New Arrivals!

My loot for the last six weeks! Yes, the amount of books that I receive has been greatly reduced. As is my reading time, so this is perfect, really. 

Books for review

The Holdout by Laurel Osterkamp

The Holdout by Laurel Osterkamp (ebook)

For review from the author herself. I don’t accept many self-published novels but this one sounded good. I already read it and loved it. 

The author says: “Robin wanted to win The Holdout, a cutthroat reality TV show, so she gave it her all, challenge after challenge. Then she fell for Grant, with his irresistible eyes and heartbreaking life story.

But Grant was only using Robin as they competed for a million dollars. Once home, Robin wants to hide from the humiliation as episodes of The Holdout are aired, and she worries her family was right all along; she’s not a survivor.

Yet she could surprise everyone, and have the last laugh.

Besides, Robin now has jury duty. And as she forges ahead, confronting her demons about bravery, justice, and romance, Robin will come to decide which is more important: the courage to stand alone, or the strength to love again.

***

This Dark Road to Mercy by Wiley Cash

This Dark Road to Mercy by Wiley Cash

I loved A Land More Kind than Home by the same author so I was very pleased to see he had a new book out. This new story sounds like a family drama combined with a crime story. I’m very curious. Received for review from William Morrow (Harper Collins).

From the publisher: “After their mother’s unexpected death, twelve-year-old Easter and her six-year-old sister Ruby are adjusting to life in foster care when their errant father, Wade, suddenly appears. Since Wade signed away his legal rights, the only way he can get his daughters back is to steal them away in the night.

Brady Weller, the girls’ court-appointed guardian, begins looking for Wade, and he quickly turns up unsettling information linking Wade to a recent armored car heist, one with a whopping $14.5 million missing. But Brady Weller isn’t the only one hunting the desperate father. Robert Pruitt, a shady and mercurial man nursing a years-old vendetta, is also determined to find Wade and claim his due.

Narrated by a trio of alternating voices, This Dark Road to Mercy is a story about the indelible power of family and the primal desire to outrun a past that refuses to let go.

***

The Kept by James Scott

The Kept by James Scott

This cover reminds me of The Tenderness of Wolves by Stef Penney and that is (almost) enough reason to read it. But yes, I also was attracted to this book by the description. For review from Harper (HarperCollins).

From the publishers: “In the winter of 1897, Elspeth Howell treks across miles of snow and ice to the isolated farmstead in upstate New York where she and her husband have raised their five children. Her midwife’s salary is tucked into the toes of her boots, and her pack is full of gifts for her family. But as she crests the final hill, and sees her darkened house and a smokeless chimney, immediately she knows that an unthinkable crime has destroyed the life she so carefully built.

Her lone comfort is her twelve-year-old son, Caleb, who joins her in mourning the tragedy and planning its reprisal. Their long journey leads them to a rough-hewn lake town, defined by the violence both of its landscape and of its inhabitants. There Caleb is forced into a brutal adulthood, as he slowly discovers truths about his family he never suspected, and Elspeth must confront the terrible urges and unceasing temptations that have haunted her for years. Throughout it all, the love between mother and son serves as the only shield against a merciless world.

***

Out of the Woods by Lynn Darling

Out of the Woods by Lynn Darling

I love a memoir every now and then, especially when then are about people who have reached a point in their life where they don’t know what to do. How are they going to get out of their situation? For review from Harper (Harper Collins).

From the publishers: “When her college-bound daughter leaves home, Lynn Darling, widowed over a decade earlier, finds herself alone—and utterly lost, with no idea of what she wants or even who she is. Searching for answers, she leaves New York for the solitary woods of Vermont. Removed from the familiar, cocooned in the natural world, her only companions a new dog and a compass, she hopes to develop a sense of direction—both in the woods and in her life.

Hiking unmapped trails, Darling meditates on the milestones of her past; as she adapts to her new surroundings, she uses the knowledge she’s gained to chart her future. And when an unexpected setback nearly derails her newfound balance, she is able to draw upon her newfound skills to find her bearings and stay the course.

***

Books I won

The Humans by Matt Haig

The Humans by Matt Haig

I win books a lot. That’s why I only enter competitions when I really, really want to win the book. As was the case with this book. A Twitter giveaway from the author, I was crossing my fingers and toes, hoping to win this. It helped. I loved The Radleys by this author and I hope this book is just as good.

The publisher says: “One wet Friday evening, Professor Andrew Martin of Cambridge University solves the world’s greatest mathematical riddle. Then he disappears.

When he is found walking naked along the motorway, Professor Martin seems different. Besides the lack of clothes, he now finds normal life pointless. His loving wife and teenage son seem repulsive to him. In fact, he hates everyone on the planet. Everyone, that is, except Newton. And he’s a dog.

Can a bit of Debussy and Emily Dickinson keep him from murder? Can the species which invented cheap white wine and peanut butter sandwiches be all that bad? And what is the warm feeling he gets when he looks into his wife’s eyes?

***

Persephone's Tourch by Freder

Persephone’s Tourch by Freder (ebook)

I won this book from the Guiltless Reader during the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop. I’m unsure of the cover (it’s not something I go for normally, but neither does it look bad). I didn’t understand much of the description and that made me very curious to the book. I decided just to enter the giveaway and see what would  happen.

Synopsis: “1939: travel with an unusual theatrical company through a painted landscape of desire and dreams. Fantasy is their specialty and they have mastered the art – is the newest member of their extended family being carried to new heights by his yearning, or is he the victim of his own delusion? One by one you will come to know each member of the company, unlocking their colorful lives, learning their sometimes dark secrets. In this fateful last season of the company’s life, who will emerge with their hopes for the future intact?”

A Book From the Author

Closed Doors by Lisa O'Donnell

Closed Doors by Lisa O’Donnell

I reviewed The Death of Bees last year and promoted that book a few times because I loved it. Now the author has a new book out, and she send it to me. Because I’m her biggest fan, I think. How nice is that? I read it and reviewed it HERE.

Book description: “Eleven-year-old Michael Murray is the best at two things: keepy-uppies and keeping secrets. His family think he’s too young to hear grown-up stuff, but he listens at doors; it’s the only way to find out anything. And Michael’s heard a secret, one that might explain the bruises on his mother’s face.

When the whispers at home and on the street become too loud to ignore, Michael begins to wonder if there is an even bigger secret he doesn’t know about. Scared of what might happen if anyone finds out, and desperate for life to return to normal, Michael sets out to piece together the truth. But he also has to prepare for the upcoming talent show, keep an eye out for Dirty Alice, his arch-nemesis from down the street, and avoid eating Granny’s watery stew.”

***

Have you read any of these books? Which of these would appeal to you?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

14 Responses to New Arrivals!

  1. harvee says:

    I have two of these – the Wiley Cash book and Out of the Woods, and hope we both enjoy them!

  2. I am really excited about the Wiley Cash one!

  3. Leslie says:

    I think you will love The Humans. It’s a very clever story and funny too. Hmmm, your copy has a much nicer cover than the US version. Our cover is so … irrelevant… that I almost didn’t request the book. Makes me wonder what kind of committee makes these decisions.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Is it the cover with the nose, Leslie? That is indeed not half as good. Glad you can recommend the book. I have great hopes for it.

      • Leslie says:

        Yes, the silly cover with the nose! I suppose it comes from an observation the alien makes about human bodies having noses, but it doesn’t make an enticing cover. Anyway, hope you enjoy it.

  4. The Dark Road of Mercy sounds fabulous, I’ll be adding it to my wishlist

  5. Athira says:

    I love the sound of The Humans! I will have to get it.

  6. Suzanne says:

    I have the Wiley Cash book as well and can’t wait to read it!

  7. Isi says:

    The kept is the one that caught my attention. I also loved The tenderness of the wolves, although my cover is different, of course🙂
    Hope you enjoy them!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

