Weekly Reading Roundup

The week

A quiet week, in which I worked a lot, and on Saturday, helped moving my mother to her new place, in an old people’s home. It seems she’ll be cared for well – at least in theory. There are checks (to see if she’s OK) in the morning and evening, coffee/tea three times a day, and all meals and help with things she can’t do herself. How that works out in practice, we’ll have to see, but it sounds good.

I also had a business support group meeting, with other people who want to improve their business. One new person turned out to be a kind of competition, not sure how that will work out if we’re supposed to share our plans and ideas…

This week, more mother, more work, and hopefully, I’ll manage to do some clothes shopping. Not only but also, because on Saturday one of my clients has her book presentation (i.e., of a book that I edited). Looking forward to that. She seems to know “everyone”, so it promises to become quite the event.

Today, I’ll be staying indoors – we’ve got “code red” from the weather alarm: it’s very stormy!

Books I finished in the last week: 4

 The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee BenderChristmas Carol by Michele GormanLocked Room by Martyn V. HalmMicrochip Murder by Martyn V. Halm

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender. About a girl that can taste from what she eats how the cook felt at the time of making the food. 4 stars.

Christmas Carol by Michele Gorman. A woman called Carol who is very scroogy with her time (work-work-work) is forced to spend a long weekend with her family in Scotland. And her Blackberry doesn’t have a good signal! 4 stars

Locked Room by Martyn V. Halm. Story. Thriller. A short story taking place in Amsterdam. The story builds up rather slowly. 3 stars

Microchip Murder by Martyn V. Halm. Story. Thriller. Same. But a better story. 4 stars.

 

Books I’m reading & planning to read

The Whole Golden World by Kristina RiggleThe Supreme Macaroni Company by Adriana Trigiani

Reviews

Etched in Sand by Regina CalcaterraA gift to Remember by Melissa Hil

Etched in Sand by Regina Calcaterra. The real-life story of the author, who grew up in a family of abused and neglected children. 4 stars

A Gift to Remember by Melissa Hill. A woman on her bicycle runs into a man who ends up in hospital with amnesia. She tries to find out who he is and whether he has a family waiting at home.  5 stars

Also….

The signup for the popular Literary Giveaway Blog Hop is online! Check here and join in.

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

25 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Tien says:

    ooh, sounds like it’s been busy busy busy for you! Glad to see that you’re still fitting in reads😉

    Good luck with the book presentation! Didn’t know you edit books? I’ve probably been out of it a bit, oops… Hope it all goes well🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Thanks, Tien! Yes, I recently started my own editing business – which is going really well. Some weeks I don’t read much, but this week was a good one.

      • Tien says:

        Wow, Congratulations, Judith!

        Did you have to take up any study beforehand? Editing in which language or should i say languages?

  2. Nish says:

    Christmas Carol sounds like fun🙂

  3. I really must get around to reading The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake, I’ve been on a bit of a cooking binge lately so it would suit.

    Have a great week,

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  4. Parrish says:

    I’m off work today, due to the weather & am making the most of it. Enjoy the book presentation.

  5. What a busy week! Supreme Macaroni Company is waiting for me as well — I’ll look forward to your review. I didn’t really enjoy The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake, but I’m glad it worked for you!

  6. Have a great week. I am curious what you will think of the Supreme Macaroni Company. Hope you mother will settle in well.

  7. A.M.B. says:

    I’m impressed you finished four books in one week with everything else you have going on. I hope that your mother adjusts well to her new home. As for books, I’ve seen mixed reviews of “The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake,” but it’s one that I’d like to read. It’s such an interesting premise. I’m glad to see that you liked it.

  8. bibliosue says:

    I am impressed — so much going on yet still time to read! Good for you.
    I did not like The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake. The first part was ok but something happened partway through that I just couldn’t accept as believable.
    Have a great week!

  9. Athira says:

    Your books also seem to be perfect for the weather. I hope you stay home safe! Stormy weather is insane.

  10. Sorry to hear about your mom – hopefully she adjusts well and it taken care of. It’s one our fears right, their care, safety…. my 78 year old Dad lives alone so I’m aware of these worries.

    So excited for see your editing career take off – be proud!

  11. Laurie C says:

    Another Literary Blog Hop! Yay! I’ll be watching for your review of The Whole Golden World.

  12. I hope your mum likes being in the home and she’s well looked after. At least you know there’s someone to check in on her – nothing worse than the oldies being home alone and not answering the phone!
    Hope you enjoy your books for this week – you read a lot during a busy week last week!

  13. Leslie says:

    I’ve had The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake on my shelf for years. I had almost forgotten about it! How are you liking The Supreme Macaroni Company? I have the galley but may wait for the audiobook. The narrator is a favorite of mine.

    Hope mom is adjusting to her new apartment. We moved my father-in-law to an “Independent Living” community few months ago They don’t call it an old people’s home anymore but that’s what it is. They check on residents, provide meals, some entertainment, local transportation and anything else we want to contract for. It’s such a relief to know he is safe because he was living alone.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, I haven’t started The Macaroni Company yet – hope it’s as good as Trigiani’s other books.

      Yes, it’s very nice to know my mother is safe and looked after. She’s still not a happy person but at least she’s unhappy in a safe environment. Preferably she’d like my brother and I there all the time. In reality, we go once a week or so (twice a week during these busy times).

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

