Weekly Reading Roundup

The week

Nothing happened… more or less! On with the books….

Books I finished in the last week: 6

Tulipomania by Mike DashHet reservaat by Liselotte StavorniusTongue by Kyung Ran JoHet huis met de schaduw [The Hired Man] by Aminatta FornaThe Infinite Within by Michael DrakichVals alarm [False Alarm] by Marelle Boersma

Tulipomania by MIke Dash. Non-fiction. Very readable history book about the tulip fever in 17th Century Netherlands. 4.5 stars

Het reservaat [The Reservation] by Liselotte Stavorinus. Thriller, Dutch. A woman moves with her family to a rich neighborhood, where one of the ladies befriends her. But is she really a good friend? 4 stars

Tongue by Kyung-Ran Jo. Contemporary fiction. South-Korea, when the boyfriend of the main character finds someone else, she gives up her cooking school and goes back to working in a restaurant’s kitchen, all the while considering how to get her man back. 5 stars.

Het huis met de schaduw [The Hired Man] by Aminatta Forna. Contemporary fiction. An English family moves into a dilapidated house in a small town in Kroatia. A neighbour helps her with the refurbishments and a lot of old sores are uncovered. 4.5 stars

The infinite Within by Michael Drakich. Science fiction. A woman astronaut is sent to Mars. When she comes back she poses a problem for the authorities. 3.4 stars

Vals Alarm [False Alarm] by Marellle Boersma. Thriller. A woman’s life is turned upside down when her husband divorces her and tries to take her daughter away from her. 4 stars

Books I’m reading & planning to read

Fondly by Colin WinnetteThe Orchard of Lost Souls by Nadiga MohamedDoelwit in de nacht [Target at Night] by Ricardo Piglia

Reviews

Killer Queens by Rebecca ChanceDe boer op by Irene van AartMe Before You by Jojo Moyes

Killer Queens by Rebecca Chance. Chicklit about two commoners who both marry royalty. 4.5 stars

De boer op [To the Farmer] by Irene van Aart [Dutch]. Memoir about a city girl falling in love with a farmer. 5 stars

Me Before You [Review in Dutch] by Jojo Moyes. Chicklit about a young woman taking a job looking after a paraplegic man who has lost all will to live. 5 stars

And also…

I’m joining the Bout of Books 8.0 Read-a-thon. How about you?

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

19 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. A very busy week, Judith, I see you also have Het huis met de schaduw, very beautiful, wasn’t it? The orchard of lost souls looks intriguing, I am curious to see what this is about.

    Have a good week & kind regards,

    • Leeswammes says:

      I really enjoyed Het huis met de schaduw, Bettina. The Orchard of Lost Souls is situated in Somalia. I’m thinking it’s going to be one of those heart-breaking stories. But we’ll see.

  2. This is the first time I have seen Tongue – sounds interesting and you gave it 5 stars – look forward to hearing more about it in your review. Have a great reading week Judith!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jo, I think you may love Tongue – it’s a great read, quite literary, about a cook in South Korea who has lost her boyfriend to another woman – a model!

  3. Mystica says:

    Nice selection of reads. Enjoy them all.

  4. Six books this week, woo hooo! Tulipmania sounds fascinating to me. I’m a nonfiction nerd😉 Have a wonderful week!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jennifer, I read more this week than during the read-a-thon! Not sure how that happened. Tulipomania is definitely for non-fiction nerds. It’s very well written.

  5. Melinda says:

    The orchard of lost souls looks interesting

  6. Care says:

    Yep, that’s a LOT of books. I think I would like that tulip book. Looking forward to our postings tomorrow! woo hoo

  7. Have a great read-a-thon this week.

  8. Leslie says:

    Wow, nice week. That’s six times more books than I read, but I’ve had a lot of stuff going on the last few weeks so I felt I accomplished a lot finishing a few audiobooks.

    I just received a copy of Me Before You in audio. Google translated your review well enough for me to know you liked it so I’m hoping to enjoy it too.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, Me Before You has a bit of a chicklit feel to it – I don’t know whether you like that. But it’s a good story and it brings up some issues that need thinking about after the book is finished.🙂

  9. Wow, great accomplisment! Tulipomania sounds like a great book.🙂

  10. Charlie says:

    Things did happen – you read a ton of books🙂 Makes up for uneventful days, I’d say.

  11. Laurie C says:

    Nice variety of books and so much productivity on your reviews! I’ve been meaning to read Me Before You.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

