Macbeth Readalong

MacBeth readalong

There’s nothing to be ashamed of. I did not grow up in a country where English was the first language. So, I can admit it without embarrassment: I have never read anything by Shakespeare. Now, I don’t know if I really missed out on much, but October is the month to find out!

Together with Suzanne (Biliosue) and Adam (Roof Beam Reader) I’ll be reading MacBeth, which, I’m told, fits well with the Halloween month. We’ll be reading one act per week, so that’s nothing too strenuous.

I’ve got an age 13+ version of the play on paper plus the BBC adaptation on DVD. I’m well prepared!

Do join in if you feel MacBeth deserves your attention!

Have you read MacB before?

leeswammes_signature

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

26 Responses to Macbeth Readalong

  1. Roxanne says:

    I haven’t read MacBeth before. I did read Romeo & Juliet for my English Literature in 2001. I have bought some classics as well as many books refer to them and I have never read them, so as a bookworm it sounds nice to read some of those as well.

  2. booketta says:

    I hope you enjoy it🙂

  3. cbjames says:

    I love McBeth. I wonder if reading only an act a week will work, though. It’s Shakespeare’s shortest play, you know. You may want to jump in a read it all.

    I’ve little faith in BBC adaptations, though. Throne of Blood by Japanese director Kurosawa is based on McBeth and is excellent. The Canadian television series Slings and Arrows, which is lots of fun, devoted their second season to McBeth. They’ve got several excellent scenes from it in the series. I think you can see Ian McKlellan (spelling) doing the Tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow speech from the last act on YouTube. He’s very good, of course.

    Enjoy the play.

    • Leeswammes says:

      We’ll see how it goes, James. Maybe you’re right and I’ll finish it in one (or two) sittings. I don’t agree about the BBC adaptations. I’ve seen some great Dickens adaptations and a wonderful North & South series from the BBC. Thanks for the recommendations, though. If I enjoy the play I will search for them.

  4. debbierodgers says:

    Re-read this last year, Judith. It’s one of my favourites of what I’ve read by Shakespeare.

  5. A.M.B. says:

    Enjoy! I read it in high school, and I’ve seen it performed a few times.

  6. Leslie says:

    I read a few Shakespeare plays in literature class but I don’t think Macbeth was one of them. This is terrible, it was so long ago I can’t remember which ones we read. However, I do know the story of Macbeth and you’ve chosen the right month to read it!

  7. Elm2 says:

    I think a play should also be seen, and heard, on stage or on screen. Don’t you agree? I saw agreat Macbeth in the cinema, forgot who produced it. And polanski’s the Taming of th Shrew is my favourite! And did you never read a Shakespearean sonnet at school? You really missed out there, I think.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Elma, I agree. I think it’s a bit strange to “read” a play. Luckily, Suzanne suggested I also watch a video of the play so I can read and see it (probably not at the exact same time).

      We never had to read any Shakespeare at school. We did Wordsworth, though, whom I loved.

  8. Never read any shakespeare neither in english or french. No no! But I wish you luck and I hope you will enjoy it. As you say there is no shame at all. Every one is different and let’s be honest, Shakespeare is not for every one.

  9. farmlanebooks says:

    Macbeth is one of the only Shakespeare plays I have read. I was forced to read Macbeth and The Merchant of Venice in school and didn’t enjoy either. Maybe I’d have a different perspective as an adult? I look forward to seeing what you all make of it. If you go on to try a different on next year I may even join you!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Jackie, we’ll see. Adam says MacB is good fun, and I’ll believe him (for now). Yes, join us next year – we’ll be doing the complete works! Only joking.

  10. elma says:

    If you’re going to read Shakespeare then Macbeth is certainly the easiest one to follow. I’m not a great fan of reading Shakespeare myself – he never meant them to be read. A play isn’t really ‘finished’ till it’s performed. The writer only does half the work, leaving the actors to complete the task. Some do it better than others. I don’t think I’ve seen the BBC Macbeth but I do remember the first time I saw their version of Titus Andronicus. I was 19 and didn’t know the story before accidentally seeing it on tv and remember it being scarier than any horror film imaginable. The Taming of the Shrew is excellent too. With John Cleese as a very convincing Petruchio – I still occasionally yell his ‘IT”S BURNT!’ line from one of the scenes if the circumstances are right😉

    Enjoy your readalong – I’m sure I’ve got Macbeth on dvd somewhere so I might make it my Hallowe’en viewing this year. I’ve never really thought of linking the 2 before now so thanks for the suggestion.

  11. Isi says:

    I haven’t read any of Shakespeare’s books, but for the moment I don’t feel well prepared to do it in English. Perhaps someday…
    I would love to see what you think about this classic author!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Isi, I’ve always thought that Shakespeare is too difficult for me (and I still think so). But maybe it isn’t all that bad – and watching the video should make it easier to understand as well.

  12. I read Macbeth for school. It wasn’t my favourite – I loved Much Ado About Nothing and Romeo and Juliet.

  13. elma says:

    http://nfs.sparknotes.com/macbeth/
    Maybe this site will help if you have bits you find difficult to follow. It’s a site that ‘translates’ Shakespeare into more modern English. You lose a lot of the poetry of his use of language but the original is next to it and it is sometimes handy to have some of it set in plainer language to help full understanding of what he’s actually saying.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Elma! That is very useful. My copy of the book has the original text with certain words explained in the foot notes, but even then it’s hard to understand. This site will certainly help.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

