Weekly Reading Roundup

The week

Phew! I finished the big editing job I was working on. Now, it’s some smaller projects this week. Also, I will be interviewed by a Master student (studying Media) who’ll ask me all about reading and blogging. Furthermore, I’ll doing a short course at the tax office to learn all things tax-related to do with my business and in the weekend I’ll be doing a two day Business Bootcamp course. I did one before, in May, and straight after that, I started my business. Now that that is up and running, I want to learn a few more things.

Reading-wise, things are looking up. Rather than the miserly two books a week in the past few weeks, I read THREE books! Well, that’s an improvement. I usually read 3-4 books per week, so I’m almost back to schedule.

Books I finished in the last week: 3

Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnisThe Donor by Helen FitzgeraldA Beautiful Truth by Colin McAdam

Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis. A post-apocalyptic story about a girl living with her mother on a farm near a pond. They shoot everyone that comes near, because water is very, very precious. 5 stars

The Donor by Helen Fitzgerald. A father finds out that his twin daughters have kidney disease. He can only give them one kidney, so he goes to find their mother, who has disappeared long ago. 4 stars

A Beautiful Truth by Colin MacAdam. A childless couple adopt a chimpanzee. Raising Looee is difficult and isolating. It just can’t end well. 4 stars

Books I’m reading & planning to read

 The Reluctant Cannibals by Ian FlitcroftMacBethA gift to Remember by Melissa HilThe Twelve Tribes of Hattie by Ayana Mathis

Reviews

Cartwheel by Jennifer Dubois

Cartwheel by Jennifer Dubois. Also a family story, in Argentina. A young USA woman is arrested for murder and her family flies over to visit her. 4 stars

Also….

The signup for the popular Literary Giveaway Blog Hop is online! Check here and join in.

I’m doing a MacBeth readalong with Bibliosue and Roof Beam Reader. Read along with us!

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

11 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. heavenali says:

    I hate to show my ignorance – but I haven’t heard of any of those🙂

    ps still thinking about the blog hop – it has cost me a fortune in postage before now.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Ali, you can’t know all the books in the world! Don’t worry.🙂

      I hope you decide to join in the blog hop. If you use Book Depository there is no postage involved. Or you could send a gently read book from your own shelves just within the UK. No one should go broke from participating in the blog hop!

  2. Are you sure all those activities fit in one week?
    Hope you can get some reading done in between. Curious what you will think of De twaalf stammen van Hattie.

  3. Glad to see you enjoyed The Donor, I’ll be signing up for the hop!

    I hope you enjoy your reads this week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  4. Suzanne says:

    Wow, I must pick up The Donor.

  5. Lovely week🙂 The Donor sounds heartbreaking!

    I’d better get myself together and sign up for the lit blog hop again…love that event😀 Have a great week!

  6. Sounds like a great week, can’t believe how much you got done with work and reading! Congrats on the new business and I wish you luck. I will have to check out the lit blog hop. Thanks for the info.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Tanya. I hope you’ll join the blog. I know you love blog-events and this is a really nice one. Not with 100s of participants but with some good quality books – I always get real positive reactions on the hop.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

