Joining the Bout of Books 8.0 Read-a-thon

Bout of Books readathon

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 19th and runs through Sunday, August 25th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 8.0 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

This will my second time joining the Bout of Books read-a-thon. It’s a week-long read-a-thon, running from Monday August 19th 12.01 in the morning, to Sunday, August 25th at night.

***

I only did a readathon a few weeks ago, which lasted for 6 days. I read 4.5 books in those 6 days, so for this readathon, I’ll try 5 books.

A Beautiful Truth by Colin McAdam
The Donor by Helen Fitzgerald
Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan
Solar by Ian McEwan
Vanwege een tere huid [Because of Tender Skin, Dutch] by Anton Koolhaas

That is a nice, mixed list. There’s a thriller, a YA book, some literary fiction. Three books in English and two in Dutch (I’ve got a Dutch translation of The Donor). Looking forward to reading these!

Are you joining in?

Sign up HERE.

leeswammes_signature

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

16 Responses to Joining the Bout of Books 8.0 Read-a-thon

  1. Katrien says:

    I’m going on holiday during that week, so I think I’ll be reading a lot too. I’m rereading the Harry Potter series and I’m also planning on reading Looking for Alaska by John Green. I hope to be able to read three or four books.
    Good luck with the read-a-thon!

  2. Wendy @ Wensend.com says:

    Looks great! I’m going to participate too🙂

  3. Good luck with the read-a-thon. I wont be participating as I have a busy week with birthday’s but I hope you manage to get all your books read!

  4. That week I will be prepping for the new semester — but I hope you have fun!

  5. mpartyka says:

    I’m cheering you on! I’m finally settling back in post trip and planning for said trip, finding time to read and refocus.🙂

    Hope you had a lovely weekend.

  6. Monika says:

    So glad you’re joining in!! I am, too!

  7. Laurie C says:

    Wow! I’ve read two of your five already (Will Grayson and Solar). I listened to the audio edition of Will and enjoyed it. I also liked Solar, but haven’t read Sweet Tooth yet. I’m on vacation from work this week, so hope to catch up on some reviews and get a fair amount of reading in. So far today, though, I’ve caught up on little things around the house that have gone undone for weeks (months, in some cases). That’s always the problem with staying home on vacation. Tonight, we’re going out to dinner! No readathon for me next week (a busy week at work and stuff going on in the evenings) but good luck on yours!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Laurie, my husband is off work for 2 weeks of holidays, but we haven’t done zilch! He’s just enjoying pottering around the house and playing computer games with our teenage sons. Meanwhile, I spend a lot of time on my new business (my husband is helping with the website). It’s relaxed.

      Hope you have a nice dinner and a wonderful time – it’s nice sometimes just to stay at home and enjoy the place in the daytime.🙂

  8. Athira says:

    I’m thinking of jumping in too, though I may not decide until the weekend. We have friends coming over the week after so not sure of how much reading time I will get.

  9. Isi says:

    Ohh I’ll think about it this weekend, becasue I joined other readathon some weeks ago and in the end I got ill and I was in bed withouth reading a word😦
    So I have to forget that bad experience and try again!!

  10. Jorie says:

    Hallo, Hallo!

    Wow your second time!? Lucky! I’m a newbie, but I really have embraced the Bout! I’m doing pretty well today, as I started not only to get into the thick of “Lark Rise”, but I have been journalling my adventure, as much as I started to review as I go along with the book! Its quite the different kind of experience, as I usually would always write a review AFTER I was completely done with the book!🙂 I haven’t heard of the books your reading, so if your doing daily updates, I will look forward to hearing a bit more about them! I’m always curious about books, you see!!

    What types of books do you like to write!? I’m an aspiring writer too! In fact, since you like to write, be sure to check out my post: Showcase Sunday #2, which is below the Bout posts!! You’ll understand when you read it! I also speak about my writing life a bit under “My Bookish Life!” I will be dropping back, so I look forward to getting to know you a bit more! Ciao for now!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

