Weekly Reading Roundup

The week

I had my second and last day of a course in editing this week, at one of the major Dutch publishing houses. I learned a lot and it was great to meet other people doing similar work. Other than that, the week felt full, but not much happened – except that my son (14) refused to go to school a few days in a row. Not sure what’s going on, but it keeps me busy. So, if the police shows up at the door, there may be further trouble with him, but it could also be because of my mother (86, and not quite there) accusing me of stealing her purse. Smoke, but, I promise, no fire whatsoever (this purse has been “stolen” many times over the past year and always showed up again, with everything still inside). Anyway, interesting times, as they say.

The Literary Giveaway Blog Hop is happening! Come and hop to almost 40 blogs and win a great book.

Books I finished in the last week: 2

The Supreme Macaroni Company by Adriana TrigianiClosed Doors by Lisa O'Donnell

The Supreme Macaroni Company by Adriana Trigiani. A woman is planning to marry an older man, and at the same time is busy to expand her company. 3.5 stars

Closed Doors by Lisa O’Donnell. A 12-year old boy discovers something bad has happened to his mother. This has effects on the family, but also on the community around them. 4.5 stars

Books I’m reading & planning to read

The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy PageWat alleen de roman kan zeggen [Things only a Novel Can Tell] by Oek de JongThe Holdout by Laurel Osterkamp

Reviews

  Christmas Carol by Michele GormanVallen als het heet is by Jelmer Jepsen

Christmas Carol by Michele Gorman. A woman called Carol who is very scroogy with her time (work-work-work) is forced to spend a long weekend with her family in Scotland. And her Blackberry doesn’t have a good reception! 4 stars

Vallen als het heet is [Falling When It’s Hot] by Jelmer Jepsen. [Dutch] A man takes his estranged mother on a trip to visit her own mother. 4 stars

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

8 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. That’s really great that the publishing house offers a course in editing – I don’t think that any in the US do anything like that. I hope you share a little more about your experience!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shannon, yes, that was really nice. The publishers are part of a self-publishing scheme that has recently been set up. So now they also offer courses in writing and editing. It’s funny, because the publishers themselves are old, established and literary.🙂

  2. Sounds like a drama filled week!

  3. bibliosue says:

    At least once a week my husband gets a call from his parents (88 & 83) to help them turn on the tv with their remote and they get mad when he won’t drive the 25 miles to their apartment to do it for them. You have to laugh or else you’d cry, right?
    I hope your son is ok — does the school itself have any insight as to why he didn’t want to come to school?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, in the case of my brother and me, it’s 80 miles, so even worse. These oldies don’t seem to realize we have lives and no we can’t just drive 25 or 80 miles for the smallest thing. But everything becomes a Major Issue when you’re older, it seems.

      No idea about my son, but for now he’s back at school and staying there.🙂

  4. It is good to see Christmas books again!! Hope your mom’s bag will be found soon and good luck with the kid!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

