July Overview

In July, I read 14 books, but one I didn’t finish. That’s better than the month before, when I put four books aside.

Book that stood out:

I was glad I finally read To Kill a Mockingbird (as part of a read-a-long). I had this book on my shelves since Christmas, and had it on my wishlist for a long time before that. And it certainly didn’t disappoint.

This is what I read

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper LeeAfterwards by Rosamund LuptonA Virtual Love by Andrew BlackmanSomeone Else's Wedding by Tamar CohenLetter from Skye Jessica Brockmole
Songs for the Missing by Stewart O'NanThe Returned by Jason MottIf You Were Here by Alafair BurkeChildren of the Fog by Cheryl Kaye TardifI Am Max Lamm by Raphael Brous

Click on the blue links to go to the review (as you can see, I still need to post a few reviews!).

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Historical fiction, 5 stars.

Afterwards by Rosamund Lupton. Mystery, 4.5 stars.

A Virtual Love by Andrew Blackman. Contemporary fiction, 4.5 stars.

Someone Else’s Wedding by Tamar Cohen. Contemporary fiction, 4 stars.

Letters from Skye by Jessica Brockmore. Historical fiction, 4 stars.

Songs for the Missing by Stewart O’Nan. Contemporary fiction, 4 stars.

The Returned by Jason Mott. Science fiction, 4 stars.

If You Were Here by Alafair Burke. Thriller, 3.5 stars.

Children of the Fog by Cheryl Kaye Tardif. Thriller, 3.5 stars.

I am Max Lamm by Raphael Brous. Contemporary fiction, 3.5 stars.

***

Dutch blog:

Zomerhuis met zwembad by Herman KochDe sleutel tot het familiegeheim [The Key to the Family Secret] by Luize ValenteEuforie by Christiaan Weijts

Zomerhuis met zwembad [Summer House with Swimming Pool] by Herman Koch. Contemporary fiction, 4.5 stars.

De sleutel tot het familiegeheim [The Key to the Family Secret] by Luize Valente. Contemporary fiction, 4 stars.

Koplopers [Front Runners] by Open Circles (no picture). Business book, 4 stars.

Euforie [Euphoria] by Christiaan Weijts  DNF

***

Leave me a comment with a book you really enjoyed in July!

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

12 Responses to July Overview

  1. Nice month for books Judith. Enjoy August.

  2. bibliosue says:

    I just picked up Letters from Skye at the library yesterday. I’m looking forward to reading it based on your review!

  3. Nadine Nys says:

    I still haven’t read Zomerhuis met zwembad although I really want to. I am curious to know your thoughts about it.
    Enjoy your reading, Judith.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Nadine, I liked Zomerhuis a lot, but didn’t find it quite as strong as The Dinner. But… it had some really fun bits. The main character is a doctor who is happy to bend the rules, and that’s quick funny.

  4. Lovely month🙂 I don’t know if I can pick a fave for the month! That’s always so hard, lol.

  5. Karen says:

    Now I feel inadequate.LOL I thought I was doing exceptionally well having read six books in July. Not even half way to your total. Like the sound of the Blackman novel.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Karen, we all spend different amounts of times on the things we do. I read a lot, but don’t watch much tv, don’t go to the gym, etc. Six books is good!

  6. mpartyka says:

    You always amaze me with the amount of reading you do. I have read one, listened to one… all summer! I usually read 2-3 a month so this is an all time low but that’s okay.

    I’m reading The Interestings. Have you read it? It’s good but still in plot set up at page 100. It’s the book of the summer in the US but oddly I haven’t seen it on many blogs.

    Songs for the Missing is on my ipad. Looks like you enjoyed it, yeah!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, I’m having a lot of time to read, but I haven’t had the chance to climb any mountains recently. I guess it’s one or the other!🙂

      I don’t think I’ve heard of The Interestings. Indeed, not seen on (m)any blogs. I’m going to have a look now.

      Happy reading!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

