Weekly Reading Roundup

The week

Still very busy with an editing job, but it’s such fun, I don’t mind working through the weekend and missing out on Bloggiesta. Well, actually, I do mind, a bit. But the book is a really nice YA novel and a pleasure to work on.

Books I finished in the last week: 2

Niets en niemand [Nothing and Nobody] by Ivo BonthuisCartwheel by Jennifer Dubois

Niets en niemand [Nothing and Nobody] by Ivo Bonthuis [Dutch]. Family relationships and belonging. A story about a weird family. 4 stars

Cartwheel by Jennifer Dubois. Also a family story, in Argentina. A young USA woman is arrested for murder and her family flies over to visit her. 4 stars

Books I’m reading & planning to read

 Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnisThe Donor by Helen Fitzgerald

Reviews

A Father's Son by Richard HarrisZomerhuis met zwembad by Herman Koch

A Father’s Son by Richard Harris. The coming of age story of a boy whose mother goes to prison. He is a great ice hockey player, and juggles the sport, a first love, money issues and an ailing father. 4.5 stars

Zomerhuis met zwembad [Dutch: Summer House with Swimming Pool] by Herman Koch. By the writer of The Dinner. A doctor who doesn’t take his job too seriously holidays with his family at a patient’s summer house. 4.5 stars

Also….

I’m doing a MacBeth readalong with Bibliosue and Roof Beam Reader. Why not join in, too?

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

5 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Good to see your business keeps being this busy. With those working hours you would think it is your hobby😉

    4 stars for Cartwheel is not that great in your list. Curious about your review now!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I actually didn’t mind at all working this weekend, Ciska. I think my work * is* my hobby! That’s the best way.

      I liked but didn’t love *Cartwheel*. It wasn’t quite as good as I had hoped.

  2. bibliosue says:

    Nothing and Nobody sounds like an interesting premise — maybe you should expand your business to include translation of Dutch books into English😉

  3. I reviewed Cartwheel this past week. I enjoyed it! Hope you’re having a great week🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

