Weekly Reading Roundup

The week

Busy, busy, including the weekend, with my editing business. It’s booming!🙂

Other than that, I bought another Emma Bridgewater mug (sorry, that is a big thing for me!) and we had a great book group meeting, talking about Bill Bryson’s Notes from a Small Island.

Books I finished in the last week: 3

The Devil in Silver by Victor LaValleThe History of Love by NIcole KraussA Father's Son by Richard Harris

The Devil in Silver by Victor LaValle. A mental hospital in which a monster roams at night. One of the inmates gets together a team to try and catch him. 4.5 stars

The History of Love by Nicole Krauss. A book about a book with the same name. A good read. 4 stars

A Father’s Son by Richard Harris. The coming of age story of a boy whose mother goes to prison. He is a great ice hockey player, and juggles the sport, a first love, money issues and an ailing father. 4.5 stars

Books I’m reading & planning to read

 Niets en niemand [Nothing and Nobody] by Ivo BonthuisCartwheel by Jennifer DuboisThe Donor by Helen Fitzgerald

Reviews

Goat Mountain by David VannDoelwit in de nacht [Target at Night] by Ricardo Piglia

Goat Mountain by David Vann. A favoriete writer but still a DNF. It was too much and too little for me.

Doelwit in de nacht [Target at Night] by Ricardo Piglia. A mystery novel set in Argentina. It confused me and while I finished it, I didn’t find it very interesting. 2.5 stars.

Also….

I’m thinking about the next Literary Giveaway Blog Hop. It’s probably going to be early November rather than October. I’m just too busy in October to co-ordinate it.

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

11 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. I cannot wait to hear what you think of duBois’ Cartwheel Judith – enjoy!

  2. Emma Bridgewater mugs are great! I’m a big “china-hoarder” myself, so I would be very happy with a new E.B. too.
    November is NaNoWriMo as well, would be a bit busy with a give-away as well?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Karin, I’m not sure I’ll be doing NaNoWriMo. Besides, that is a whole month. I’m especially concerned about the days before the Giveaway Blog Hop (because that is when participants ask me a lot of questions) and on the first day that it’s on (because I have to remind people to put their post up – some people, obviously not everyone!).

  3. bibliosue says:

    I really enjoyed The History of Love, I’m glad that you did as well.
    Congratulations on your booming business!

  4. Athira says:

    I’m looking forward to hearing what you think of Cartwheel! I’ve been seeing it around in the blogosphere.

  5. Great news that work is going so well! I’m interested to see what you think of The Donor, Its on my wishlist now that I have read The Cry.
    Have a great reading week,
    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  6. Curious what you will think of Cartwheel have been hearing a lot of good things on this one!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

