New Arrivals!

Another few books that I received recently. I keep thinking I have very little time for reading, but meanwhile I’ve read around 17 books this month. I have NO idea how that happened!🙂

Books for review

The Devil in Silver by Victor LaValle

The Devil in Silver by Victor LaValle

For review from Random House USA. I now have a Dutch rep for this publisher who offered me many, many beautiful books but I had to be strict with myself. This one sounded very intriguing, so I said, yes, please!

The publisher says: “Pepper is a rambunctious big man, minor-league troublemaker, working-class hero (in his own mind), and, suddenly, the surprised inmate of a budget-strapped mental institution in Queens, New York. He’s not mentally ill, but that doesn’t seem to matter. He is accused of a crime he can’t quite square with his memory.

In the darkness of his room on his first night, he’s visited by a terrifying creature with the body of an old man and the head of a bison who nearly kills him before being hustled away by the hospital staff. It’s no delusion: The other patients confirm that a hungry devil roams the hallways when the sun goes down.

Pepper rallies three other inmates in a plot to fight back: Dorry, an octogenarian schizophrenic who’s been on the ward for decades and knows all its secrets; Coffee, an African immigrant with severe OCD, who tries desperately to send alarms to the outside world; and Loochie, a bipolar teenage girl who acts as the group’s enforcer. Battling the pill-pushing staff, one another, and their own minds, they try to kill the monster that’s stalking them. But can the Devil die?”

***

A Father's Son by Richard Harris

A Father’s Son by Richard Harris

The author of this book contacted me himself. I read an excerpt on Amazon, and I liked what I read!

From the author: “When his mother is arrested in September 1988, 14-year-old hockey phenom Justin Maloney is left with no choice but to move in with his estranged father. Rick Maloney wants to be a caring, responsible parent to his only child, but he soon loses his way and begins a steady descent into darkness that will force him to confront old demons.

Set against the backdrop of the New World Order—the demise of the Soviet Union, the pro-democracy protests at Tiananmen Square and the fall of the Berlin Wall—A Father’s Son is a stirring tale of how parent and child can grow far apart, yet remain close through a shared love of Canada’s national passion.”

***

Book from Bookmooch

Silence and Shadows by James Long

Silence and Shadows by James Long

I read Ferny by this author, a book that I enjoyed very much. Apparently, this is a sequel or at least somehow related to that story. I can’t wait to read this!

From Amazon.com: “Patrick Kane is a man haunted by his past. Bobby Redhead, a woman who stumbles into the path of his car, is a mysterious part of that past. They have come together at an archaeological dig in the village of Wytchlow.

What has Patrick done that he cannot forgive? Why is Bobby so drawn to him? And how are they connected by the local folksong of a Saxon girl called the German Queen? To learn the answers, they must race to save the German Queen’s long-buried secret before a developer can claim the land.

Here, in a small English village where history is as alive as the nearest plowed field, three people — one dead a thousand years but still very much alive — meet on an unforgettably touching adventure through time that will lead to the very depths of the human heart…. Can the fragile bones of a royal matriarch heal the hearts of those who would dare free her?”

***

Book from the library

Notes from a Small Island by Bill Bryson

Notes from a Small Island by Bill Bryson

I’m reading this with my real life book group next month. I have already started and it’s great fun. I’m laughing out loud a lot! 

The publisher says: “After nearly two decades in Britain, Bill Bryson took the decision to move back to the States for a few years, to let his kids experience life in another country, to give his wife the chance to shop until 10 p.m. seven nights a week, and, most of all, because he had read that 3.7 million Americans believed that they had been abducted by aliens at one time or another, and it was thus clear to him that his people needed him.

But before leaving his much-loved home in North Yorkshire, Bryson insisted on taking one last trip around Britain, a sort of valedictory tour of the green and kindly island that had so long been his home. His aim was to take stock of the nation’s public face and private parts (as it were), and to analyse what precisely it was he loved so much about a country that had produced Marmite, a military hero whose dying wish was to be kissed by a fellow named Hardy, place names like Farleigh Wallop, Titsey and Shellow Bowells, people who said ‘Mustn’t grumble’, and Gardeners’ Question Time.”

***

Have you read any of these books? Which of these would appeal to you?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

5 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. bibliosue says:

    Notes from a Small Island is hysterical. You will have to read his other travel narratives as well as they are equally amusing (Neither Here Nor There: Travels in Europe is my favorite)
    A Father’s Son sounds like something I would like. I was actually looking for hockey-themed novels not that long ago so I am going to check that one out.

  2. Shelleyrae says:

    I love Bill Bryson🙂

  3. Isi says:

    I didn’t know any of them, but they look interesting. Hope you enjoy them!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

