Weekly Reading Roundup

The week

It was a read-a-thon week last week! The Bout of Books read-a-thon. I planned to read 5 books, but I barely managed 3. That’s not very much, even without the context of a read-a-thon. Oh well, I always say, I read too much, I should get a life. Maybe I am!🙂

Last week, I did a short course for one-person-business owners. That was very useful. I learned a few new things, but I also learned that I’m more or less doing things right. That’s good!

My husband and I went to a concert by David Byrne (from The Talking Heads) and St. Vincent, which I found very enjoyable. I’m not at all into their music, but it was a great show, including 8 brass players. Meanwhile my sons made Rocky Road (Nigella’s Christmas page 28), aka Tiffin – a kind of brownie with loads of chocolate that doesn’t require baking in the oven. They did a good job and left the kitchen in an acceptable state.🙂

This week is the last week of the school holidays – it’s book picking-up time tomorrow already! For me, there are two bookish events, a book presentation of a Dutch book I read recently and a two-day event this weekend, where Dutch publishers and authors show off their new books for the coming half year. There will be author interviews and other bookish happenings, too.

Books I finished in the last week: 3

Hemelvaart by Judith KoelemeijerLighthouse Island by Paulette JilesThe Long Shadow by Liza Marklund


Hemelvaart
by Judith Koelemeijer, a non-fiction memoir about the death of a friend of the author when they were twenty years old, on a holiday. 4.5 stars

Lighthouse Island by Paulette Jiles. Dystopian novel about an orphan girl that wants to get to Lighthouse Island, in a cruel world where there is very little water and people get arrested and executed just because. 4.5 stars

The Long Shadow by Liza Marklund. Thriller, a journalist is researching the deaths of a Swedish family in Spain and uncovers a lot more while she’s at it. 4 stars

Books I’m reading & planning to read

De huisvriend by Bertram KoelemanGoat Mountain by David VannDubbele stilte by Mari JungstedtA Beautiful Truth by Colin McAdam

Reviews

The Orchard of Lost Souls by Nadiga MohamedThe Returned by Jason MottHet huis met de schaduw [The Hired Man] by Aminatta Forna

The Orchard of Lost Souls by Nadifa Mohamed. Contemporary fiction about three women in Somalia who experience the war there in very different ways. 5 stars

The Returned by Jason Mott. Some dead return to their loved ones. What seems to be a miracle turns into a nightmare for all concerned. 4 stars

Het huis met de schaduw [The House with the Shadow] door Aminatta Forna. A Croatian man observes the arrival of an English family in his village and the recent history of the village is uncovered.

Also….

Check out the winner of my Lost & Found giveaway.

Here are my new books!

 

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

9 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. The Orchard of Lost Souls does sound good – will have to add to my wish list. Sounds like you have lots of bookish things to look forward to this week – enjoy!

  2. I haven’t managed to read a lot of books during the read-a-thon too, so I can’t blame you.😉 Having a life is great too haha

  3. Mystica says:

    My reading has slowed down with the wedding looming (second daughter) but I do like visiting the blogs whenever I can.

  4. Good to hear you are on the right path with your business. That is really nice to find out.

    Hope you get some more reading done this week!

  5. bibliosue says:

    How nice that your boys can prepare sweet treats and clean up after themselves🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

