Book Review: Children of the Fog by Cheryl Kaye Tardif

Children of the Fog by Cheryl Kaye TardifChildren of the Fog: What it is about

About the book“Sadie O’Connell is a bestselling author and a proud mother. But her life is about to spiral out of control. After her six-year-old son Sam is kidnapped by a serial abductor, she nearly goes insane. But it isn’t just the fear and grief that is ripping her apart. It’s the guilt. Sadie is the only person who knows what the kidnapper looks like. And she can’t tell a soul. For if she does, her son will be sent back to her in “little bloody pieces”.”

Children of the Fog: What I thought

At first, the book was OK, but nothing special. In fact, I didn’t find it very convincing: the way Sadie deals with the confrontation with the kidnapper, how she behaves afterwards – not giving the police a description of the kidnapper – and her grief for her missing son somehow didn’t feel right. But… when Sadie moves to an isolated place in the woods where she can be on her own, the story becomes creepy and more real to me.

That second part of the story I really enjoyed, with Sadie out in a cabin in the woods and seeing things that aren’t real. Every night she would see things outside her cabin (or even inside), but because she was drinking too much (to soften the loss of her son), she could not be sure they were real.

Although there was an element of the supernatural to this part, it seemed more believable, and I really enjoyed reading this. There were some unusual elements to the story that made this an interesting read.


Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars (OK to good)

Number of pages: 278

First published: 2011

I got this: I won this ebook from Inga at Me and Reading.

Genre: mystery, supernatural

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

4 Responses to Book Review: Children of the Fog by Cheryl Kaye Tardif

  1. Charlie says:

    Creepy premise for sure. I’m guessing what might happen in this one, and if so then I’d also guess the middle section is the best part.

  2. Tesney Ap says:

    Good review, Judith🙂 I try avoiding reading this kind of stories though. It always makes me worry sick about my kid.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Tes, yes, this was rather scary in that sense, but really you know these things don’t happen that often – I never thought about my own kids while reading it.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

