Weekly Reading Roundup

*****

The week

The week started well, with a trip to Amsterdam with Suzanne of Bibliosue. She spent a few days in Germany and the Netherlands. We visited the Anne Frank House, where I’d never been before. It was very interesting to see. We had lunch in a typical Amsterdam café and visited the English book store Waterstone’s and a few other shops. I bought just one book, I think Suzanne got two – we were good! We were just having a good time together and completely forgot to take some pictures for our blog friends. What a shame!

Books I finished in the last week: 2

Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa LahiriDe gestolen kinderen [The Stolen Children] by Gerardo Soto y Koelemeijer

Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri. Short stories about Indian immigrants in the USA. 4.5 stars

De gestolen kinderen [The Stolen Children] by Gerardo Soto y Koelemeijer. A Spanish man realises he may be one of tens of thousands of children that were taken from their parents and adopted by people in favour of the Franco government of the 1950s and 1960s. 3.5 stars

Books I’m reading & planning to read

Have Wormhole, Will Travel by Tony McFaddenThe Rosie Project by Graeme SimsionThe Kept by James Scott

Reviews

The Humans by Matt Haig

The Humans by Matt Haig. An alien has taken over the body of a professor who has discovered a secret that will affect the whole universe if it comes out. He learns what it means to be human. 5 stars

And also…

I posted my November overview.

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

10 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. Hope you will enjoy The Rosie Project🙂 Enjoy your week!

  2. Looks like some good books. I have to admit I seen the New Years meme on your side bar and went “ahhhh!” Hee hee. Its the first time I seen it other than on my blog🙂

  3. JoV says:

    It’s amazing you finished Unaccustomed Earth. It was one my favourite books of all time.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Bibliojunkie, I know the book is favorite by many people. I think that was the reason I bought it. I heard her new book isn’t quite so good. Did you read it?

      • JoV says:

        I have a copy of it on my Kindle. Yeah, many seems to feel her new book is a little meh. Yet the book is still shortlisted in the Man booker prize! I urge you to read “A Tale of the Time Being” by Ruth Ozeki, perhaps you will love it more?

      • Leeswammes says:

        Jo, I read Ozeki’s book and loved it, but thanks for the recommendation. Spot on.🙂

  4. bibliosue says:

    I am also sad that we did not get a photo, but I have great memories of the day. Thanks again for taking the time out of your busy schedule to spend with me!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

