Weekly Reading Roundup

*****

The week

Last week, I had a quiet week, except for the Friday, when I went to a business course all day, followed by a literary evening at my sons’ school. One of my favorite authors was there, Renate Dorrestein. I’ve read almost all her books, if that’s possible. The other guest was a thriller author, Elvin Post. I’ve read one or two of his books. The school band played, the writing club read their poems and short stories, and of course, the authors told about their work.

Tomorrow, I’m going to a literary drinks party which I’m looking forward to.

Business-wise, I changed my website, but I’m not sure this looks nice. Let me know what you think!

Books I finished in the last week: 2

The Holdout by Laurel OsterkampLuchtvissers [Air Fishermen] by Gerwin van der Werf

The Holdout by Laurel Osterkamp. This is a lovely light read about a woman who took part in a reality show and then was up for jury duty. 4.5 stars

Luchtvissers [Air fishermen] by Gerwin van der Werf. A man moves to an abandoned island for some peace and quiet but finds he’s not the only one. 4.5 stars

Books I’m reading & planning to read

Val by Tupla M. The Humans by Matt HaigUnaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri

Reviews

Jouw gezicht zal het laatste zijn by Joao Ricordo PedroThe Supreme Macaroni Company by Adriana Trigiani

Jouw gezicht zal het laatste zijn [Your Face Will be the Last] by Joao Ricordo Pedro. The past lives of a grandfather and father play an important role in the live of a young Portuguese. 4 stars

The Supreme Macaroni Company by Adriana Trigiani. A woman is planning to marry an older man, and at the same time is busy to expand her company. 3.5 stars

And also…

Book Bloggers Holiday Card Exchange

Whatever else you do this week, don’t forget to sign up for the Book Bloggers Holiday Card Exchange: like other years, we’ll be sending each other cards at the end of December. You won’t want to miss it!

I also showed off my new books.

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

12 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Tien says:

    your website is looking very professional. I like the font and the setup though it’s looking very clinical (bare?)

  2. Adriana’s book! Nice choice! Have a super great week!

  3. I have to agree Judith, it’s a little too bland.
    I hope you enjoy drinks tonight!

  4. mpartyka says:

    I just listened to The House I Loved, while her writing is beautiful the story wasn’t all that interesting (other than the first few chapters and the last one).

    So happy to see your business is taking off!

  5. The website is very clear and professional. Hope you will have a nice week!

  6. I’m curious about The Holdout…

    Hope you loveThe Supreme Macaroni Company as much as I did!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

