Weekly Reading Roundup

*****

The week

I met Suzanne of Bibliosue last week for a coffee! Not only that, we’re going to Amsterdam tomorrow to visit the Anne Frank house (where I’ve never been – I know, it’s terrible!) and maybe accidentally on purpose stumble upon some book stores (Waterstone’s, anyone?). Suzanne, originally from Canada, now living in Chicago, thinks the weather is quite good. I don’t know about that, but it could be worse. Anyway, we’re all set for a great day out.

Last week, I also went to the launch of a Dutch website for readers, writers and book makers. This was good fun and I met some people I already knew and people that I only knew online.

I read a fantastic book, The Humans by Matt Haig, and two good books.

Books I finished in the last week: 3

Val by Tupla M. The Humans by Matt HaigDodenweg by Olga Hoekstra

Val [Fall] by Tupla M. A woman has fallen into a pit, but is it really an accident? A suspended young lawyer researches the case. 4 stars

The Humans by Matt Haig. An alien has taken over the body of a professor who has discovered a secret that will affect the whole universe if it comes out. He learns what it means to be human. 5 stars

Dodenweg by Olga Hoekstra. On one road, several accidents occur in which young women are killed. Or were they dead already? A female journalist tries to find out. 4 stars

Books I’m reading & planning to read

Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa LahiriDe gestolen kinderen [The Stolen Children] by Gerardo Soto y KoelemeijerHave Wormhole, Will Travel by Tony McFadden

Reviews

The Holdout by Laurel OsterkampLuchtvissers [Air Fishermen] by Gerwin van der Werf

The Holdout by Laurel Osterkamp. This is a lovely light read about a woman who took part in a reality show and then was up for jury duty. 4.5 stars

Luchtvissers [Air fishermen] by Gerwin van der Werf. A man moves to an abandoned island for some peace and quiet but finds he’s not the only one. 4.5 stars

And also…

Book Bloggers Holiday Card Exchange

The sign ups for the Book Bloggers Holiday Card Exchange are now closed but readers from this blog can, exclusively, still enter by sending me an email. Very quickly, please, before Courtney and I have matched everyone up.

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

8 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Irma says:

    I’m reading a new Nele Neuhaus: Bad Wolf. Thanks to Netgalley! As always a great read with a lot of persons involved but never confusing as to who is who. I’m halfway through and I just want to read on but have to work too…..

  2. I like the covers of The Humans, it keeps pulling me though the story not so much. Glad you enjoyed it though. Have a great week!

  3. Judith! Taking time to visit some of my favorite places tonight (yeah, that’s you).🙂 I want to join the holiday card exchange but leave next week. Wouldn’t it be fun to get a card from someone in America but marked Italy or Switzerland?!

    Have an amazing week!

  4. Great job Judith; hope December is a good reading month as well.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

