Weekly Reading Roundup

The week

I had a good reading week with a fantastic book, a not-so-good book, and two in between. Also, I bought two bicycles and dropped two old ones at the recycling shop, I worked on my business website, made home-made pizza, found out that the hotel I was planning to go to in the autumn holidays with the family is fully booked, I lost a kilogram (2 pounds) (my son asked “where?”). On with the books!

Books I finished in the last week: 4

Fondly by Colin WinnetteThe Orchard of Lost Souls by Nadiga MohamedDoelwit in de nacht [Target at Night] by Ricardo PigliaSpanning & Retourtje Hato by René Appel

Fondly by Colin Winnette. Short stories/novella about family relations. 4 stars.

The Orchard of Lost Souls by Nadifa Mohamed. Contemporary fiction about three women in Somalia who experience the war there in very different ways. 5 stars

Doelwit in de nacht [Target in the Night] by Ricardo Piglia [Read in Dutch] Mystery in Argentina where a visitor to a small town is killed. 2.5 stars

Spanning & Retourtje Hato [Excitement & Return Ticket to Hato] by René Appel [Dutch]. Two thriller novellas. 4.5 stars

Books I’m reading & planning to read

As part of the Bout of Books read-a-thon I’m planning to read 5 books this week….

Lighthouse Island by Paulette JilesHemelvaart by Judith KoelemeijerDe huisvriend by Bertram KoelemanGoat Mountain by David VannThe Long Shadow by Liza Marklund

Reviews

The Infinite Within by Michael DrakichVals alarm [False Alarm] by Marelle BoersmaSongs for the Missing by Stewart O'NanDe verdwijners by Niels 't Hooft

 

The infinite Within by Michael Drakich. Science fiction. A woman astronaut is sent to Mars. When she comes back she poses a problem for the authorities. 3.4 stars

Songs for the Missing by Stewart O’Nan. Contemporary fiction about a family of which the oldest daughter goes missing. 4 stars

Vals Alarm [False Alarm] by Marellle Boersma. Thriller. A woman’s life is turned upside down when her husband divorces her and tries to take her daughter away from her. 4 stars

De verdwijners [The Disappearers] by Niels ‘t Hooft [Dutch]. Science fiction. 2018, Google employs street interviewers to find out what people’s thoughts are. Three interviewers do more than that. 4 stars

And also…

Check out my GIVEAWAY!!! Lost & Found by Tom Winter. World wide. No need to follow my blog.

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

8 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Mystica says:

    Thats a lot of stuff done. Losing two kgs is a lot.

  2. Good luck with your goals for Bout of Books. Hope you will enjoy your reads!

  3. I have Goat Mountain on my list too.

    Cynthia @ The Things You Can Read

  4. The orchard of lost souls looks like a book I would enjoy very much. Have fun with the Bout of Books this week.

    Kind regards,

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

