Weekly Reading Roundup

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and are planning to read next.

*****

The week

I haven’t joined in with the It’s Monday meme for ages, just because I don’t always have the time to be social. But today, I’m going for it and hope to visit a lot of blogs.

Interview Joao Ricardo PedroLast week, I had lunch with an author friend (I edited her book last year) and we discussed her plans for her new book. We had a great bookish discussion. Later in the week, I went to a publisher’s drinks party followed by an interview of the Portuguese writer Joao Ricardo Pedro. I had received his book the day before and managed to read most of it before the interview. At the party, I met people from the publishing company, Signatuur, and I spoke to some bloggers, some new, some old friends. I also had dinner with a few bloggers. In all, a great evening out.

This week, it’s the dentist on Tuesday and a business course on Friday.🙂

Books I finished in the last week: 3

The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy PageWat alleen de roman kan zeggen [Things only a Novel Can Tell] by Oek de JongJouw gezicht zal het laatste zijn by Joao Ricordo Pedro

The Collector of Lost Things by Jeremy Page. It’s 1845 and a researcher goes to the Arctic to find the last of the Great Auks. On board of the ship he meets a woman he knew in the past. A journey full of unexpected events. 4.5 stars

Wat alleen de roman kan zeggen [Things only a Novel Can Say] by Oek de Jong. Essay about the status of the novel in the current time. 4 stars

Jouw gezicht zal het laatste zijn [Your Face Will be the Last] by Joao Ricordo Pedro. The past lives of a grandfather and father play an important role in the live of a young Portuguese. 4 stars

Books I’m reading & planning to read

The Holdout by Laurel OsterkampLuchtvissers [Air Fishermen] by Gerwin van der WerfThe Humans by Matt Haig

Reviews

Closed Doors by Lisa O'DonnellThe Whole Golden World by Kristina Riggle

Closed Doors by Lisa O’Donnell. A 12-year old boy discovers something bad has happened to his mother. This has effects on the family, but also on the community around them. 4.5 stars

The Whole Golden World by Kristina Riggle. Story about a teenage girl who has an affair with her teacher. About the effect on the people around them. First I didn’t like it much, but I got into it later on and wanted to know how it ended. 3.5 stars

And also…

Book Bloggers Holiday Card Exchange

Whatever else you do this week, don’t forget to sign up for the Book Bloggers Holiday Card Exchange: like other years, we’ll be sending each other cards at the end of December. You won’t want to miss it!

I also announced the winners of the Literary Giveaway Blog hop. Did you hop? Wasn’t it fun?

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

9 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Thanks for hosting the hop Judith, I didn’t win anything but I found a few new bloggers to follow. Your week was full of bookish goodness, I’m jealous😉
    Read on!

  2. Shan says:

    I haven’t participated in the Monday meme for a while, like you, I’ve been too busy to be social. Hope all is well with you!

  3. bibliosue says:

    Sounds like a fantastic week – well, except for the dentist part.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Oh, it’s just a check up, Suzanne. Since they were very young, I’ve been going with the boys, and even now, our appointments are at the same time – quite funny, really.

  4. Tien says:

    I’ve had huge problems with my teeth so I’m all for regular check-ups. Good on you, Judith🙂

  5. Julie says:

    The Collector of Lost Things sounds really interesting. I may have to check that one out. And thanks for hosting the card exchange. I signed up.🙂

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

