Weekly Reading Roundup

*****

The week

Last week I had my first customers for my editing business! Unfortunately, in my enthusiasm, I planned them in a little too close, so that I’ve been working this weekend too (not full-time, luckily). I’ll know for next time!🙂

But isn’t that a good start? For some down-time I visited a nearby town with my friend to buy some Emma Bridgewater crockery. We’re both a little Emma Bridgewater mad. I bought two mugs that are not on the website so I can’t show them to you. I didn’t buy more than that, firstly because it’s quite expensive, and secondly, my friend and I like to hunt for great patterns in different shops.

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 3

De sleutel tot het familiegeheim [The Key to the Family Secret] by Luize ValenteA Virtual Love by Andrew Blackman

The Key to the Family Secret by Luize Valente. A Brazilian story about Jewish traditions in the Catholic inlands of the country. 4 stars

A Virtual Love by Andrew Blackman. A woman falls in love with a man that pretends to be a famous political blogger. 4.5 stars

Koplopers [Front Runners]. Thirteen real-life stories about people succeeding in business after taking part in a training program. Interesting and inspiring.

.

Books I’m reading & planning to read

Letter from Skye Jessica BrockmoleTo Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Reviews

Someone Else's Wedding by Tamar Cohen

Someone Else’s Wedding by Tamar Cohen. Contemporary fiction, 4 stars.

*****

And also…

Here is my New Arrivals post with the new books I received recently.

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

17 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Good luck with you editing business judith.

    Those Emma Bridgewater mugs are so nice – I love “different”.

  2. vicki (skiourophile / bibliolathas) says:

    I love Emma Bridgewater’s things – don’t see them very much in Australia, sadly, and I’m terrified about shipping things like that. Gorgeous!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Vivki, I’ve seen how they ship them and it’s very, very, very well packaged. I don’t know what happens if transporter people start to throw the boxes about, but if EB sends to Australia, I’m sure they are pretty certain that it will arrive safely.

  3. Shelleyrae says:

    Congrats on a great start to your business.
    I have never heard of Emma Bridgwater, I will have to browse

    Read on!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shelleyrae, I love the Emma Bridgewater ceramics. There aren’t many shops here in the Netherlands that sell it, so my friend and I make it a sport to visit some of them and discover new patterns.

  4. mpartyka says:

    I clicked on the link for the ceramics, can’t wait to take it all in. This is just my kind of thing🙂

    Congratulations on the business launch, so excited for you and I hope you have great success quickly!

    I think it will take a week or two to settle back into life but then I’m curious to see how my reading/blogging life changes. I have been so focused on the adventure and preparing for it that I haven’t had time to just exhale, relax, read.

    Have a fabulous week – I will be back to catch up on all posts🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, the ceramics is your kind of thing exactly, I think. Have fun browsing.

      It’s great to have you “back”, although maybe you’re actually further away from me in the US than in Kenya (I’m not sure). Will you be very busy with work again, or is there some time for reading and blogging? Have fun and I bet you’re thinking of a new adventure already!

  5. Corri says:

    Good luck with the editing! Dutch or English books or both??

  6. Curious what you will think of The Letters from Skye.

  7. bibliosue says:

    Congratulations on your new venture, Judith! I wish you every success and I know you will do a wonderful job for your clients.
    Sadly I clicked over to the Emma Bridgewater site and spent more time than I should have looking around. Lovely pieces!

  8. Laurie C says:

    How exciting to have your first customers! I’m reading When She Was Gone by Gwendolen Gross right now and liking it. Seems like you’ve had a string of good reads lately.

  9. Athira says:

    Congratulations on your first customers!! Don’t worry too much about having planned them too close. Too much work in the beginning always pays off in the long term!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

