Weekly Reading Roundup

*****

The week

Last week, I helped with stock taking at the local library. I had great fun scanning books and checking them for notes and damage. I left the cleaning of the shelves to someone else and didn’t feel guilty one bit.

Otherwise it was a quiet week for me, only the children went to school at strange times as it was the last week before the holidays: they had a sport day and a debating day and a day at a theme park, etc.

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 3

If You Were Here by Alafair BurkeChildren of the Fog by Cheryl Kaye TardifSomeone Else's Wedding by Tamar Cohen

If You Were Here by Alafair Burke. Mystery, 3.5 stars.

Children of the Fog by Cheryl Kaye Tardif. Mystery, 3.5 stars.

Someone Else’s Wedding by Tamar Cohen. Contemporary fiction, 4 stars.

.

Books I’m reading & planning to read

De sleutel tot het familiegeheim [The Key to the Family Secret] by Luize ValenteA Virtual Love by Andrew BlackmanTo Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Reviews

Perfect by Rachel JoyceNooit alleen [Never Alone] by Loes den Hollander

Perfect by Rachel Joyce. Contemporary fiction. 4.5 stars

Nooit alleen [Never Alone] by Loes den Hollander. A short thriller about a woman with a mentallyunstable neighbor. 4 stars


*****

And also…

Here’s my June Overview with all the books I read in June.

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

30 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. I’m currently on holidays so hoping to get a lot of reading done! I adore To Kill A Mockingbird, hope you do too.

  2. Loved To Kill A Mockingbird! Lave a super week Judith!

  3. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    My kids are in the midst of school holidays so there isn’t a lot of reading time for me at the moment
    Treat yourself kindly this week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book ‘d Out

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shelleyrae, my kids have just started their holidays but they don’t me so much. I’m busy with other things and my reading has gone down quite a bit.

  4. Charlie says:

    I feel a bit sorry for the children here, it’s extreme summer here and they’re still at school for a few weeks. Hopefully it’ll be sunny again in August (because you never know). Hope you enjoy A Virtual Love!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Charlie, you can never tell with the weather. In fact, my sons prefer to sit inside the house, the silly boys! So they don’t need much sun.🙂

  5. I really liked reading your review for the new Rachel Joyce book, since I absolutely loved Harold Fry. So thanks for that!

    Have a great reading week & kind regards,

  6. Hmmm De sleutel tot het familiegeheim looks interesting… Have a great week with the kids home🙂 hope the weather keeps up!

  7. bibliosue says:

    I am still pondering joining the Readalong for To Kill a Mockingbird. It is so tempting.

  8. Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader says:

    TKAM is one of my all-time super-duper favorite books🙂 Is this your first time reading it? I hope you fall in love!

  9. Aman says:

    TO kill a mockingbird is a very good book, hope you enjoy it!

  10. Athira says:

    It’s been years since I read To Kill a Mockingbird. I need to read it again. Have a great week!

  11. Wendy says:

    Are you organising a TKAM-readalong? I’m just checking if it’s in on my shelves. Maybe I’ll join you, though I don’t have much time this weekend.😉

  12. Laurie C says:

    Good idea to take stock at the library! How organized! I guess we just keep circulating the books until we notice their condition is too poor to keep on doing so in our library!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Laurie, they have a special computer program so all the books are scanned and they the program checks which books there are and which are missing (but not borrowed). Indeed, we also look at the condition of the book at the same time.

  13. Yes! You should all join us for the read-along of To Kill a Mockingbird! The more the merrier! We’re starting July 15th and will end August 1st (so that’s when reviews/thoughts should go up from all the participants, or at least the last day by which to have finished the book).

    I’ll be posting a few times during the two-and-a-half week read-along, and then my official “Review” will go up on August 1st. So, feel free to copy that plan.🙂

  14. (Oh, I should add: The master post will go up on July 15th, which will have the scheduled posting dates – approximately 10 chapters per check-in).

  15. Tes says:

    I always love the selection of your books, and you read a lot🙂 I think I should read more.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

