Weekly Reading Roundup

The week

I’ve read a lot this month, but not this week! I checked and re-checked, but yes, only two books. They were very enjoyable, so that’s good.

I had great fun at a book presentation this week – a Dutch book I read and reviewed a few weeks ago. I was the first one to write a review so the author remembered me clearly.🙂 I also had a nice conversation with the publisher and another book blogger. I also went to a business support group meeting (first time) which seems a useful way to discuss possible obstacles and solutions with our new businesses.

Yesterday (Sunday) I went to Manuscripta. This is a kind of book fair where books are sold cheaply and there are author interviews. I had a great afternoon – went to see several authors talking about their new books and spoke to some publishers I knew. I ended up with seven new books (guess what? I won 3 of them, and got 2 for free – I just seem to be a book magnet!).

Today is the first day of school for the kids. Just an hour of two of introduction. Tomorrow it starts for real!

Books I finished in the last week: 2

Notes from a Small Island by Bill BrysonDe huisvriend by Bertram Koeleman

Notes from a Sall Island by Bill Bryson. Non-fiction. The author (American) travels through his adoptive country, England. Hilarious! 5 stars

De huisvriend [Friend of the Family] by Bertram Koeleman [Dutch]. A butler living with a man who likes solitude feels their life is threatened by the arrival of a new friend of the family. 4 stars

Books I’m reading & planning to read

Goat Mountain by David VannDubbele stilte by Mari JungstedtA Beautiful Truth by Colin McAdamThe Devil in Silver by Victor LaValle

Reviews

Tongue by Kyung Ran JoFondly by Colin WinnetteHemelvaart by Judith Koelemeijer

Tongue by Kyung Ran Jo. Contemporary fiction. South-Korea, when the boyfriend of the main character finds someone else, she gives up her cooking school and goes back to working in a restaurant’s kitchen, all the while considering how to get her man back. 5 stars.

Fondly by Colin Winnette. Short stories/novella about family relations. 4 stars.

Hemelvaart by Judith Koelemeijer, a non-fiction memoir about the death of a friend of the author when they were twenty years old, on a holiday. 4.5 stars

Also….

I got some new books!

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

8 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Suzanne says:

    Manuscripta sounds like a fun event, especially if you are a book magnet🙂
    Good luck to your sons for their school year, and I hope you have a great week!

  2. Shelleyrae says:

    I’m jealous at how often you have book events near you! I didn’t like A Beautiful Truth at all, I hope you do though.

    Enjoy your week🙂
    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  3. You had a very bookish week, Judith, and I am glad yo hear you enjoyed yourself so much. Have a great week& kind regards,

  4. Glad you had so many nice bookish things going on. I hope you get to read a bit more this week!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

