Book Review: A Gift to Remember by Melissa Hill

A gift to Remember by Melissa HilA Gift to Remember: What it is about

The publisher says: “Darcy Archer works in a small bookstore in Manhattan. A daydream believer, she refuses to settle for anything less than being swept off her feet by the perfect man… literally.

One day, when cycling to work, Darcy accidentally crashes into a sharply dressed gentleman walking his dog. He is knocked out cold, rushed to hospital and the poor pup gets left behind.

Wrecked with guilt, Darcy takes the dog and makes plans to reunite him with owner, Aidan. As she discovers the mysterious stranger’s world of books, travel, adventure and all the wonderful things she’s ever dreamt about, Darcy builds a picture of this man and wonders if he could be THE ONE…

But does fantasy match reality? What happens when Prince Charming wakes up? Will Aidan be the happy ever after she’s always imagined?

A Gift to Remember: What I thought

The cover of this book is a veritable beauty! I really got the book only on the basis of the cover, which is tricky, but usually I get it right.

Then it started with a Darcy who was crazy about Jane Austen-type of books and, to make matters worse, working in a book store! How cliché can you get? Blah blah. But…

And another but…

Once I got into the story, sitting through the cliché beginning shaking my head, it became really quite good fun to read. So good, that my final score is 5 out of 5. That’s right! The book was a light read, but different from the standard boy-meets-girl stories.

I loved it that Darcy went to try and find out about the man who was in hospital because she’d knocked him over with her bike. She took care of his dog, and the dog knew exactly which home to go to, and, guess what, the man’s keys fitted the lock. So she had fun looking through his house, finding clues to help him recover from amnesia. He was handsome, but also rich, and in the process of making a deal, for which he had contacted several people.

Darcy tried to follow back his steps, to find people that would know him and who she could hand him over to. In the process, she got to meet some jet set New Yorkers, but none would admit that they knew the man. It was a mystery! And a fun one.

So, eventually, I was right to choose this book on the basis of the cover – I loved reading it!


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars (very good)

Number of pages: 408

First published: 2013

I got this: from Simon & Schuster UK for review

Genre: contemporary fiction

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

9 Responses to Book Review: A Gift to Remember by Melissa Hill

  1. Sounds like such a cute story. Sometimes I’m wary of boy-meets-girl books because they’re typically similar. But the female character sounds heartwarming… I’ll have to read this!

  2. Tesney Ap says:

    This sounds like a lovely book. I love the cover a lot, too🙂

  3. Charlie says:

    I can’t help but think of While You Were Sleeping – it sounds pretty similar. Though that’s not a bad thing as I really liked that film.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Charlie, I never thought of it while reading this book, but that’s because in While You Are Sleeping there was all this family around and the victim himself was unconscious. In this book, there was no family and the victim was awake, just not remembering. But yes, similar atmosphere in the book, light and pleasant.

  4. I might have to download this one this weekend. I haven’t been able to read for a month due to back to back, extreme, life situations/chaos. I need to escape in a book that well written but not too dark. I like dark life stories so this is a stretch for me.

    Tonight I’m watching baseball and visiting my favorite blogs. Hope you have been well, looking forward to what I hope is a calm/light November and holiday season.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Mari, this might be just the book for you now that you’re so busy and need to wind down. I hope you’ve had the worst and that you’re in quieter waters now.

  5. Isi says:

    Sounds really great, Judith: I was caught by the cover, but the story seems to be fun and different, despite the clichés🙂
    I’ll look for it!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

