Book Review: The Infinite Within by Michael Drakich

The Infinite Within by Michael DrakichThe Infinite Within: What it is about

From Smashwords: “Going into outer space calls to Astronaut Brooke Jones like the sirens of old, and when the chance to be part of the first manned mission to Mars arises, she is ecstatic. But little does she know the fate that awaits her on the surface of the red planet or the results of her encounter when she gets back to Earth. ”

The Infinite Within: What I thought

This was a fun, but not always believable story, about a woman astronaut, Brooke Jones, who travels to Mars and causes the authorities a lot of hassle when she returns back to Earth. The president, the FBI, and a large company, all make their appearance. While I usually don’t enjoy stories where they do, in this case, I didn’t mind as the story focused more on Brooke than on them.

The story of Brooke was intriguing (if probably not scientifically possible) and I wanted to know more about her. I was keen for her to stay out of reach of the several authorities that were after her. She was a strong woman, which I always like to read about.

The writing wasn’t always strong – especially the dialogues were sometimes a little stilted. For instance, people would give each other information that they should know already (for instance, because they live together, like Brooke and her boyfriend), and the information was obviously only given so the reader would understand what was going on. Also, I didn’t like how sometimes months or years could pass from one paragraph to the next, without there being much change in the characters or their lives (an exception being Brooke’s boyfriend).

But overall, I found this story very entertaining, and when I wasn’t reading, I was looking forward to pick up the e-reader again to continue.


Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars (OK to good)

Number of pages: 264 (ebook)

First published: 2013 (July)

I got this: from the author for review

Genre: science fiction

Extra: Another novel about a Mars exploration is The Four Fingers of Death by Rick Moody (my review here), which is a very, very odd story.

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

