Book Review: Christmas Carol by Michele Gorman

Christmas Carol by Michele GormanChristmas Carol: What it is about

The publisher says: “One winter wedding, two happy couples, three ex-boyfriends… And a very uncomfortable weekend.

Carol hates Christmas. Being recently dumped, she’s not crazy about weddings either. So her sister Marley’s nuptials, over the Christmas weekend, are making her positively Scrooge-like.

When she arrives for the weekend at the stately home in rural Scotland to find her three ex-boyfriends in attendance, Carol has no choice but to face her ghosts to discover what really happened in those relationships, learning a lot about herself in the process. As the snow falls outside and the fire crackles in the hearth, might one of the wedding guests become the harbinger of Christmases to come?

Christmas Carol: What I thought

This was a fun story about a woman who was so caught up in her important job, that she could barely spare a weekend with her family in Scotland. There, to her horror, she finds that all three of her exes happen to be invited to the wedding, too. She talks to each of them, and slowly defrosts into a nice woman, who isn’t all that worried about the fact that they’re snowed in and so she has to miss an extra day at work.

I expected this to be more like the “real” Christmas Carol, with some repetition, as in: the first night the clock struck one and…, the second night at one…, etc. But instead, it was much more subtle. The wedding was glossed over a bit, I never got a good idea about the proceedings, as most of the story was about Carol and her trying to avoid having to talk to her exes.

I did enjoy the story, the setting, and the people. Carol wasn’t really a nice person, but I did get attached to her.


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (good)

Number of pages: 101

First published: 2013

I got this: from Notting Hill Press for review

Genre: contemporary fiction, chick-lit

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

4 Responses to Book Review: Christmas Carol by Michele Gorman

  1. Joanna says:

    I usually like this kind of book – I even loved that movie with Matthew Maconaughy, or however you spell it. 101 pages sounds pretty short though. I may still check it out. Thanks, Judith.

  2. Leslie says:

    And here I thought you were going to review Dickens. Seriously, I did! This does sound like a fun read though.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

