’re interested in the book, you should just try it.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

