Book Review: The Supreme Macaroni Company by Adriana Trigiani

The Supreme Macaroni Company by Adriana TrigianiThe Supreme Macaroni Company: What it is about

The publisher says: “For over a hundred years, the Angelini Shoe Company in Greenwich Village has relied on the leather produced by Vechiarelli & Son in Tuscany. This ancient business partnership provides the twist of fate for Valentine Roncalli, the schoolteacher turned shoemaker, to fall in love with Gianluca Vechiarelli, a tanner with a complex past . . . and a secret.

But after the wedding celebrations are over, Valentine wakes up to the hard reality of juggling the demands of a new business and the needs of her new family. Confronted with painful choices, Valentine remembers the wise words that inspired her in the early days of her beloved Angelini Shoe Company: “A person who can build a pair of shoes can do just about anything.” Now the proud, passionate Valentine is going to fight for everything she wants and savor all she deserves—the bitter and the sweet of life itself.

The Supreme Macaroni Company: What I thought

I love Adriana Trigiani’s books in general, but this one was a little disappointing. A lot of the book was about Valentine’s relationship with Gianluca, an older man who had been married before. He had certain ideas about marriage and working, together that Valentine found hard to accept.

There also were a lot of family meetings and preparing for the wedding. In between all of that, Valentine had to make tough decisions about her business, which didn’t at first fit in with the marriage story at all. Much later on, it actually does quite nicely.

I found the story very slow-going – in fact, not a great deal was happening, except for talking things through. It was not an unpleasant read, but neither was it very interesting. I still think this book is a must for Trigani fans!


Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars (It’s OK)

Number of pages: 352

First published: 2013, November 26

I got this: from Harper for review

Genre: contemporary fiction

Check out my other reviews on books by Adriana Trigiani: The Shoemaker’s Wife, Don’t Sing at the Table.

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

3 Responses to Book Review: The Supreme Macaroni Company by Adriana Trigiani

  1. Laurie C says:

    I read the first book about Valentine and it was too much information about shoes for me, so I never went on with them, although I liked the characters well enough.

  2. Isi says:

    I liked the summary, but since you said it was disappointing, I won’t add it to the list.
    I’ve never read a book by this author, by the way.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

